1999 Lexus RX Reviews

1999 Lexus RX 3.0 petrol/LPG from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol/LPG Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired87600 miles
Most recent distance91500 miles
Previous carVolvo 850

Summary:

Luxury

Faults:

Nothing engine wise. Exhaust, back box needed replacing for MOT.

General Comments:

This car is lovely to travel in. Luxury seating, & passengers remark at the marvelous leg room in the rear.

The only problem is, being an import, most switches are marked in Japanese, which I cannot seem to get interpreted, along with the GPS system, but I am willing to put up with that as I enjoy driving this car so much.

The dash unit is good & informative, with all dials clear & symbols, re engine etc, understandable. One small flick switch above the gear shift on the left is one I cannot find out what it does, no matter how much I try, but if anyone knows, could you let me know, as that does annoy me, but overall I love this car, & with LPG, it makes it cheap to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2014

1999 Lexus RX 300 AWD 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance217000 kilometres
Previous carLexus GS300

Summary:

Right now I wouldn't recommend Lexus to anyone

Faults:

Had a transmission problem shifting gears between 2nd and 3rd; hesitates, then does a hard shift.

Dealer service diagnosis was to replace the whole transmission, which will cost about $5000.

General Comments:

Car's been very good so far, but problems started just recently.

Had to replace the air intake control valve, just about a month ago, because the car won't start, and it was not cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2011

11th Feb 2011, 13:36

Make a fuss at the Lexus dealer, my 330 tranny locked up at 250km and they fixed it (replaced the whole thing) for free.

It was 3 years old.

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carNissan Quest

Summary:

I got a lemon

Faults:

At 28,000 miles, it started burning oil. Lexus replaced the engine at no cost.

At 100,000 miles, it had transmission problems. Lexus paid half of replacement.

At 167,000 miles, it needs new rear wheel bearings.

I have replaced the O2 sensors twice.

The check engine light is still on.

General Comments:

Believe what you hear about buying first model year of vehicles.

I love this car, barring the fact it's had too many problems for a luxury price range vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2011

19th Jan 2011, 14:59

I am not a fan of Lexus/Toyota, but I found it very impressive that they were willing to chip in for half of the cost to replace your transmission at 100K miles.

1999 Lexus RX 300 AWD 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

Got a good deal on this car

Faults:

My transmission was lagging, and I had a friend look at it. Thought my transmission was going out, but he told me it was the transmission speed sensor. Replaced the sensor, and car runs great.

Hope it helps someone!

General Comments:

Hate the turning radius.

However lots of space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th December, 2010

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

Summary:

Excellent, designed to last

Faults:

About people complaining with transmission problems. For God's sake, change the transmission fluid with flush.

When I got car, it was 10 years old with 120 000 miles on it. In 2 months, one morning the car refused to move; the engine was working fine.

I thought, that's it, time for new transmission.

Brought it to friend of mine's transmission shop; he flashed the transmission with a special machine, replacing all the old fluid, put in new tranny filter, and the car was driving like new.

His comment was that no one ever changed tranny fluid on this car.

Since then I've put 44000 miles on it, and love this car.

General Comments:

Love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2010

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carLexus GS300

Summary:

I like the car, but would love it if Lexus would correct the transmission

Faults:

At 85,000 miles my transmission went out. The dealer quoted me 6,000.00 to replace it. I ended up paying 2,000.00 to have it rebuilt. At 145,000 my Lexus transmission is gone out again.

My automatic locks have started to lock and unlock.

The oxygen sensors needed to be replaced. I purchased this SUV used as a returned lease; it was in excellent condition.

General Comments:

The SUV is well built. I have no problems with blind spots. And when it is driving, it drives well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th November, 2010

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Reliable, comfy and good car for small family

Faults:

Starter went out at around 110k miles.

Knock sensor replaced at 123k miles.

General Comments:

I've been very happy with my RX300. It's comfortable and safe. Any repairs I've done are normal wear and tear issues, no chronic mechanical issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st June, 2010

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 53 reviews