2001 Mazda 626 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2001 Mazda 626 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carChrysler Stratus

Summary:

Reliable when new, but will it last?

Faults:

Not much, needed new brakes due to shaking, and had a little problem with rough idle, but this was sensor and new software. Good car, but see other comments.

General Comments:

Overall I was satisfied with this car when new. Very few problems, but during my 4 years of ownership this car degraded rapidly. And this is not my fault since it was used for steady high-way driving and all checkups done. It does not seem very solid and when I traded it in for a new Mazda last year it felt like it was completely falling apart. Exhaust, dampers, springs, door-sealings, worn seat and interior seemed worn, everything was shaking and cracking, the last year it was starting to use oil, transmission leaked, etc, but nothing that immediately had to be fixed.

I think it was wise to trade it in, and I got fair price, but I wonder who will buy this one used from the dealer. I wouldn't, for sure. It would take a lot of money to get this car right. Compared to my previous car that was a Chrysler the Mazda was more fault free, but the Chrysler had clocked up over 190.000 when the engine blew. And even at that mileage it felt more solid. But would not buy Chrysler again since resale value is not good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2006

19th Oct 2006, 20:28

Will the car last? In my experience and the experience of every person I know who owns a Mazda 626 is that it will NOT last. My car is in the shop as I type for a SECOND transmission repair in less than two years. Tell me is that lasting? If anyone is considering a Mazda I would strongly suggest going with something more reliable. Yes it is a fairly good-looking car, but what good is that if it will not shift gears?

28th Jan 2008, 17:45

I just bought a Mazda 626, my friend sent me this link... now I am so scared. T T.

28th May 2008, 13:30

I just bought my 2001 626 last week. I bought it because it got good gas mileage, and it was cheap and good looking. I paid 4200 for it, and after I drove it home I found that both axles had problems (which the dealer fixed), and I noticed from park to reverse, and from 1st to 2nd gear were really rough.

The car is pretty noisy, especially in the rear, and I don't know why. Also there's a lot of shaking, but the tires are pretty bad. All I can say is it was better than my last car. 1989 Oldsmobile Regency with 350000 miles. But I don't think the 626 will make it to 150000 miles.

21st Mar 2012, 18:50

I bought my Mazda 626 at 143,000 miles. Today it is 173,000 and still going strong, especially due to the fact that I have not had any major maintenance done except a couple of oil changes.

22nd Mar 2012, 14:54

If anyone wants to buy a 626; please get a manual if available (as the last year of production was '02). I had '98 (first year of last generation) and it had PROBLEMS!

2001 Mazda 626 LX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

This is the worst car I have owned

Faults:

Transmission problems is not fixable.

We purchased a used 626 Mazda 2001 with less than 48,000 miles in Oct. 2005. We were concern about the miles and my son said we should buy the extended warrant. After 2 weeks we took the car into the dealers to have the noise checked out, they found nothing. January 2006 the car stopped moving and we had it towed to the dealers. They took it to the transmission shop in town to fix the problem. My son said it was still not right. It's back at the shop again in March. Now their giving us the run around on what is wrong. First they said it was a hose leek and motor mounts. We took it to the dealers to see if they could determine the problem, and they thought it was the turf converter or something like that. Again we are without a car.

General Comments:

We like the style and make of the body of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd March, 2006

23rd Mar 2006, 13:43

Dealer's are the worst. Unfortunatley, it was a used car and you don't know what happened prior to you owning it. So lesson learned huh? Do your homework before buying used and new, or anything at all.

Its not a turf converter, it's a torque converter.

22nd Dec 2008, 19:37

This car was absolutely horrible to me.

I had

- Bad power steering leak.

- Oil leak.

- My bumpers are cracked badly without running into anything.

All in all, the car is a piece of junk and falls apart whenever it can.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 14 reviews