2001 Mazda 626 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2001 Mazda 626 LX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance103400 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

I don't think my Mazda was the quality it should have been

Faults:

I bought a beautiful 2001 Mazda 626 in October 2001. This car had all the bells and whistles.

The transmission had to be replaced just under 50,000.

When the car was brand new and when the transmission was replaced, it seemed to take several weeks for it to have any power.

I had several small things go wrong during the three years I owned the car. It seemed like I had it in the garage constantly during the warranty period for little things.

The last thing that went wrong was the check engine light came on.

I thought it was just from a loose gas cap, but it never did go off. I finally said enough is enough and traded the car for a new Honda.

I will have to say in defense of Mazda that they repaired anything that was under warranty. Much of this I attribute to the sales person.

However, I don't feel the car gave me the service it should have. I put a lot of miles on a car, but I keep my automobile well maintained. I think with good maintenance a car should last at least until it is paid off no matter how many miles it has.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th September, 2005

4th Dec 2005, 19:06

I am now on my second 626,Excellent car for the price.

If you want something to last for 20-30 years, you don't need a car, you may want to invest in a herd of horses.

2001 Mazda 626 Sedan DITD Active 2.0 DITD from Romania

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 DITD Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance61000 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

It is an excellent car. Bought for only 14,500 Euros CIP, full options, at that time and considering this manufacturer, it was an excellent choice. I would not sell for (almost) anything in the world.

I've done thorough checkups every year and everything works fine!

A perfect car, pity that parts prices at the authorized service centre are high and they simply do not care about their customers. There are some very nice people at the official importer that can help you, but it's hard to find them and there are too few of them.

General Comments:

Those who like driving would prefer a stronger engine, but if I take into consideration the fuel consumption (maximum 7 l/100 km), it's OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2005

2001 Mazda 626 ES 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

It is a great car for the money

Faults:

The only thing that I have had to replace is the brakes.

The four cylinder motor is a bit loud.

General Comments:

Great gas mileage.

Fantastic reliability, Three years and no problems.

I am 6'3 250 pounds and fit comfortably.

Comfort, reliability, great gas mileage and a nice looking car well worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2004

6th Feb 2005, 02:49

I've a 1999 Mazda 626 ES v6 2.5 FI, I am 91000 miles into the car I've had to replace basically every single moving component within this car. Transmission, engine, all pumps belts, rotors, brakes. The works, this car has cost-ed me over 6k in trouble. It looks great and drives great when it wants to. Other than that, it really has a lot of problems as far as I am concerned. Ill never buy Mazda again.

2001 Mazda 626 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

It sucks not worth the money at all

Faults:

My 2001 Mazda 626 had a rattling noise in the back passenger side tire.. The place I bought my car could never find anything wrong with it.. One day my car would not start had to have it towed into the Mazda dealership and they said it started for them after it sat there for a day in a half... Never did find out why it wouldn't start... When I bought the car when driving it sounded like I was in a truck with big tires.. I don't know how many times I took it to the Mazda dealership and they kept telling me it was tire and road noise.. I took my car to have the brakes done and come to find out my wheel bearing on the passenger side was shot... Had it fixed and now a year later I have to have the wheel bearing replaced again... I hate this car never liked it from the start... No go power at all... Would not buy another one nor tell anyone to buy one either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th June, 2004

17th Jul 2004, 08:32

I own a 2000 Mazda 626 with 80,000 miles (due to my sales job!) An oil change every couple months is all I have done to it. I guess if you don't like a car before you buy it, Why buy it???

1st Apr 2005, 12:25

I own an 01 626 and it's a nice car and all, but I'm not happy with it. I don't think that I will buy another Mazda. Whenever I bring my car to Mazda they tell me something different every time.

23rd Aug 2005, 17:25

I also own a mazda 2001 626. It is an automatic and has 100,000 miles on it I drive mostly freeway miles to work. I have had some problems with the od light flashing and almost burnt transmission oil. It gets changed. Now my transmission burned up. I am really sad. Has anyone had any similar problems? Tammy.

22nd Aug 2006, 01:00

Sorry to say, failed transmissions on these cars seems to be a common story. Go research the Internet and you'll find hundreds of storys about burnt Mazda transmissions, some even failing after 30-40.000 miles, it seems. I seriously considered buying one of these used, but was put of. A friend of mine that *previously* owned one said I should check out the facts, he was not very happy about this car. Transmission was one of the issues. But since I haven't owned one myself, I don't have any any first hand knowledge about this car. Just what other people tells me.

9th Dec 2008, 22:24

01 626 automatic trans.

Almost made it to 100,000 and the trans burned up. Did lot of research, will never buy one again. The trans is made by Ford, and Mazda did not design the cooling correctly. If you have this car and the trans is OK right now, then go and get a bigger trans cooler to save the trans. This will save it. BTW it will cost about 200 dollars.

BTW the O/D light flashing means that the transmission temp is overheating and that the fluid needs to be replaced ASAP. Do not drive anymore until the fluid is changed and get a bigger cooler on it soon! Good luck.

2001 Mazda 626 LX 4 cylinder fuel injection from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder fuel injection Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired26600 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Can be lived with as a daily commuter vehicle

Faults:

So far impeccable functioning engine.

Radio speakers started to vibrate too early.

Front seats get uncomfortable on long rides.

Good mileage.

Front door handles seem flimsy when you pull on them to close door.

General Comments:

Handling is above average. Not a BMW, but sticks to the road well during hard cornering.

Steering wheel is somewhat uncomfortable for a six footer or above. Sits too low. Good headroom, though.

Radio dial is incomprehensible, cannot see the numbers during high noon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2003

2001 Mazda 626 LX 121.5 cu. in. from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 121.5 cu. in. Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carNissan Quest

Summary:

Delightful to own

Faults:

This unit was in an unfortunate head on accident in which much of the frontal components had to be replaced. The cost of the new parts I consider to be out of the question. We bought "not original" new replacements, and the difference was outstanding.

General Comments:

I'm a 200 lbs. "six footer", so I think of the steering column to be in an awkward position for someone of my size. I also think the front seats could be a tad more comfortable.

One radio speaker (Lf/Ft door) vibrates, and I don/t think it should, considering the car's year make.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th April, 2003

2001 Mazda 626 2.0 4 cylinder. petrol from South Africa

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder. petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance117347 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

The most under sold car on the market

Faults:

I have not experienced any major problems.

The one anti sway bar bracket had to be replaced at 101 100Km. This is a common problem on the 626.

On delivery of the car it was fitted with Bridgestone tires these were very noisy, at 65 000Km I changed to Perelli tyres, the road holding improved, but the road noise remained.

General Comments:

As with all the previous Mazda 626 cars the engine only really started to preform after 65 000Km.

The dealer service is poor.

The costs of replacement parts high, a head lamp assembly sells at SA R1800,00.

The dealer principle cannot be contacted under any circumstance he simply will not talk to you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2002

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 14 reviews