1993 Mazda MX3 Reviews - Page 6 of 11

1993 Mazda MX3 GS from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

It is quick, nimble, and fun to drive

Faults:

The only problematic area has been with the muffler. It cracked at 40k and every muffler I had installed thereafter lasted approximately 6 months. Finally, I purchased a very expensive Mazda muffler, and I never again experienced any problem.

The water pump broke at approximately 80k; however, it was still under warranty so I had it fixed without any cost to me.

The check engine light has continuously come on intermittently since 130k. No mechanic or Mazda dealer has been able to find the problem. I now lived with simply ignoring it.

The electric seat belts had to be replaced at 130k.

General Comments:

I have driven this car fast and hard for the past decade. It's as fast today as it was the day I purchased it. It's true that it does handle like its on rails, especially around corners.

Granted, it's older and it has become louder. Little things such as the door locks and the radio have begun to show signs on wear. I was never a fan on the seats. I find them uncomfortable after a long commute.

It's also very good in the snow. I have had the misfortune of getting stuck in quite a few snowstorms and my MX-3 has never failed to get me home safely.

All cars suffer from age and those regular maintenance issues such as brakes, tires etc. Even timing belts must be replaced eventually! What is important for me to stress is the MX-3 has never cost me money for anything that isn't "normal" to spend money on.

It has never once broken down on me or left me stranded.

It looks great and I still receive many compliments on its appearance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2004

22nd Nov 2004, 10:39

Check the wiring for the position crank sensor, under the car, beside the belt for the alternator/airconditioner pulley/wheels. Could have an exposed wire causing the check engine light ot come on.

29th Apr 2005, 12:21

The same check engine light came on for mine I wonder if I have the same problem.

1993 Mazda MX3 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

Good looking, but slow for our generation..

Faults:

The Story of my Brother and his MX3 (soon to be my car)

Back in the year 2000, my bro bought a 93 BlackV6 MX3 (Auto Transmission) from an auction. At the first 2 years the car was pretty reliable, but than my bro had to invest, invest, invest because his MX3 keep on messing up for instance, his front Axel messed up on him, his driver terrain things that connect to the Axel messed up a lot too and a lot of other stuff I don't understand.

Anyway, my bro has stopped driving his MX3 completely because his transmission messed up at 98,000 miles recently and he didnt want to invest anymore into it so he got an V6 Eclipse.

Let me tell you guys something, if you plan to get a MX3 please do not get a MX3 with a automatic transmission because Mazda's Auto Transmission mess up a lot.

General Comments:

MX3 V6 Specs:

1.8L Engine (All MX3 Models)

About 130hp

About 130ft Torque

No aftermarket support (no turbos, no nothing except a small cold air intake and NOS)

Front Wheel Drive.

The bad thing about the MX3 engines is that they aren't fast for a V6 anymore because there are V6 cars like SIR Civics, Integra Civics, Acura Integra and many other V6 cars that have about 180hp and 130ft Torque so pretty much, if you want to compete out there on the street, you'll need to swap the stock MX3 V6 engine for a V6 racing engine. I'd advice you guys to look into American made engines because they have a lot of aftermarket support and its way easier to order stuff for them like Turbos, headers, intake manifolds, Cylinder Heads, ect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2004

9th Jun 2008, 18:44

NOS?... You had Nos on this car and you wonder why it fell apart...

23rd Jun 2008, 13:26

Haha...NOS! in an automatic... no wonder it fell apart... way to wreck a good car..

24th Apr 2009, 10:15

Yeah, why exactly would you put NOS on an old automatic trans car? I have that car and I have not had any problems with it, and guess what, I don't have NOS on it.

13th Oct 2009, 09:48

It wasn't him! It was his 'Bro'. But he definitely stepped out of his driver terrain and his review messed up on him!

22nd Nov 2010, 11:58

You are so right about not getting an MX3 V6 with automatic. I have one, and I destroyed my tranny in a rain storm. But now I have got a 94 V6 5 speed in the yard with the motor dropped and ready to go in the 93. ;)

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 40 reviews