1988 Lincoln Town Car Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1988 Lincoln Town Car Signature Series 5.0 liter 302 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 liter 302 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance78800 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

This car is very comfortable for long drives

Faults:

When I bought the car the finish was wearing off really bad all over the body.

Dash and drivers side arm rest were already cracked.

Also bought it without the digital gas gauge working.

Back rear window motor had to be replaced.

The belts had to be tightened.

General Comments:

I needed a car to travel back and forth to work, but I was sick of these little four banger -no room-throw away cars. I saw my town car sitting in a wal-mart parking lot for sale and made an offer. So for the $700 I paid I got a very comfortable ride.

The seats are very soft.

The engine has some get up and go.

The fuel economy isn't the greatest, but what do you expect with a land yacht?.

Kids think it's awesome with all the buttons to press.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2005

7th Feb 2005, 03:34

$700 is an absolute steal if the low mileage you listed is correct. Town Cars last forever. My buddy's '86 Town Car has over 220,000 miles on it and still drives like brand new (he paid $1200 for it last year).

14th Aug 2005, 08:09

The comment here is interesting. I believe these autos will last a long time. I've always loved these big boats, among others, and the one I looked at sometime last week was $1500 Canadian and had 321,000km on it, certified and e-tested. Good deal, but the body wasn't in as nice condition as I was hoping, so I passed on the deal, but none the less, they can be snatched up from estate sales and private sales here and there for low prices.

1988 Lincoln Town Car 302 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 302 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired79432 miles
Most recent distance81568 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Excellent... would buy another

Faults:

Trunk would not close a week after I bought the car. Temperature gage didn't move. Driver's door armrest has been repair. 80's Town Cars apparently had problems with the armrests cracking. Every late 80s had the same problem. Previous owner taken the car into a upholstery shop and had a leather cover put over the door panel and looks 99% better.

General Comments:

The car was 16 years old when I bought it in 2004, I am the second owner. First thing to not work was the trunk staying close after the spring broke holding the lid down. I've had the car in the Lincoln dealer where it was purchased. Problems found were rear shocks needed replacing, power steering hose and a bad temperature gage sending unit.

I've had two 1970s Town Cars and this 1988 is my favorite. Very comfortable ride, seats, the car handles very well. Smaller in size than the 70s Town Cars and much easier to park also. Plenty of room in the back seat for passengers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2005

1988 Lincoln Town Car Signature Series 302 ci (5.0L ) from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 302 ci (5.0L ) Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 kilometres
Most recent distance134000 kilometres
Previous carLincoln Mark V

Summary:

A very comfortable cruiser

Faults:

I have replaced the thermostat at 134000 km.

Drivers door window motor does not work now.

General Comments:

This car has a soft ride to it, but not as good as my 1978 Mark V I had prior to this car.

These land yachts will last if you take car of them with regular maintenance. You must expect that with a car of this age.

The cabin are is a little cramped compared to my old Mark V.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2004

1988 Lincoln Town Car signature serie 302 HO EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 302 HO EFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Most recent distance113000 kilometres
Previous carCadillac Brougham

Summary:

A real highway cruiser

Faults:

Muffler, wiper arm made noise, but a little wd40 took care of it.

General Comments:

The car is in a stunning condition a real head turner. This is the most comfortable car I have own up to now, and I own Oldsmobile, Buick and the last one was a Cadillac, just to tell you a few. I always like big American cars, I drove German, European, and Japeneese cars they are nice and fun to drive, but after 300 miles and more I personally look for legs stretching, silence and a lot of steel surrounding me and my family on those long and dark highways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2003

2nd Feb 2005, 17:14

I have a 1988 and 1992. They are real nice cars to travel- Powerful too! Love it!

2nd Jun 2006, 15:06

The 302 seems like kind of a small engine for such a big car, I'm curious, what is the horsepower rated at?

5th Jun 2006, 01:08

The late '80s TownCar EFI engine was rated at 150hp with a single exhaust and 160hp with dual, torque is about 235lb-ft - it may not be the most powerful thing out there, but most of these cars are still able to spin the tires even with the freeway-designated rear gears and 100,000+ miles on the clock. I myself have an '88 Executive, bought her last year for $800 with 136,000 miles, she's now at 145,000 miles and still runs strong at 120mph and faster. To top that off I get great drivetrain reliability plus decent fuel economy as well - my Townie usually gets 16-17mpg city and 24mpg freeway driving, and that's with the A/C running on the coldest settings pretty much all the time :)

4th Aug 2006, 21:15

The torque rating is actually 270 lb-ft (280 with duals). And it helps a lot in getting the car going very well from a stop.

31st Oct 2012, 20:44

The 302 is a decent engine for the job; however, it's when you're trying to overtake somebody on a highway, or going up an incline, when you start to see the car's lack of power. I've ridden in a 1980 Continental with the rare 351, and I have to say it does a lot better. Kinda like comparing a '79 Lincoln with the 400 to a '77 with the 460. The 302 gets the job done, but the 351 would have been more powerful and a bit better for the job. Unfortunately, it was a one year option.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 25 reviews