2001 Mazda 626 from North America

Summary:

Terrible

Faults:

I bought the car used, and it has made it to 150,000 miles, but I suggest if you have one not at that yet, then get rid of it before it's too late!!

In the past year I have replaced water pump, CV joints, radiator, fan, head gasket, belts, and had issues with the shifting cable. I am sure there is more that I can't think of.

Do NOT purchase this car for you or your child, because you think it is a good buy. At this point, it's 10 years old, find something else. Others friends have had issues with Mazdas too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2011

6th Jan 2011, 12:08

I've read a few other reviews that mentioned Mazdas quality control slipping. Oh, but now Mazdas have big smiles on them!

Creepy if you ask me.

2001 Mazda 626 LX from North America

Summary:

A very lousy choice in a car

Faults:

I just got a 2001 Mazda 626 just a couple of days ago, and the O/D off light started flashing on it.

It has a new engine, and a new transmission in it. So the miles on it aren't correct.

I was taking it to the dealership that I got it from, and the car broke down on me on the way there, it made a noise, cut off, and started smoking.

When I looked under it, it was leaking what I'm guessing is transmission fluid.

General Comments:

The cars interior is great.

But when the car shifts gears, it jerks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2009

15th May 2009, 14:20

Well you bought an 8 year old 144,000+ mile car, which the seller probably knew there was a fault with - you should have had it checked properly.

I don't think you can blame the car - that's a fair life for any car apart from an 80s Volvo or old Mercedes.

15th May 2009, 20:40

I guess the warranty is up, huh?

2001 Mazda 626 LX 2.0 from North America

Summary:

The car seriously sucks in maintenance !!

Faults:

The over drive light kept blinking. Before I could go to a repair shop the transmission failed. I could go in reverse but could not put the vehicle in drive. Now it is costing me $1500 for rebuilding the transmission. I would never buy a Mazda again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2008

16th Sep 2009, 21:11

Same thing happened to me.

9th Mar 2011, 02:32

Blinking lights blink for a reason. I suggest anyone who owns one of these cars stop IMMEDIATELY and have the car towed to a garage to check if that light starts blinking...

You'd think that would be blinking obvious!

2001 Mazda 626 LX 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Would not buy another one :(

Faults:

Check engine light keeps coming on, showing O2 sensors or cat. Have replaced both O2's and the cat, and it still comes on after about a week pointing to the same things.

Transmission went out (CD4E Ford made) 144000 miles.

General Comments:

My 3rd Mazda and I put a lot of miles on my cars and keep all the fluids changed ahead of times. Really disappointed in this car because of the O2 errors and the transmission going. I had 310000 on my 323 and quit driving it because of rust only.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st February, 2008

2001 Mazda 626 GXi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Mazda's unsung hero

Faults:

Nothing failed. New brakes at last service.

General Comments:

I went to a dealer to look at a 2004 Mazda 6. I left with a very late 2001 registered 626. I must be mad you may think? Well I think not the car cost me less than a third the price of the 6.

Don't get me wrong the 626 shows it's age when compared to the 6 in comfort and refinement however it is still a very good car. One bonus of buying a car at the end of it's production life is most of the bugs have been ironed out. The 6 would have been the opposite.

The engine is smooth enough all be it not that powerful. It is adequate and works OK with the auto box. Fuel economy is good and reliability is faultless. Cabin has everything I need and is well laid out. The brakes are amazing and the traction control is very comforting.

It is a bit dull to look at, but that isn't really what I bought it for. The cabin is spacious and the boot is huge.

The car spends more time on the road due to it's 9000 mile interim service and 18000 full. Cam belt is done at 50k and wasn't expensive. Spark plugs were a little pricey however it has only ever needed one set.

The auto box is another matter. It is the Ford CD4E in disguise which has a diabolical reputation. With no clear service schedule I took it to an engineering company for a check over. They advise changing ATF every 20k and putting the car in park during long traffic queues. Most of the problems are due too bad fluid and overheating.

Great car that should last for ages. Last of the true large Mazda's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2007

28th Mar 2007, 08:56

Good review. I agree with you that the Mazda is a real understated car. The reliability speaks for it self as you see loads of early models still on the road looking great.

Don't worry about the automatic box as ZF took over production of the CD4E in 1998 and vastly improved it. I have seen lots of automatic 626's with over 140k still with the original transmission.