1993 Mazda MX3 Reviews - Page 10 of 11

1993 Mazda MX3 GS 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 kilometres
Most recent distance152000 kilometres

Summary:

High performance scrap heap

Faults:

One Transmission at 126K, Got a bad job on the transmission, Replaced again at 151K.

New Battery.

New Front Tires.

New Brake Lines at 151K.

New Wheel Bearings in the rear.

Because the Car is so small it bumps hard. The shocks absorb very little.

General Comments:

I love the way my car looks, being a young driver style is big of course, but the bills are much bigger. I would have had an uglier car with less the cost.

After two years of owning my car I think I have put as much money into it as what I paid for it.

I am now just calling uncle and looking for a new car because I am not waiting for the next thing to brake or fall off.

I am still trying to figure out how to fix my back indicator light, the Owners manual says that it is idiot proof, idiot proof if you know how to take the back paneling out of the trunk.

All and All a great car to drive, it will keep up with many little sports cars on the road, be prepared to pay for repairs, they do not come cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th May, 2002

5th Feb 2010, 15:03

You do not need to take off the back paneling to change the indicator light. The casing pretty much pops out.

1993 Mazda MX3 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance161000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Economical, reliable 2nd car

Faults:

-Air Conditioner died - over $1200 to fix the thing.

-Motorized Seat Belt thing crapped out cost $600 dealer, $150 Junk yard if I fix it.

-Minor contact with curb caused $1100 damage to steering parts

-Plastic parts inside all seem to break and everything is loose & rattles

-Paint is crap - flakes off

-Seats uncomfortable unless you have a skinny butt.

General Comments:

-Low cost to operate, until something breaks. Parts not too easy to get at junk yards.

-Pretty reliable as far as starting, getting you there & back.

-1.6L engine seems a bit underpowered, maybe just too many miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

1993 Mazda MX3 GS from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance113000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Sprint

Summary:

Expensive to maintain

Faults:

Lots of problems with the car since purchase. Needed new rear suspension upon purchase. (The previous owner failed to tell me about that). Lots of maintenance such as replacing battery and headlights. Also, major problems with brakes. Needed new rear rotors, calipers, caliper hardware, and brake-pads. Seized caliper caused massive damage to the brake system, and got very hot. So far, I have spent $1200.00 on repairs on the car within 7 months.

General Comments:

This car is very expensive to maintain and repair. It makes a lot of strange noises. When it is hot outside and I brake quickly, there is a loud creaking sound at the front of the car. It sounds as though something shifts. As well, the front and rear brakes make crunching sound occasionally. Right now, I hear rattling under the hood. As soon as one problem is fixed, another one arises. As well, the car sounds like it will die when it comes to a stop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th January, 2002

8th Oct 2002, 07:09

The car dying out at junctions is a common problem, but have you checked the air filter or tuned it recently?

5th Jul 2004, 21:35

We have a 1993 Mazda MX3 that my wife drives back and forth to work 65 miles one way each day. The car has about 275,000 miles on it and up until now hadn't put anything into it except for regular maintenance. Car gets 40 MPG and has been paid for since 1996.

Sounds like the previous owner of your car didn't take very good care of it.

KL.

5th Mar 2008, 22:02

Simple as this ROUTINE MAINTENANCE. Or after market parts, make the choice.

1993 Mazda MX3 GS Special Edition 1.8L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Not worth the purchase

Faults:

Car started with a slight squeak in brakes with ended up having to get new rotors and pads. Cost of repair: $800.

Left CV axle was clicking which then ended up having to have both CV axles replaced. Cost of repair: $600.

Engine was idling uncontrollably from the range of 600-2200 RPM, which being a costly repair of having the air control motor and many other parts of the air intake replaced. Cost of repair: approx $2000.

Engine had a small leak which caused poor performance. Cost of repair: $1900.

General Comments:

When I first purchased this car, I loved it. It didn't seem like much was wrong with it, and to my dissatisfaction, everything was wrong with it.

Very fun car to drive, but VERY costly to repair from parts even to labor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th November, 2001

30th Jul 2002, 08:59

I do not see how it cost $800 to replace your brakes. Rotors for this car are $20 a piece and pads are $20 for front and back sets. That's $140 for parts. So you're telling us they charged you $460 in labor?

CV axles cost for replacement is about $450, it's a common problem on all cars.

"Engine was idling uncontrollably from the range of 600-2200 RPM, which being a costly repair of having the air control motor and many other parts of the air intake replaced. Cost of repair: approx $2000. "

The MX-3 doesn't have an air control motor. It has a Vane Air Flow sensor in the intake tube, its about $800.

"Engine had a small leak which caused poor performance. Cost of repair: $1900."

For a small leak to give you poor performance, it had to be a vacuum leak. $1900 is a bit high for a vacuum leak.

To be honest, I think your mechanic is way over charging you. I have two MX-3's myself and I love these cars. You acquired your car at high mileage and it was 11 years old. Did you think these cars would run perfect forever?

16th Jan 2014, 08:59

I had one years ago - revs going up and down like a yo-yo is probably the throttle body. The garage ripped me right off on a second had replacement one - over £1000, and I'm going back 10 years now.

16th Jan 2014, 23:39

A 1.8 liter V6, from the US? Mmm... better double check under the hood!

19th Jan 2014, 10:54

Indeed they were available with a 1.8L V6 engine in the US.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 40 reviews