1991 Lincoln Town Car Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1991 Lincoln Town Car Signature 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired163000 miles
Most recent distance213000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

The overall best car I've ever owned!

Faults:

The rear suspension airbags were blown by an inexperienced mechanic and replaced with springs.

The power window motors are dying.

There is rust around one wheel well.

General Comments:

This is the best car I've ever had.

I have replaced no parts on the vehicle over the course of 50,000 miles that were not wearable parts.

I have replaced no major parts (i.e. engine, transmission).

At 213,000 miles, this car is still a sleeper with plenty of power.

This is the most dependable car I've ever owned. It starts up every day with no hesitation.

I am extremely proud to own this vehicle and upon purchasing my Navigator I will NOT be trading it in.

I will have this car in 2050!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

2nd Oct 2004, 22:42

I am debating on buying a 1989 Lincoln town-car. It is just in perfect condition. It has good tires, and gets 20 to 21 miles to a gallon. The asking price is $3800.00. The car has 86,000 miles on it. Is this a fair price for this model of a car?Would appreciate your input. Thank you

Betty Simon.

28th Nov 2005, 12:07

I bought a 97 for $ 5,500 with 82,000 on it. And believe me this car turns heads and besides that it is in pristine condition in and out.. Very well maintained. Get a LTC 91-97 last of the big ones for a song good luck.

24th Mar 2011, 09:13

If you are still looking into buying it yes that's a great price for that car. My family bought a 91 Town Car from a dealer in 1999 for the same price.

1991 Lincoln Town Car from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Buy one for $5,000, put $2,000 into it, and own a car that is superior to any $50,000 import

Faults:

The air suspension system's air springs failed at 140,000 miles.

The leather seats are worn and cracked.

The paint has faded badly.

The paint is coming off of the rear plastic bumper.

The power window motors have been repaired on each window at 130,000 miles.

The air conditioning system was replaced at 100,000 miles.

The power antenna stopped working.

The headliner began to fall down at 130,000 miles.

The car burns a quart of oil per 1000 miles.

General Comments:

Despite the repairs I have had to make, I love this car.

The comfort when driving the car is unmatched.

This car is easy to drive.

The look of this car is classic. The '91 Town Car is one of the last of the truly "big cars", which we may never see again.

The car has surprising acceleration ability. When I "step on it", my teenage son's eyebrows rise in approval.

I plan on fixing, repainting and reupholstering this car, and owning it until the end of time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2002

1991 Lincoln Town Car Signature from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

A costly vehicle to maintain

Faults:

Three window regulators broken, windshield wipers motor had to be replaced. Air Conditioner fan had to be fixed. Rear air suspension bags had to be replaced. Electrical short could not be fixed, had to put certain devices on separate circuits to by-pass the problem.

General Comments:

Car rides great, but repairs are too frequent and too many for a luxury vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th June, 2000

15th May 2001, 09:01

You seem to forget that the car is over 15 years old. what do you expect? parts wear out!

9th Aug 2001, 20:28

How do you figure it's 15 years old???

24th Aug 2001, 10:00

It's only 10 years old, not 15 years old. My Volvo is 16 years old and it runs great, so that's no excuse.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 23 reviews