2003 Mazda 6 Reviews - Page 4 of 8

2003 Mazda 6 Sport 2.0 touring 2.0 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carSAAB 9-3

Summary:

Disapointing performance not matching its looks

Faults:

None, returned the car for a new SAAB as it arrived.

General Comments:

Expected the car to be quick enough, but actually it's quite slow. Previous owner never complained until he drove my old car ;). I can't get used to the automatic gearbox. It shifts down a lot when flooring the peddle, but even than it's slow.

Steering is okay, but the car leans over a lot when cornering.

Lot's of plastic inside, but rather comfy and everything you want is there: climate control, navigation system etc. etc.

Seats are soft, almost French, but provide enough support (if you're not long-legged I guess). Backseats are okay, not very much head-room, but enough space to put your legs.

The boot is great. It's large and shaped so that everything will fit in there.

Dealer is an absolute PITA. Paperwork for every little detail. Testdriving required half an hour of filling out insurance papers and stuff, whereas other dealers simply hand over the keys and trust you bring the car back in one piece.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th April, 2006

2003 Mazda 6 Sport from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carAudi 90

Faults:

The car currently has 35000 miles on it and I am getting a lot of clutch chatter in first gear. I drove a Audi 90 prior to buying the 6 and sold it at 180000 miles and the original clutch!

I have driven sticks most of my life and never experienced anything like this. It would appear Mazda has a problem and they need to address it under warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th February, 2006

2003 Mazda 6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

Disappionting

General Comments:

I have a problem with my Mazda 6. I drove it to work, parked it and when I collected it later in the day it was a danger to drive. The steering wheel was not moving the front wheels properly. It is now with the Mazda dealers 3 weeks and they cannot find the fault. They are insisting the fault occurred from a crash, but I have never crashed the car. Has anyone else had this problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st October, 2005

2nd Jan 2006, 19:20

I have this similiar problem and can't seem to get it fixed, and it only seems to be getting worse, becoming a danger to drive.

7th Apr 2006, 19:58

I didn't have this problem, but I did have the power steering rack give out at 49K miles. Right before the warranty runs out, the car needs a 1500 repair, not exactly full of confidence over here.

2003 Mazda 6 Sport 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

Superb Value with added performance

Faults:

No major problems, a couple of new tires due to nails, but nothing mechanical.

General Comments:

Very quick, handles well, and good fuel economy, get a range of around 320 miles, 400 motorway miles.

Looks fantastic in black and twin exhaust system (factory fitted)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

2003 Mazda 6 S 3.0L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13597 miles
Most recent distance42320 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

Main catalytic converter eroded at 35,000 miles. Dealer failed to re-install the plenum cover.

Pre-catalytic converter eroded at 36,000 miles, causing major engine problems.

Engine replaced at 36,000 miles. Dealer took 3 month to replace (late November to early February).

Choked EGR valve at 38,000 miles. Was not replaced with new engine at 36,000 miles.

Many low-beam bulb changes. Factory bulbs blew every other month or so.

Drivers side tweeter speaker blew at 29,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car was problems since the day if was driven off the lot. Many trips to the dealer. The dealer was difficult to work with.

Other than a high number of problems, the car performed great, was fun to drive, and generally comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2005

2003 Mazda 6 S from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance29800 miles
Previous carMazda 6

Summary:

I really do not think this car is a good investment

Faults:

The car initially had a great ride. Starting around 7,000 miles my car keep making a racket every time I turned it on. Eventually after 3 return trips to the dealer it was fixed until around 28,900. It is now in the shop for this again. I was told Mazda knows this is a problem. They are now installing a new starter.

My other problem is the automatic transmission. My first clutch went at 10,000 miles. I was just told by the service department it was a factory defect so they did replace it. Now again I need a new clutch. My auto mechanic feels this is bogus, the clutch should be holding up for at least 50,000 miles. I am really annoyed with the dealership. I would not recommend this car unless you have plenty of money for repairs.

I had purchased the sport package. The paint is peeling on all the pieces. The dealership said this is normal wear.

General Comments:

The car was very expensive for a vehicle that spends more time in the shop then on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th May, 2005

23rd May 2005, 00:46

A clutch with an automatic transmission??

I am a little confused...

30th May 2005, 08:14

Are you sure you know what car we are talking about?

3rd Jun 2005, 12:14

Wow, this sounds like either.

A) the Dealership is a piece of (bad word goes here)

Or.

B) you don't know how to drive.

To other submitors, even the automatic tranny has a clutch pad, but of course operated by the computer rather than the driver.

Look up your local state lemon law and go from there. Definitely contact Mazda directly and bring it up to their attention!

Good luck!

26th Dec 2006, 15:11

In summary, there are similarities with manual trannies and conventional automatics. I've seen an opened Mazda automatic tranny and there were about 20 separate clutch plates. So the fact remains that both use "clutches"; just in a different way and for some different functions. Yes, the torque converter is unique to the conventional auto, but no transmission shifts gears without employing a clutch of some sort. The exception is the new rash of CVT's; Constant Velocity Transmission. "No shift shock" means power is not transmitted abruptly, be it in a planetary gear set and clutch packs or operator controlled clutch plate.

3rd Jan 2007, 08:31

I purchased a second hand 2003 Mazda 6 S in Feb of 2006. The car does have its drawbacks, but the ones you are facing are extraordinary. There are a few things which are inherent about this vehicle, like the cheap interior plastic which scuffs very easily, and the easily denting body and paint work. The dealer for mazda is excellent here, in fact, I get calls from the dealer every now and then inquiring about the vehicles condition. When and if I do take the car to the dealer, I get a a friendly, courteous, and ROYAL treatment everytime. Hope things work out for you.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 29 reviews