2002 Land Rover Freelander Reviews - Page 11 of 12

2002 Land Rover Freelander SE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Its comfortable, fun to drive and very capable

Faults:

I had the door speaker rattle repair done on warranty.

General Comments:

I am very impressed with the suspension. It soaks up bumps very well, and is well controlled.

I also like the large windows, they give excellent visibility.

The seat position is higher than most cars, offering a "command view" of the road.

Its fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

2002 Land Rover Freelander HSE 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2400 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

A Great way to get to know the dealer's service department!

Faults:

Within two weeks of purchase, the engine control computer malfunctioned and had to be replaced. It took the dealer 7 days to determine the problem and make the repairs.

One month later, the rear window and door latch malfunctioned and during that same period, the car began stalling in the mornings. At service the rear door latch had to be replaced. The dealer couldn't find a source of the stalling, but did note that the spark plugs were fouled out.

3 weeks after that service, the stalling has returned, and the car is back in the shop.

I've owned this car for just over 3 months and have 2400 miles on it, and its been in the shop for approaching 3 weeks now.

Getting very close to lemon status in this state!

General Comments:

I test drove this car once and loved it. I bought the HSE with every option, and got a pretty nice car for a good price.

Having owned it for a while, it's a piece of junk. I'd have been better off buying American!

Its been in the shop for nearly three weeks during the first 4 months of ownership, and given that the service department still doesn't know whats causing it to stall, it'll probably be back again soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th December, 2002

9th Jan 2003, 16:45

We lease a 2002 Freeland SE and have been very disappointed with the car. First we got stuck on the beach and had to have a Toyota tow us out. Then when we complained about the air-conditioning and its noisy inability to cool we were told by the dealer that it cools according to the vehicles standards and that it was fine. Then we were at the dealer 3 times as the coolant kept draining resulting in smoke billowing from under the hood. They finally managed to fix that, but were not able to explain what had been the problem. We are so disappointed about the quality and performance of the Freelander we want to get out of our lease. Has any one else had a problem with the air-conditioning?

26th Apr 2005, 11:53

I bought are Free lander 2 hand it was 3 years old at the time. Since then the back glass wire broke and I had to replace the whole mechanism. The the sunroof wire broke and I had to replace the whole sunroof. Then the Center Drive Shaft bearing went, followed by the front drive shaft lost some bearing and went out of balance, both had to be replaced. Next it was the ABS Control Unit that had to be replaced ($5000 USD) next the rear diferential and the front Steering Rack. The hood hinge covers Cracked and fell off. The rear brake cylinders leak and now I just found out that the frame is punched through on the rear right side.

Mine is a 1999 Turbo Diesel Free lander... the same freelander that is sold in the US with a V6 Gas Engine. If you own one sell it as soon as possible as it will just continue to fall apart. I do not know why Land Rover would make such a vehicle and I really hope that Ford has enough sense to discontinue this terrible SUV.

2002 Land Rover Freelander HSE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carVolvo 850

Summary:

Solid! Enjoyable SUV

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the Freelander. Actually, I am submitting this on behalf of my mother's Freelander, it's a wonderful vehicle and she agrees!

Yes the window controls are strange, but with ownership one learns which does what. The cup holders are silly yes, but is there a Rover that has useful cup holders?? My Discovery certainly doesn't, and a previous Range Rover I once owned didn't.

I am VERY surprised with all the negative feedback on the Freelander. I did notice most were comments outside of the U.S. Perhaps they build the Freelander differently here in the U.S. because it's a fine automobile.

General Comments:

My mother's Freelander is a perfect "city size" SUV. Plus it has the added bonus of a 100% capable off road vehicle. Abundant safety features such as traction control, ABS, multiple airbags, low occurence of roll over, hill descent control, and a powerful engine. Not to mention precise steering, excellent ride, decent cargo space, and unique styling from all the RAV's, Forester's, Escape's & Liberty's you see on every corner.

All this at a relatively reasonable price! Her Freelander has everything my Discovery has and was half the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

22nd Jul 2004, 07:43

Tried the Rubicon yet?

27th Jul 2004, 11:03

Are you speaking of the Jeep vehicle or the event?

22nd Aug 2004, 09:57

The trail which every Jeep is build for.

24th Aug 2004, 21:12

No I have not tried the Rubicon trail event. Neither of our Rovers are modified for such off roading. They are however perfectly suited for our daily needs and occasional weekends in the country, towing, etc. Nothing severe.

17th Jan 2010, 07:43

I don't know what planet you live on, son, but the V6 Freelander is the worst vehicle ever made (and I'm including Lada and Yugo here). If you look at all the other posts here, you'll see the gasoline V6 self destructs due to loose cylinder sleeves, bad gaskets, lousy transmissions... the list goes on. Your Freeloader will eat itself, it's just a matter of time. North America never got the diesel Landy, unfortunately.

11th Jul 2010, 23:58

It is great to see a positive review on the Freelander. I think it is sad that some people here don't agree with the review. Obviously people have had negative experiences with this vehicle, but there are many that have had no problems as well. I believe the problem lies with Land Rover. It appears that quality control was lacking on this vehicle and that quite a few ended up here in the US. That said, not every Freelander is a lemon doomed to engine failure! Please take the good with the bad and let all voices be heard so that people can get an accurate picture.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 41 reviews