2nd Apr 2015, 10:08

Vehicles couldn't be any more different. Personally I enjoy comparisons and what people drive. It's just you cannot have it both ways. Enough said.

2nd Apr 2015, 15:44

The commentary about the mention of Corvettes wasn't about the very worn out foreign versus domestic nameplates. Nobody will win that argument. It was more that responding with a totally unrelated car and model has nothing to do with that review, and so why even mention it?

And to answer why car companies are so interested in demographics is basically the whole point of sales and marketing. Knowing the demographic better means the products made can be more custom-tailored to meet expectations and demands of the buyers. It is true that American luxury car brands targeted an older demographic for decades. But that approach was not wise seeing as how over time that demographic... shrinks. It's more important to have a product that reaches a more broad demographic, and to have a product portfolio lineup that can give something to all age brackets. For example; BMW. If you're a young salesperson or professional there is the 3 Series. All the way up to the 7 Series, which is something I see older buyers gravitate towards. Cadillac is now taking that same approach.

In regards to the Navigator, I have never been a fan of badge engineering. To me that's the lazy way of coming up with different models. Put all the chrome, badges and leather seats you want on a Expedition. It's still an Expedition. Badge engineering can also cheapen a brand's image.

2nd Apr 2015, 19:44

As a baby boomer, and there are a lot of us, we don't diminish what we buy. Homes and college tuition are typically over with. Many of us want a fun car to drive, but also want amenities.

The foreign vs domestic debate is not over when the same tired comparisons are continually focused on quality.

Yes, I own and have owned Corvettes. My son has a Viper and also sports sedans, probably from your age bracket. I like Lincolns and Cadillacs, and grew up with them. There are some incredible crossovers out there, import and domestic. Some have fantastic performance. Auto manufacturers don't buy our cars. We are fickle and have zero loyalty. I just don't think that one brand fits all applies. Many of my friends can just as easily have a new Audi Q5 parked next to a Lincoln. Or a Jag, or many are going to C7s. So it's not Corvette, other than a motor comparison. And the same drive train may show up in your new Cadillac or Camaro.

We know hundreds of car enthusiasts and see many garages. I don't feel the passion for great automobiles is going to diminish when baby boomers disappear. My thought is technology and performance will be amazing, even in cars such as Teslas. You put a great new Lincoln out there and I predict it will have buyers. Personally I feel Cadillac has done a better job lately. Buy what you like. I do, and what's parked in garages are not all the same brands today.

22nd Jul 2015, 21:43

I have the original dealer window sticker in the glove box of my '89 Signature Series. It shows approximately $27k.

1st Nov 2017, 03:21

Leisurely reading the comments on this particular review kind of makes me laugh with the amount of Corvette comments. Really has nothing to do with a luxury liner sedan.

1st Nov 2017, 11:51

I have owned both at same time. 2 seaters have their place. But likely there’s a larger sedan, Navigator etc for everyday use. I have a new grandson that rides with us. He makes us laugh too.

2nd Nov 2017, 13:38

I totally agree. Around here, it seems as though no conversation on any mid-size or full-size family car (luxury or not) is complete without someone mentioning America's favorite sports car. I do not think Corvettes are mentioned much in comments for compact car, van, and SUV reviews, which is a shame really, but I digress.

I once put the first part of what I said to a test. I expressed surprise at the 0-60 MPH time on the review of a late-model Honda Accord V6, only to have someone mention how much faster the Corvette is, how this person does or did own one, and how people can own multiple cars (as if anyone in America has any trouble grasping that concept). Yes, that also made me kind of laugh.

2nd Nov 2017, 20:15

Why not have both? We had Hondas and also Acura VTECs sharing garage space as well with our C5. The last Honda we bought new was a 2005 Manual V6 dark blue Accord. The automatics have had issues keeping the trans with V6 power. Manuals never had that issue. No bias; each has their place. Glad your sense of humor is there. Cars are to be enjoyed. Feel free to compare your cars to anything made. I won’t laugh at you.

3rd Nov 2017, 14:35

Funny thing is I myself remember that Honda review, and was also one of the many wondering why the fantastic plastic two seater was mentioned in the comments.

3rd Nov 2017, 19:28

I don't get the Town Car / Corvette comparison, but at any price point, I'd rather spend X dollars on an Accord than any Panther.

3rd Nov 2017, 23:57

I know what? That it doesn't belong on this thread. Read all the other previous comments that say the same.

3rd Nov 2017, 23:58

Nobody ever will get it. On this review and many others unrelated on this site.

4th Nov 2017, 03:35

From a reliability point my Town Car is pushing 22 years old and still runs like new.

4th Nov 2017, 03:41

No, I really don't know. And reading the comments on this Town Car review and the other Accord review, nobody else seems to know why your beloved Corvette is thrown into the mix. Looks like you're on your own.

4th Nov 2017, 19:04

There would probably be others, but the anonymous nature of the site prevails. Point is you have a guy with a Volt supposed to be fast off the line, a Tacoma and a 50s Mercury. Another case of cars within the same household that couldn’t be any more different. Not everybody buys the exact same cars. Varies person to person.

Lastly I share the same exact circumstances, not owning a new Vette at the moment. Yet the other commenter seems more enamored repeating it over and over again. When does it end? You have repeated yourself. I had a Lincoln Towncar I inherited and a Corvette. Makes for interesting conversation. So let it go.