2003 Mazda 6 from Greece


Disappointing experience


The steering wheel pulls constantly to the right

The engine rattles in low revs

The clutch gives a fearful noise and has to be replaced soon

The interior plastics start rattling just after 3200 kilimeters...

General Comments:

The car looks nice.

The quality though is cheap all together.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th May, 2004

16th May 2004, 07:58

Sounds like you received a Dud, I've never had a problem like what you are saying. Mine is extremely quiet at idle. Even blasted I haven't heard any "rattling" in the interior.. Sorry about yours, I have had mine for over a year now, and have had no major issues at all.

28th Jan 2005, 14:23

I am the owner of a Mazda 6 - Diesel as of December 2003.

At a mileage of 45.000 km absolutely no problems and only 2 hours in the service station for the periodic maintenance.

No spare parts needed except the filters.

2003 Mazda 6 V6 from North America


This car is perfect


About 2 months into owning the car, the 6-disk CD player stopped playing CD's and would not eject them either. I brought it to Mazda service and since it was under warranty, it was replaced that day within 2 hours. The Service center was very good.

Also one time after an oil change, the check engine light came on, so I brought it back and they took care of it right away. The computer just needed to be reset. Other than that, nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

Very great, smooth driving car. Quick and super reliable. I would recommend this car to anyone. I owned a Jeep before the Mazda6, so when I switched to the 6, at first I hated that it was so smooth and comfortable and pleasant to drive. I was used to being the bumpy, uncomfortable ride of the Cherokee. After about a month, I realized that smooth and comfortable is much better and now I would never think of getting rid of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

11th Jun 2004, 04:51

I too had problems with my Mazda6 6 Stack CD changed. This occurred during the first month of owning the car (Sept 2002) where it just stopped ejecting CDs altogether. Once the replacement arrived (4 weeks later!) it too had a quality issue. The replacement played OK, but occasionally would skip through tracks. This was quite annoying as it was hard to diagnose and prove to the dealer, who had to sit in the car listening for 15minutes. They then replaced that unit also. The good thing was the replacement unit must have been internally different as it now plays CDRs and CDRW where the original didn't. Other than that, this car is absolutely fantastic.

2003 Mazda 6 i 2.3 4 cylinder from North America


So many features, so little price!


The fuse in the cigarette lighter has gone out.

There seems to be some water leaking in the trunk on the carpet when it rains or I wash it. I haven't gone to the dealership yet though.

General Comments:

This car has some seriously good handling including an excellent steering system.

I really like the telescoping steering wheel.

The seats could be a little softer.

I have a 4 cylinder and the last tank I only got 20.3 mpg. Yes I do drive it fairly hard, but this is still unacceptable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2004

13th Feb 2004, 06:01

Give it a couple thousand more miles for the engine to break in and your mileage will get better. And don't be too rough untill it's fully broken in.

2003 Mazda 6 S 3.0L V6 from North America


A BMW without the badge


Check Engine light would come on repeatedly after the first few months of ownership. The Dealer claimed it was a problem with the EGR valve in the exhaust. However, the problem did not seem to have been fixed, despite several trips to dealers in Colorado, New Mexico, Texas, and Alabama. The dealer in Alabama seemed to be the only one to solve this persistent glitch permanently.

No other problems to date (been about 6 months now).

General Comments:

I really enjoy this car.

The Mazda 6 is the only car I have driven in its class that can even approach the driving joy I had in my old 98 Audi A4 2.8 Quattro (which I no longer have due to the antics of a drunk driver that hit me). Sure an Accord or Altima are more powerful, but none of those could put a smile on my face when they got into the turns of a mountain road. The Mazda put them to shame in the fun-to-drive factor, especially the Accord.

The Mazda also looks better than any other car in its mid-$20K class. It may be a bit to racy for some, but for a young college student, it comes close to perfect.

I have driven from coast to coast in this car, and it remains extremely comfortable. Plenty of room and luggage space. Very comfortable seats (except I don't care too much for the black leather in summer), and the sound system is incredible (although not as good as my old Audi's).

Nissan and Honda continually advertise their cars on TV. Mazda doesn't need to, word of mouth seems to be doing better than any Ad-campaign.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2004