2010 Mazda 3 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2010 Mazda 3 1.6 from Egypt

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Engine performance is smooth and powerful.

Handling feels sporty.

Stability in turns and corners is not close to German cars or the Honda Civic.

The High line is full of options

Plenty of convenient storage places with a decent trunk.

The ActiveMatic is fun to use.

Decent sound system.

Fuel consumption is OK, but not as expected (20% less than expected).

AC is COOOOOLD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th June, 2011

2010 Mazda 3 Hatchback from North America

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Don't buy from Mazda, because they do not back their warranties

Faults:

At 17,000 miles, without warning, the clutch went out. The dealer said it was owner "misuse", which was completely untrue. The car had been babied and driven so carefully. They would not cover it under warranty. Cost to repair - $1400.00. On a 9 month old car.

I will never buy from Mazda again.

General Comments:

I enjoyed driving the car until it failed me on the backside of a two lane road, with no prior warning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th March, 2011

2nd Apr 2011, 10:45

Riding a clutch will wear it in seconds. I have never had a clutch issue with Mazda.

4th Apr 2011, 10:37

What if the seal in the clutch cylinder leaked and caused a lack of fluid for the hydraulics, causing a prematurely worn out clutch? Ford Fusion 2006 models, 4 cylinder manuals had a similar failure. When most people hear about clutch issues they assume it's related to driving habits, but what if it's a mechanical failure which led to a bigger failure?

I would have a mechanic take apart both the master and clutch slave cylinder and check the seals.

1st Mar 2014, 21:12

I drove a '04 VW Golf TDI Manual and brought it to the dealership with transmission issues. Being a young driver at the time, I was blamed for 'misusing' the clutch, causing the issues. When I pressed, they took the transmission apart and found a bent damaged flywheel, which was not caused by use. In part, the clutch was replaced under warranty because of the time it took for them to actually look at the problem.

2010 Mazda 3 Sport GX 2.0 from North America

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2000 kilometres
Previous carAcura TSX

Summary:

Great little car, but somewhat thirsty

Faults:

Nothing happened so far.

General Comments:

Nothing happened so far. Well, it's still brand new actually. But regardless, we are very happy with the car and with the service we got from Mazda, and would recommend this car to anyone.

I was the proud owner of an Acura TSX 2004 before this car and it does take some getting used to, and it is not that easy. Performance on the Mazda 3 is definitely not as good as what I use to get with the TSX, but still, it's an automatic 2.0 litre engine, what can you expect, right?

One negative thing about it is the fuel economy. It's actually surprisingly thirsty for the type of car it is. That is something to consider if you are looking for fuel efficiency.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2010

6th Dec 2010, 17:49

Two things on the poor mileage.

One. It is brand new, so it'll take a bit of breaking in to loosen things up and become more efficient.

Two. By admitting you are not as impressed with the performance, maybe means you are pushing the gas harder to try to get that performance out of this car that you were used to with the last one?? Maybe?? This will make your mileage suffer greatly.

2010 Mazda 3 MazdaSpeed 2.3L turbo from North America

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.3L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired37 miles
Most recent distance11865 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Lot's of fun to drive every day, I find myself driving more because it drives so well

Faults:

The only thing that went wrong with the car was caused by a loser at a Home Depot, who hit my car's lower body molding with a flat loader.

Other than the influx of stupid people in parking lots in the State of Massachusetts, nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

Lot's of power. Endless torque.

The car handles like it's glued to the road, and goes right where I tell it to.

Great interior, a nice fit on all surfaces. The blue and red lighting is a nice change. I also like the fact that the red can be dialed down at night, as it makes it easier to see.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2010

22nd Nov 2010, 14:05

This sounds like a lot of fun to own. I wish Ford would put this engine in more of its cars. A Focus SVT Coupe would be a sweet car with this power train in it.

People in parking lots are jerks for sure, and it is sad that no one cares about anything but themselves. My last new car was hit in a parking lot in the five minutes that it was left. Of course they took off and it cost me $1K. Yeah, I now take two spots and park on the end a lot!

Good luck with it, and have fun!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews