1988 Lincoln Town Car Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1988 Lincoln Town Car Custom 302cid /5.0L EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 302cid /5.0L EFI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired161289 miles
Most recent distance161501 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

My $500 street rod!

Faults:

When I first got this car, the only problem it had was the steering wheel pump. After looking it over for a while I found that the problem was just a loose hose clamp. D'oh! Easy fix!

Other than that, no problems!

General Comments:

For a huge car, it really loves the road! Stock BHP for my car was listed at 160, but with my upgrades, it pushes close to 200. I put dual straight pipes with Flowmaster series 40's, dual MagnaFlow hi-flow cat converters, a K&N filtercharger, and some really shiny exhaust tips!

Handling is great, as long as you go in a straight line, and the brakes could make your eyes pop out of your head.

BTW, if you want a comfortable ride, BUY THIS CAR! It beats the hell out of my '93 Chevy Cavalier I used to drive. I even used the Town Car to tow the Cav' to the junk yard!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

8th Jun 2005, 14:54

Yes, with a rope.

Thanks for a view into a world most people rarely get to see.

For which they are grateful.

28th Sep 2005, 21:59

Wow! I have a 92 cavalier Now... it isn't a bad car, but my dad has a 88 town car and id love to trade him! I am in the process of talking him into it now.. he needs the better gas millage, and I love the car! ;) Town cars do ride very nice.. and there real roomy for them long trips.

19th Aug 2006, 10:26

Well, I don't think adding straight pipes will give you 40hp. Even with headers you likely won't see 40hp..

The strong point of the Lincolns 5.0 is the torque.. I think it has 280lbs from the factory, which is what gets our tanks rolling :)

19th Aug 2006, 16:16

I like when people put minor add ons on their car and guess what the new horsepower estimate is.

Also the "shiny tips" part made me laugh.

20th Aug 2006, 00:52

Dude, if that's what makes you smile, then I'd consult a professional.

And a "15 year old import"?? Sounds about time to dump that and go buy a new Lincoln Town Car!

3rd May 2010, 20:07

This is my 5th Lincoln Town Car! I keep considering those underpowered and uncomfortable rice burners, and then I realize that the basic difference in gas mileage savings is only about $360 in 100,000 miles. (10 mpg better. Avg $2.70 fuel.)

My current 93 gets about 24mpg local highway, and if I go somewhere it gets over 26mpg. My 88 Signature got about 23.5 until about 300,000 miles when the cam and lifters wore out. It still gets over 20mpg.

I could tell you about the other 3, but someone who contends over little things like gas mileage, and doesn't understand comfort and real savings wouldn't possibly understand.

I'd like a 6th, an 02 Cartier, but am considering the 2002 Grand Marquis LSE also.

18th Jul 2010, 01:36

That's so weird. I just got a 88 Town Car for $550, and the only problem it has is a flat and the top of the motor needs cleaning.

1988 Lincoln Town Car 5 liter V8 (302 cubic inch) from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5 liter V8 (302 cubic inch) Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance218000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

A great reliable luxury car with value

Faults:

Transmission rebuilt at 175,000.

Alternator at 150,000 and 200,000.

Water pump at 179,000.

Differential at 218,000.

Universal joints at 215,000.

Air conditioner at 200,000.

General Comments:

I gave $1980 for the car. I've driven it for six years and put over 100,000 miles. This engine is incredibly reliable. It has never left me stranded on the road. (My wife bought a new Chevy which quit before she got it home.) I drive a lot of nice new rental cars, but I love to get back to drive the Lincoln. I'm buying another one. The ride, quietness and roominess has spoiled me for anything else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2003

1988 Lincoln Town Car Cartier 302 EFI 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 302 EFI 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired144000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

A 100 percent pimp-tastic ride!

Faults:

The rear power locks and windows have stopped working. Other than that, no other problems.

General Comments:

This car an the absolute pimp-mobile! The plush leather seats are excellent. Really, for its size it's got some get-up to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 25 reviews