2000 Land Rover Freelander Standard 1.8i from UK and Ireland


Solid and well engineered 4x4



General Comments:

Nice comfortable car which handles better than many saloons I have owned.

Has a presence on the road that you don't get with Far East or German 4x4s.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2001

1st Aug 2002, 09:00

You must be joking!

23rd Oct 2009, 18:45

I must have bought the worst Freelander in the world.

2000 Land Rover Freelander Wagon 1.8i petrol from Australia and New Zealand


The best light 4wd for general use



General Comments:

A great 'soft-roader' - practical, well-designed and good-looking. I looked at the competition, but they all seemed bland and ugly. None of the Japanese small 4x4's have any kind of style or authenticity. They are just boring boxes.

The Freelander is anything but. It looks great and it is very good to drive. It handles well on road and drives very much like a regular car, so it is ideal for anyone who is not confident driving a lumbering full-size 4x4.

At the same time it is big enough for 5 adults to travel in and thanks to the high rear seats everyone gets a good view! It's also very economical, and is cheap to service with its 4 cylinder engine. It is no fire-breather in the performance stakes, but if you want a fast car, you shouldn't be buying a 4x4 in the first place.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2001

25th Sep 2001, 06:46

Wait until you've owned it a while longer!

Reliable it isn't!

14th Jan 2002, 06:35

Don't they sell Honda CRV's in your part of the world? I think they leave the Freelander for dead stylewise and are certainly not "boring or boxy".

16th Oct 2002, 04:41

May I remind you that the Freelander is not a 4x4, it's a SUV, Sub Urban Vehicle.

2000 Land Rover Freelander TD4 5 door ES 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


The safety and purpose of a 4x4 with the comfort of a limo


Nothing at all to date.

General Comments:

Build quality is superb, clearly influenced by Ford.

BMW sourced turbo-diesel is quiet, smooth and incredibly gutsy.

Ride is better than most saloons and equipment is generous.

Economy of only 32 mpg disappoints, but may improve when fully run in.

A bit of a gamble buying it, but no regrets at all now. Superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2000

6th Mar 2001, 06:00

It's a shame Land Rover can't sort their products out before the customer gets them. From your Freelander it would appear the problems are now finally sorted, but it's three years too late for a lot of owners.

13th Mar 2001, 16:25

3000miles...just you wait!

My 1998 50th Anniversary has been nothing short of a complete nightmare.

Good luck to you both!!