2003 Mazda 6 Reviews - Page 5 of 8

2003 Mazda 6 TS2 2.0L from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Reasonable handling, good comfort levels

Faults:

One the front wheels have had to be balanced three times now (at my expense) as car veers to the right. Dealer assures me no other car has had this problem.

The front passenger window very often opens with a "clunk" which occasionally is so loud that I fear it will break

The metallic coating from the top of the gear knob has peeled away (at 18 months old 12,000 miles) Mazda claim no other car has had this problem and I have made excessive use of the gears.

General Comments:

Although a reasonable car in most cases, the niggles and poor dealer service means I'll have to consider seriously before I buy another Mazda, which is a shame because this is the fourth Mazda I have driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th December, 2004

7th Jun 2005, 11:11

Surprised at your comment on dealers. I had an MX-5 until very recently (then the baby arrived) and although the car itself was a peach, the dealers will be my lasting memory of the ownership experience. They were utterly faultless, and treated me as a valued customer. After years of Ford, VW and Vauxhall ownership, I can honestly say I have never experienced this before.

25th Nov 2005, 05:19

You're not the only one that had this problem with the gear shift knob.. Not to my car, but to another fellow. Changed it under warranty, anyway.

17th Dec 2005, 03:30

I agree that Mazda dealers could improve their service to its customers. I own an MX5 and found them useless when it came to spares. I was going to buy a Mazda 6 but the sales department didn't seem interested so I bought a Honda instead, which was a mistake, but that's another story.

7th Apr 2006, 20:00

I have the same window clunking sound from both front windows. Especially when its cold, it sounds like the glass will break. Also, my shift knob is starting to wear off, but it's an auto.

2003 Mazda 6 Sport 3.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great car other than the slipping feeling when releasing clutch

Faults:

Mazda 6 slipping (Shuttering) feeling when releasing clutch.

General Comments:

I purchased my Mazda 6 with 21 miles on it. The performance was great at first until I put about 3,000 miles on the engine. I began feeling a slipping in when I would accelerate from a stop when releasing the clutch. I took it to two different dealers and both replaced the clutch or so they say. It is still slipping and I noticed that after long drives of like 6-10 hours it shutters horribly. It cuts out on acceleration and gives a shuttering feeling when releasing the clutch. I don't know what to do about this. Obviously there is something wrong with the car. The dealers now think I am crazy. Could there be something else wrong with the car such as the computer? What do I do or does anyone have suggestions? Other than that the car is great!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th December, 2004

7th Dec 2004, 02:35

Our Mazda Premacy (UK) had similar problems, but more of a clutch judder. You just need to be persistent with the dealers, after all the customer is always right!

7th Dec 2004, 04:32

Shuddering when letting in the clutch may not be due to the clutch at all, but to weak engine mounts. Get them checked.

2003 Mazda 6 2.0 Executive 2.0 petrol from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance27000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz A-Class

Summary:

Good looking, comfortable, good handling.

Faults:

Xenon headlights (bulbs, wiring, control module, switch) were replaced after intermittent problems at 12 months.

Front brake rotor replaced after 12 months.

General Comments:

Car handles well and is very comfortable.

Good value for money with leather, DVD nav.

Certainly the best looking Japanese sedan currently and maybe the looks are its strongest point. While handling is good and performance is OK there are some hints of having been built down to a price. For instance, sound insulation could be better (road noise is higher than average) and the interior plastics don't look like they will stand up to serious wear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2004

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 29 reviews