1988 Mazda B2200 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Help!!! It won't die

Faults:

Nothing except for normal maintenance.

General Comments:

I've tried everything to kill it. It hasn't had a tune up in years. I don't change the oil until it resembles hot fudge. I drive it like a maniac (like any small truck, cops can't see it). It will not die. It's unholy, I have the undead in my garage. Send help, I need an exorcism. It's calling me. Take me for a drive, it says. Grind my gears, buy the cheapest gas in town, floor it at every stoplight, I don't care, you can't kill me! (demonic laugh).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2014

21st Sep 2014, 23:20

So you are proud that you abuse your truck? That is not good.

28th Sep 2014, 03:40

These were good trucks... be nice!!!

29th Sep 2014, 17:44

Wish I had your kinda problems bud.

1988 Mazda B2200 SE-5 2.2 from North America

Summary:

Amazing

Faults:

Leak around the windshield

Bad rust.

Seats wore.

General Comments:

This truck is the toughest truck I've ever seen.

Estimated to have over 400,000 road miles, and still revs up to about 7,000 RPM.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2013

1988 Mazda B2200 2.2 from Japan

Summary:

Affordable gas saving truck

Faults:

Things that have gone wrong with truck.

High idle in mornings that will last sometimes 30 minutes.

Tapping noise from engine for the last 9 months. Took truck to a mechanic and he said it was a sticky lifter. Tapping has quieted down a little since adding some oil additives, but is still there. For the last few months car will sometimes surge when accelerating. Car has also died out a few times when I started to accelerate in fourth gear. This morning I was on my way to work and the truck just died on me in third gear. Truck will turn over, but it will not start. I do not think the timing belt has ever been changed. I do not know if its the timing belt, carburetor, air/fuel solenoid, etc? Any and all help would be appreciated. Thank you.

General Comments:

Nice little truck that is great on gas.

Good runner as long as you take care of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2007

20th Oct 2014, 23:05

That sounds like the ICM (ignition control module). You can find it in the distributor, 2 screws and slide it out. Approximately $85 for the part and 2 minutes to replace.

1988 Mazda B2200 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Very good 2d vehicle and hauler for stuff

Faults:

Battery died due to old age and intermittent use.

Muffler went at 59,000.

Air cleaner housing hoses keep blowing out due to unknown cause. taking truck to shop now to find out cause; possibly clogged catalytic converter?

Winshield was leaking and patched with sealant when purchased.

General Comments:

Extended long bed is incredible. more room than $30,000. trucks, I can haul anything.

Echo the upper body workout theme; try sharp turns or 4 point parking!

It almost looked new upon purchase. old farm truck with hardly a scratch.

Old style interior is kind of cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2006

12th Mar 2007, 19:09

I know why your air cleaner hoses keep blowing up! It happened to me at about 230,000 miles. It can lead to your head gasket blowing... Anyways, its probably not the catalytic converter being clogged its somewhere in the manifold or where it meets the exhaust pipes. Have the mechanic use a fibre optic scope and look through the manifold and stuff to find out where it is before you replace piping, manifolds, or catalytic converters. Don't let them guess, that's what my mechanic did.

1988 Mazda B2200 SE-5 2.2L from North America

Summary:

Very nice truck. Very inexpensive and reliable!

Faults:

"Clicking" while driving on hot days - fixed now. Replaced battery, fuel filter, fixed oil leak, normal problems for the age of the truck.

General Comments:

Very nice truck. I love it. Very reliable. I learned how to drive it this truck and it's a very good first car for someone. Gives your arms a workout when parallel parking for lack of power steering, but it's not too bad otherwise. Slow acceleration because of not having fuel injection. Very cheap to operate and fix. Not too expensive to fill up with gas. OK gas mileage. Cab is very comfortable and roomy. Seats are comfortable except for on very long drives. Overall, I am very happy with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2004