2000 Mazda 626 GLX 2.0 petrol from Turkey

Summary:

A Japanese sedan is always a logical choice, not an emotional one!

Faults:

Essentially nothing.

Only regular service, including timing belt at 100000km.

General Comments:

Suspension comfort is average, gets much better as the speed increases.

Noise level average also. Heater/air conditioner fan extremely noisy on 3rd and 4th speed.

We don't have VW/Audi class dashboard plastics in here.

Engine is excellent. Good performance when needed, very economic when driven to be so. I can reached 1000 km. with one tank with an average speed of 85/105 km. That gives us an average consumption of something like 6.1-6.2 lt./100 km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2009

28th Aug 2011, 04:51

The car reached 133000 kms. No issue. Changed left rear door central lock mechanism, two rear shock absorbers, brake pads etc. Also, the car had to endure 4 relatively small/average crashes during the last two years; 2 from behind, 2 from the front. Amazingly enough, it didn't need any part or repairs. The shock absorbing supports in the bumpers cracked, but no need to do anything about them. If it runs as problem free as it is now, I'll keep it till 2015/2016.

23rd Sep 2013, 15:09

The car has now 150000 km. No issue other than oil changes. At one stage, I was about sell it, but I've now decided to keep it until it goes to junkyard as a second/spare car. The reason is very simple: it isn't worth any significant money, but is a perfect working car with everything working! If I get rid of it, I will never be able to get so much car in absolute perfect condition for so little money ever again. I'd say it's good to go for another 15 years and 150000 km!

2000 Mazda 626 LX 2.5 24v V6 from North America

Summary:

Would buy another, but would rather have an MX6 (2 door version)

Faults:

Front passenger side outer CV boot.

Rear rotors and pads.

Transmission does not like going into 5th gear over 170 km/ph.

Front sway bar bushings.

Rockers needed replacing.

Driver side headlight wire clip melted X 2.

Resonator rotted out.

And the radio can be funny.

General Comments:

I love this car. It needs quite a bit of work because the previous owner didn't take care of it. It's fast, good looking and comfortable. Handles quite well for a family car, and will do 240+.

The only thing I don't like about it is the radio doesn't always cooperate, other than that it's a great overall car. The fuel mpg is acceptable (25 mpg), but if you're giving it to her you'll go through a tank in 2 hours.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2009

2000 Mazda 626 Classic 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Very good car, but not a great car

Faults:

- brakes wear easily.

- at times, auto transmission is dim-witted and doesn't know what to do.

- 10L/100-km not that great anymore.

General Comments:

- seats are very comfortable.

- Grey interior a bit boring.

- makes good progress on the freeway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2008

2000 Mazda 626 ES V6 from North America

Summary:

Decent Car

Faults:

Replaced battery at 56000 miles (after 7 years)

General Comments:

This car has been reliable overall. Sometimes transmission shifts roughly between 1st and second gear in city driving. Turning overdrive off fixes this issue.

Still have original tires and brakes, but will need replacing in a few months, but for 7 years, not bad.

Interior is still in new condition.

Car handles well.

Overall, I'm happy with the car. Hopefully the transmission will not give me any problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2007

2000 Mazda 626 LX from North America

Summary:

Unfortunately for me and others, this car is a money pit

Faults:

Transmission went out in 2003, Starter needed to be replace in 2004, Transmission is back on the fritz in 11/2006. Rear Passenger door needs a new power lock motor. I have replaced 2 of five motor mounts. Top motor mount needs to be replaced now in 11/2006. The a/c filter has been blowing out of the vents in large pieces. All of 2005 and 2006

General Comments:

I do love this car's body and design. Interior of car is satisfactory.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2006

22nd Apr 2007, 16:42

I share your pain. I bought my 1999 Mazda 626 LX Sedan in October 1998 and I had to overhaul the transmission in 2001and ultimately had to replace it in 2004. Now I need to replace it again. Do you know the best source for a more reliable transmission for this car?

Hendy.