1993 Mazda B2200 Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1993 Mazda B2200 2.2L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired179000 kilometres
Most recent distance179500 kilometres
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Great Truck, if they still made them I would buy one in a flash

Faults:

I bought this truck from the original owner and I found that it had a hole in the rear end. But I fixed that with some epoxy and problem solved. I had to replace the passenger side caliper because it was seized. Other than that that's it. And o yeah, a hole in the drivers side seat!

General Comments:

Great little first truck and picks up good for a 4 cylinder also. I plan to keep this truck for a few years to haul a ATV around, and I does that just fine. Any tips or things I should know about?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2005

1993 Mazda B2200 Base 2.2 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired195000 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres
Previous carFord Cargo Van

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

Seats cracked.

Smoky on cold start.

General Comments:

I bought the truck to replace a cargo van that sucked back too much gas. The truck can haul almost as much gear, with observed gas mileage of 29mpg overall.

I've driven it across Canada from Vancouver to Montreal 4 times now with no work on it except oil and tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2005

1993 Mazda B2200 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired208000 kilometres
Most recent distance218000 kilometres

Summary:

An everlasting investment

Faults:

The bench seat was ripping and uncomfortable so I am going to put in bucket seats.

General Comments:

This truck is perfect for a first vehicle, its great on gas, runs well, fun to drive, reliable.

They look really good when they are lowered, you can really make a nice low rider with them.

Very comfortable truck to be in.

The trucks seem to last forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2003

10th Nov 2005, 19:07

My long box, B2200, '93 Mazda now has 409,000 Ks' on it. Engine, trans, clutch, rear end, have never been out. Carry a 8ft (overweight) camper often. Have extra leafs in rear springs, 8 ply tires for when camper is on and replaced rad, 1 insde F wheel brg. head, lifters, and of course brakes, that is it!! It has lots of power, cheap on gas and cannot find a new simple reliable similar vehicle to match it today.

Al in Comox, BC.

1993 Mazda B2200 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 kilometres
Most recent distance252000 kilometres
Previous carMazda B2200

Summary:

A to B -- without question

General Comments:

Change oil and add gas. I have 2 mazdas, a 91 and a 93, best investments I've made!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2003

1993 Mazda B2200 2.2 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 miles
Most recent distance146100 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Dependable, but smoky on startup

Faults:

I just bought this truck for $250. For the money it's a great deal. The gut I bought it from said it had no major mechanical problems, but did mention that it smoked a bit on startup - especially when cold. I just started it this morning and so much smoke came out it looked like my house was on fire. We're talking like a serious smokescreen cloud. I've seen and driven the truck before and it was totally fine. I've noticed other owners of this same truck posting this exact problem as well. Does anyone know what this is caused by? or what I could do to try to fix it?

General Comments:

Seems like a solid truck - VA body so no rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2003

12th May 2003, 05:32

OK...read your problem with smoking in the morning...! Mine was doing the same thing... just pull the head and get new valve guides installed... cures the problem!!

26th Jun 2003, 15:36

Mine was smoking in the morning too. I changed the guides, but it wasn't that, its the piston rings.

10th Oct 2003, 22:09

I am rebuilding the motor in my 91 B2200 at 170,000.

The morning smoke is caused by leaking valve stem seals. The oil in your head is leaking down through the seals over night and onto the pistons. When you fire it up in the morning you are burning off the oil, that's why you see oil at start up and then it goes away. The oil by that time has burned off.

If you are burning oil all the time like I was, you have bad rings. Sometimes you can have bad rings and not know it until you get a valve job done. When you get the valve job done you increase your compression per cylinder wich pushes oil around your weak rings and goes on to burn it.

Get your valve stem seals fixed and you should be okay.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 21 reviews