1999 Lexus RX Reviews - Page 6 of 13

1999 Lexus RX 300 3.0 liter from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Lexus screwed up big time with RX300. Reading reports on the web the quality is subpar

Faults:

The Transmission failed in the middle of the road in high traffic at 123000 miles. I have another car from Toyota that has 128000 miles and is still running fine.

General Comments:

The car is under powered for its weight. It is sluggish and you have to put lot of pressure on the accelerator to get it going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th May, 2007

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Lexus quality and service is an "empty" slogan

Faults:

Another transmission failure: My transmission failed at 56000. We are the original owner and had the car regularly serviced: at the Lexus dealer for the first 30K miles and at a garage near our home for the rest. The car has been well taken care of. Lexus is not willing to help even with the low mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th March, 2007

3rd Apr 2007, 16:48

I don't see the transmission as being Lexus's fault. If the transmissions were a bad design, they would have gone out within the first 10,000 miles. There are some 99-00 RX300s out there with well over 100,000 and still have the original transmission. Its all about how the vehicle was maintained. If you get the transmission serviced at Lexus every 10,000 miles it will most likely last unless you have already bought one with 80,000+ miles. If you have records to prove you have kept your transmission serviced Lexus will pay half.

25th Dec 2010, 22:30

Certified shops can work on vehicles without voiding the warranty. It's the law.

8th May 2012, 09:22

What? You can't be serious - transmission failure at 56,000 miles, and you point the finger at the owner and not the manufacturer?

I was in the automobile business since 1974 (now retired), and in my opinion transmission failure at 56,000 miles should be covered by the manufacturer. That is just not acceptable, especially given the number of reported failures here in these reviews.

1999 Lexus RX 300 V 6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V 6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carLexus RX300

Summary:

A very good SUV with a flaw in the transmission

Faults:

The automatic transmission on our RX300 began to slip after only 70,000 miles. We've owned Toyota built cars since 1983, and this is the first time we've experience problems with the transmission.

We are disappointed because Lexus is suppose to be the top of the line for Toyota and to have this happen after only 70,000 miles is surprising. A number of other 1999 RX300 owners have reported this same problem. I hope the Lexus dealers and manufacture take note and try to make this right.

General Comments:

Other than a bad transmission after 70,000 miles, the RX300 has been a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2007

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Needs a lot ot improvement

Faults:

I have 96,00 miles on a 1999 RX 300 and I was just told that my transmission is failing.

My screen with the clock, radio, cd player, and AC control sometimes goes out.

My visor does not stay up and they want $300 for a new one.

My driver side seat is worn very bad, totally discolored and torn on the side.

General Comments:

I thought the car to be very reliable until recently. The car does not have a good turning radius.

The back window cannot open unless you open the front window. It sounds like a hurricane blowing through the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th January, 2007

1999 Lexus RX 300 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carInfiniti G20

Summary:

Great SUV, but watch for transmission problems

Faults:

I'm reading a lot about the transmission problems. I also am having a problem. I noticed this about a year ago (145,000km) when I couldn't back out of my garage. I ended up changing transmission oil and the filter, and thought I was OK. Now (160,000km) I'm hearing whistling, and the Lexus dealer says the transmission needs to be changed for $6K Canadian!! Hell, I'm pissed too. Lexus Canada says it's not their problem of course, I'll let you know what happens!

syzali at gmail.com From Montreal!

General Comments:

Very happy aside from the transmission problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th January, 2007

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic

Faults:

I have a 1999 Lexus Rx300, and the transmission just went out 3 days ago. I called a few places and asked for the cost, it will probably cost about $5000 for this transmission. I though about selling it a few months ago, but the car was so nice and comfortable, I loved the car since I bought it, never gave me any problems until a few days ago. The car only has 109 K miles on it. I was driving fine on I90, 75 miles per hour and suddenly the gear went out, all the gears are gone, even the reverse! the only gear that works now is the low gear (L). it runs about 15 miles / hour. took me 3 hours to get home in the breakdown lane, now in this site, I see so many problems about the RX300 transmission, I am telling you guys whoever has the RX300, SELL IT to save that 5000 bucks. now I don't know what I am going to do, I really love the trucks, I have a beautiful video and stereo system in there, cost me about 11K itself. and I really don't wanna sell it. but I have to pay 5K for a new transmission? and I don't know how long it will last... I feel bad for a luxury car like this and has this major problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd December, 2006

25th Dec 2006, 12:55

There is a myth on this board that if you maintain your car "properly" it will never have problems and that is evidently not true. If people on these boards had the problems I had with American-built cars they would never buy American again, and obviously this appears to be the case with some Lexus models as well.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 53 reviews