1993 Mazda MX3 Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1993 Mazda MX3 GS 1.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

What an affordable V6 hot hatch!

Faults:

Broken CV joint had to be replaced at around 60k.

Engine oil had to be replenished even everything was checked to be OK!

General Comments:

This car is the perfect cop bait (mine is a red one), even when driven non-aggressively.

Nice look, nice exhaust sound, nice engine - too bad Mazda doesn't make it anymore.

I owned both 4-cyl and V6 model - get the V6 by all means, it's well worth the money.

The roof held in place exceptionally well even my MX-3 rolled over. (Yes, I crawled out from the rear hatch unhurt!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

25th May 2003, 20:53

The oil consumption could have been due to a leaking head gasket. This is a common problem with this engine.

1993 Mazda MX3 GS 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carMazda MX3

Faults:

So far I haven't had any problems. A few minor ones; like bottoming out. Besides that it runs great, and is very reliable.

General Comments:

This car handles great, and is excellent on gas. It's a cute little head turner. Black on Black... with black headlights and blue neons... it's nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2003

1993 Mazda MX3 GS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 kilometres
Most recent distance157000 kilometres
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Here is a potential Civic slayer..

Faults:

Seat warmer lights haven't worked since I have owned it.

Sticky sunroof... Have to use a little persuasion.

General Comments:

After installing front/rear upper strut/shock bars, it corners better than stock... way better...$240.

Cross drilled rotors front/rear w KVR brake pads really stop my car in a hurry. $1750.

Exhaust job - 2 3/8" stainless pipe, no resonator or cayaltic converter, to a performance muffler adds 12hp!! $245.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2002

1993 Mazda MX3 GS 1.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired78075 miles
Most recent distance85085 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Great choice for those who want something sporty yet different

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is perfect for those who wish to have something with good comfort, good gas mileage with some pep as well.

I drove this car to Boston. It handled road surfaces very well (with the exception of New York City, which is pothole riddled) while providing me in excess of 30 miles per gallon on the highway.

The seats are a bit flat for long rides, but overall comfort is good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2002

2nd Apr 2004, 08:01

02/04/2004 - As I live in England, there are not many pot holes, but the journey from Bedford to London and back again was both relaxing and comfortable (total = 100 miles) via the A1, M25 and M1, and I am planning to drive that car to Manchester.

Petrol in England is expensive, but if you refrain from racing (I don't bother because I know my car can kick it, except in exceptional circumstances, watch out all you Escort drivers) you can save on petrol. The journey from Bedford to London did use half a tank, but that's the same as my previous vehicle.

The seats to me, although low, are comfortable (they passed the moaning sister test; in her words "I feel safe in this car because the seats hold you) although there's not much room in the back, but firstly I'm in the front, so I'm not worried, and secondly the seats can fit two people or three children (my son loved the car). The seats are also warm, comfortable and the driver's side seats can be adjusted. And hey they hold you just right.

On a sunny day (yes, in England we have them sometimes) the Mazda MX3 is a joy to drive, and does get a lot of looks; the bodywork is definitely nicer than nice.

I'm glad they no longer produce this car, as I am obviously one of few of the MX3 lovers out there who have the opportunity to appreciate a fine vehicle like this.

See www.mx-3.com.

1993 Mazda MX3 1.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Loud red and fast little head turner!!

Faults:

Nothing so far. I have done no work to the car besides oil changes. I did need new tires after 50,000 miles. It will probably need new brakes soon, they are beginning to squeek on and off.

General Comments:

I love this car. It's cute, sporty, fast, and everyone loves it. The front seats are very comfortable they hold you in around fast corners! The back seats are small, but I noticed that before purchasing it and they are also bucket so they give added leg room. I love the fold down seat, it's amazing how much you can fit back there! The car also drives very well in snow. The style makes the car look newer than it is, most people think it's much newer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2002

6th Jun 2003, 12:11

Probably to late for the original poster, but anyone else reading this, if your brakes squeal, it's probably just an annoying noise and nothing else (have them checked of course just in case). They just do that on this car sometimes. I've had my rotors turned, pads replaced, they still squeak (started around 35k miles, now at 93k miles on same rotors)... it's slightly annoying, but nothing really to be done about it, I've heard that replacing them doesn't help either, they just have that tendency to squeal. The saving grace though is (at least on mine) they can't be heard inside the car with the windows up. (Maybe if I turned EVERYTHING off inside (fan, radio), dunno, but under normal conditions I'd never know). Have had the car since I bought it new off the lot (4 miles), it's been a wonder, a few minor repairs, and a bit high on scheduled maintenance, otherwise completely reliable, and has never left me stranded (even after doing over $22,000 in damages to it over the years, I'm amazed it hasn't picked up and left me on it's own at this point).

Chris.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 40 reviews