1999 Lexus RX Reviews - Page 9 of 13

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carToyota Camry

General Comments:

I have just purchased the car, I checked it out in consumers report and it got a great rating in all areas. While on the computer searching for a service manual I ran into this site and found all of these negative reviews from people that own the RX300 or have owned it at one time. With all of the problems, the transmission, oil that gels in the engine I'm wondering if I should do a complete 360 and trade the car in. I have not had the car long and have had no problems yet, could someone please advice me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2006

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance74000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Crankshaft Rear Main Seal Leaking

Faults:

Rear main seal leak due to crankshaft rear main seal leaking at 73,000 km. Got it repaired, but now I am getting leaks that look like it is antifreeze from near the front passenger side wheel area. Does anyone know what might be causing this before I take it back to the dealer and have them tell me I need to pay for something else.

General Comments:

Smooth ride, but now I am starting to get worried about potential transmission problems and this rear main seal problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2006

26th Sep 2008, 22:56

Yes, same rear engine seal leak at 68,700 miles on my '99 RX300. Obviously a design flaw. I contacted Lexus and they 'respectfully declined' to assist. Cost to me was $1,600. Cost to Lexus: short-term: $0, long-term: no more RX for me (I was going to get another one within a month) and letting my friends know that Lexus' design is not good, and that they don't stand behind their product: probably 3-4 cars over the next two years. We're both on the losing side.

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Junk transmission - bad customer service

Faults:

My car went kaput at 70,500 miles, and found out that it was due to the transmission issues. Transmission fluid burnt problem. Dealer acknowledged that it is common among RX300 models.

But Lexus wouldn't pay for the design flaw and the quality issue. I am sorry to say that they just lost a customer for both Toyota and Lexus lines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2006

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Good car, bad transmission

Faults:

Transmission problem with the car at only 72K miles. The service center tells me it requires a new transmission, and is asking me to foot a 5K bill!

This is outrageous for a luxury car costing 40K! The service center acknowledged that this is a common issue with the first generation Lexus RX models. Shouldn't Lexus be recalling these models?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th March, 2006

1999 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance174000 miles
Previous carLexus Honda Civic

Summary:

JUNK!! Trading it in for a HONDA!!

Faults:

I am fed up with Lexus! I purchased my 99 RX300 just under 2 years ago. With in 2 months, 2 back brake lights had blown. That cost $100. Then, less than a year after I purchased the car, the engine started ticking! I took it to Lexus, and they told me to change the timing belt. That was $1000.

8 days after that, my engine and transmission blew up, and left me on the side of the road 280 miles from home. After 6 weeks of calling the dealership, Lexus covered a new engine and transmission, so I felt pretty good.

When I picked the car up, there was vibration, and my car would not stay in the road. I turned around and took the car back. They took care of that, and I was back on my way.

3 weeks after the engine incident, I had an exhaust leak. I took it to the dealership, and again, spent $1000.

3 months after that, time for a new exhaust manifold. $750.

OK, so now I am fed up. 4 weeks to the day after I picked my car up, I noticed a weird grinding noise in the front end. Went back to the dealership, and needed new struts and shocks. $1500.

I have had constant problems with electrical problems, and POOR SERVICE!

I just spent $2200 getting bulbs replaced in the front and rear part of the vehicle, as well as tire rotation and oil change. The day I picked my car up, it blew a fog light! So, I went back to the dealership. They covered the cost. Apparently, when they pull the bumpers off to change the lights, they don’t check for any other blown bulbs except for the ones you told them that needed changed! COME ON NOW! Ford always checked my bulbs! 6 days after I picked up my car, my check engine light comes on!! AAHHHHHHHHH!!

Time to replace the knock sensor! That’s another $1000. I had that done, and have had my car back for 3 weeks now.

Last night, by car started shifting funny!! When I give it gas, it either takes a minute to catch or it revs up to the point where it sounds like it is going to blow up and then shifts gears when it should be accelerating!!

I have had it! I would never EVER buy another Lexus. The service department is horrible, and they do not stand behind their products. I have had Fords, Honda's and Acura's, and never had a problem... even with the ford!

The Lexus RX300 and RX330 is the best looking car on the road, but the poorest built! If you are planning on buying a Lexus, you can look forward to electrical problems, Transmission problems, Problems with LEXUS and their service staff, problems with the front end that can be diagnosed, $75 per hour labor rate, gas surcharge on all loaner vehicles, and a possible engine blow out (IT HAPPENED TO ME. My car has never missed an oil change, and I only take my car to the dealership. At first, I thought I bought a lemon. After talking too many Lexus owners, and doing online research, I have found that these problems seem to be pretty standard.

My car has brand new EVERYTHING (engine, transmission, front end, lighting, nock censor, exhaust, exhaust manifolds, tires, timing belts, serpentine belt, muffler, EVERYTHING, and everything keeps going wrong).

Good bye Lexus!! I am going with Acura. I have owned Acura’s and Hondas in the past, and never had any problems! I will say this, LEXUS has the best looking cars on the road... Too bad they are built with the same quality as a Daewoo!! DO YOUR RESEARCH BEFORE YOU PURCHASE! I have always supported LEXUS, and am very disappointed in them!! I hope you found this helpful! I wish someone would have given me a heads up.

General Comments:

Beautiful car, poor quality!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2006

14th Feb 2006, 17:18

I think all the problems with the 99 has to do with it being the first year. I own a 2001 RX300 and have had nothing, but good luck. I bought the car new with every option. Paid for the extended warranty, but never had to use it. Donated the car to charity with 135000 on it. I just purchased an 06 RX400h. Amazing suv with great gas mileage.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 53 reviews