1999 Lexus RX Reviews - Page 5 of 13

1999 Lexus RX 300 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carLexus SC400

Summary:

Not worth buying

Faults:

The worst car ever built. First the 3 out of 6 cylinders stopped working,.. lexus dealership told I needed a new engine, so I got it done for $4k. 2 months later, transmission started slipping. The dealer told me the trans is gone bad, and I need new transmission now,.. that will cost me $5k... The Lexus dealership will not contribute at all to any of the expenses... if you are planning to buy this car, please consider another one! thank you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2008

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord EX

Summary:

Very comfortable, reliable, and I feel safe and enjoy the ride

Faults:

About a month after purchasing my Lexus RX300, I needed to have it brought into the dealership to find out I needed to replace the oxygen sensor. The dealership paid for it. Since then I've really enjoyed my used Lexus. It's comfortable, and drives well. There were only two prior owners, so it was well taken care of.

The only problems I've had are a cracked windshield and a flat tire, which typically happens, and need replacing. Overall, I love my Lexus!

General Comments:

Love the leather heated seats, the interior is in great condition, love the moonroof and rack. For having 154,000 miles she runs great.

Nice for summer driving, and definitely awesome for winter driving with the 4WD.

No problems. Yet. (Knock on wood)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2007

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

OK

Faults:

Transmission beginning to not engage. Jerks into reverse after some waiting.

Heating system failed at an early age and dealer replaced.

Driver seat belt is poorly designed.

General Comments:

Good car overall unless I discover this transmission problem is serious. I would guess that to be the case given the other comments on this site.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th November, 2007

1999 Lexus RX 300 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carMazda Millenia

Summary:

Disappointing, but fortunate for the warranty

Faults:

I bought the '99 RX300 certified used. At 85,000 the engine blew. Lexus called it premature wearing of the rods. At 92,000 the transmission went. Fortunately, both were fully covered under the 100,000 mile certified warranty and I got free loaners both times. It runs better than ever now at 136,000 but I'm amazed to have two such major areas go before 100,000. The compressor went at 110,000 and that cost me $1,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th August, 2007

1999 Lexus RX 300 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Lexus RX 300's suck!!!

Faults:

My 1999 Lexus RX 300 Transmission went out at 121,000 miles.

General Comments:

My 1999 Lexus RX300 transmission went out at only 121,000! This type of problem should happen with that type of vehicle. It cost me $3600 at a TENN dealership to replace. There were no signs of problems, it just quit on the freeway. Who can I complain to? Lexus was ABSOLUTELY no help!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 2007

1999 Lexus RX 300 300 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 300 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles

Summary:

We should take a class action against Lexus

Faults:

Transmission failure at 103,000.

General Comments:

It is another case of transmission failure of Lexus RX300, what a shame of Lexus.

I am the first owner of a 1999 Lexus RX300. The transmission was just failed at 103,000. What a shame of Lexus for its reputation in high quality vehicles, and it was completely made in Japan!!!.

No one after paying $40k plus would expect a $5000 transmission rebuilt cost.

In my opinion, Lexus is not as honest as local (US) manufacturers. I think Lexus may take the responsibility only if there would be a news report about Lexus's so-called high quality vehicles, taking so many cases of transmission failure of RX300.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2007

12th Jul 2007, 20:27

I am just starting to hear about transmission problems with my '99 AWD Lexus RX300. I am at 107,000. When the engine check light went on and I could not get overdrive, I took it to Charlie's Foreign Auto Repair. After fixing the knock sensor ($890), the overdrive works, but it does not shift well between 2nd and 3rd gear. The repair shop is suggesting I need a rebuilt transmission for $5,000. Can this be true that it is common for this car to need a new transmission after only 100,000 miles? I might expect that from my '69 Ford Ranchero, but not a '99 Lexus! What is the true story?

26th Sep 2008, 23:02

Yes, check with "Club Lexus" comments: The rear engine seal and the transmission don't last. Many of the cars have the problem, the AWD more than the FWD. Lexus doesn't help or assist. I had a rear engine seal leak at 68,700 miles. Cost was $1,600. No more Lexus for me, or for any friend who trusts my opinion. Best of luck to the others!

20th Jun 2009, 10:42

We should start a class action lawsuit.

The first step:

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/index.cfm

All who had that problem, please fill it.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 53 reviews