1999 Lexus RX 300 3.0 liter V 6 from North America

Summary:

Excellent reliability and AWD drive

Faults:

Some sort of fuse box went out in the back... $250 to replace. My rear running lights went out.

Driver side door actuator (controls remote control locking/unlocking) went out.

Key fell apart.

General Comments:

Regular maintenance has been my only real expense. The fit and finish is amazing. When I shut the door on this car, it sounds better than on a brand new American made model. Very tight.

It's a regular snow (or sand) bunny. The AWD feature works great. Goes anywhere.

Wind noise is minimal for an SUV, but not like the sedans.

The ride has more of a truck feel... but that's what it is, really.

Some idiot in design forgot to include a COMPASS. Now maybe that doesn't mean much to you east/west coasters, but to us Midwesterners, it's indispensable.

All and all however, a great car. I'll buy another one when the wheels fall of this one. But that may be in another 20 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2008

1999 Lexus RX 300 3.0 from North America

Summary:

Not worth buying

Faults:

The worst car ever built. First the 3 out of 6 cylinders stopped working,.. lexus dealership told I needed a new engine, so I got it done for $4k. 2 months later, transmission started slipping. The dealer told me the trans is gone bad, and I need new transmission now,.. that will cost me $5k... The Lexus dealership will not contribute at all to any of the expenses... if you are planning to buy this car, please consider another one! thank you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2008

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Summary:

Very comfortable, reliable, and I feel safe and enjoy the ride

Faults:

About a month after purchasing my Lexus RX300, I needed to have it brought into the dealership to find out I needed to replace the oxygen sensor. The dealership paid for it. Since then I've really enjoyed my used Lexus. It's comfortable, and drives well. There were only two prior owners, so it was well taken care of.

The only problems I've had are a cracked windshield and a flat tire, which typically happens, and need replacing. Overall, I love my Lexus!

General Comments:

Love the leather heated seats, the interior is in great condition, love the moonroof and rack. For having 154,000 miles she runs great.

Nice for summer driving, and definitely awesome for winter driving with the 4WD.

No problems. Yet. (Knock on wood)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2007

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Summary:

OK

Faults:

Transmission beginning to not engage. Jerks into reverse after some waiting.

Heating system failed at an early age and dealer replaced.

Driver seat belt is poorly designed.

General Comments:

Good car overall unless I discover this transmission problem is serious. I would guess that to be the case given the other comments on this site.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th November, 2007

1999 Lexus RX 300 3.0 from North America

Summary:

Disappointing, but fortunate for the warranty

Faults:

I bought the '99 RX300 certified used. At 85,000 the engine blew. Lexus called it premature wearing of the rods. At 92,000 the transmission went. Fortunately, both were fully covered under the 100,000 mile certified warranty and I got free loaners both times. It runs better than ever now at 136,000 but I'm amazed to have two such major areas go before 100,000. The compressor went at 110,000 and that cost me $1,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th August, 2007

1999 Lexus RX 300 V6 from North America

Summary:

Lexus RX 300's suck!!!

Faults:

My 1999 Lexus RX 300 Transmission went out at 121,000 miles.

General Comments:

My 1999 Lexus RX300 transmission went out at only 121,000! This type of problem should happen with that type of vehicle. It cost me $3600 at a TENN dealership to replace. There were no signs of problems, it just quit on the freeway. Who can I complain to? Lexus was ABSOLUTELY no help!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 2007

1999 Lexus RX 300 300 from North America

Summary:

We should take a class action against Lexus

Faults:

Transmission failure at 103,000.

General Comments:

It is another case of transmission failure of Lexus RX300, what a shame of Lexus.

I am the first owner of a 1999 Lexus RX300. The transmission was just failed at 103,000. What a shame of Lexus for its reputation in high quality vehicles, and it was completely made in Japan!!!.

No one after paying $40k plus would expect a $5000 transmission rebuilt cost.

In my opinion, Lexus is not as honest as local (US) manufacturers. I think Lexus may take the responsibility only if there would be a news report about Lexus's so-called high quality vehicles, taking so many cases of transmission failure of RX300.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2007

12th Jul 2007, 20:27

I am just starting to hear about transmission problems with my '99 AWD Lexus RX300. I am at 107,000. When the engine check light went on and I could not get overdrive, I took it to Charlie's Foreign Auto Repair. After fixing the knock sensor ($890), the overdrive works, but it does not shift well between 2nd and 3rd gear. The repair shop is suggesting I need a rebuilt transmission for $5,000. Can this be true that it is common for this car to need a new transmission after only 100,000 miles? I might expect that from my '69 Ford Ranchero, but not a '99 Lexus! What is the true story?

26th Sep 2008, 23:02

Yes, check with "Club Lexus" comments: The rear engine seal and the transmission don't last. Many of the cars have the problem, the AWD more than the FWD. Lexus doesn't help or assist. I had a rear engine seal leak at 68,700 miles. Cost was $1,600. No more Lexus for me, or for any friend who trusts my opinion. Best of luck to the others!

20th Jun 2009, 10:42

We should start a class action lawsuit.

The first step:

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/index.cfm

All who had that problem, please fill it.