1989 Mazda MX6 Reviews - Page 2 of 8

1989 Mazda MX6 GT 4WS 2.2 INJ turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 INJ turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

The car is getting old, but I own it and would be sad to sell it to some idiot, thus I don't wish to

Faults:

Alternator.

Battery.

Recently replaced the head, (semi recon),as I upset the valves doing burnouts... works fine now.

Replaced gearbox as it was slipping out of 5th.

General Comments:

Very responsive car.

Great for interstate drives.

Loves the open roads.. great for overtaking trucks and the like with no fuss.

4ws is a great advantage for quick manoeuvres and hilly drives, and parking.

I've had the car for 6 years, and it has been a pleasant experience.

Surprises a lot of people as they are becoming rare and people don't know what the car is... LOL.

The interior is still in good condition; slight paint defects, but still an outstanding eye catcher.

Was bought for AUSD $5000 and believe it would sell (if) for $5000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2008

1989 Mazda MX6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance247500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W116

Summary:

This is an economical, reliable, easy to work on, great car

Faults:

In the last 12 months the valves started ticking. The radiator got a hole. The clutch got really worn and sometimes the pedal sticks.

General Comments:

Great car. In 8 years of ownership I only had to replace the alternator and starter, all work done by myself. The A/C had lost the free on about three years ago, but I never had it repaired. I thought first of selling it since I also own a 1970 Mercedes 250 C and a recently acquired 2000 Mercedes E 320, but I'm now seriously considering to rebuild whatever is necessary and keep this great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2007

1989 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2 turbo from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

Good as sliced bread

Faults:

Drive axles, alternator, battery, window switches, timing belt, and water pump.

Just minor problems that come with age.

General Comments:

This has been the best car I ever owned. If I could buy a new one I would. Runs like a scalded cat on regular and gets 29-30 mpg on freeway. No engine or transmission problems. It is extremely comfortable for me even on long trips. Been in 2 accidents, patched up and kept on going. Looks pretty tough, but it truly is the Energiser Bunny. Am looking for another one with a better body, but they are hard to find. My advice is if you see one in pretty good shape, BUY IT. Better yet let me know about it and I'll buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2006

9th Nov 2007, 16:01

If you want to keep enjoying your car, NEVER put in regular gas, or if you like the regular gas, it's good to buy some american car from the 80s.

Regards.

1989 Mazda MX6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Strictly Reliable Transportation

Faults:

I replaced the oxygen sensor, the neutral safety switch, and had something crack that was letting too much air into the motor. These were all fairly cheap fixes though. I have to help the electric sunroof open by pushing with my hand. The heater and A/C stopped working. It is beginning to shift roughly. It does have over 180000 miles though.

General Comments:

When I bought the car, it was 14 years old and I got it for $500. It had been wrecked, the driver's door was crunched. The paint on the car is terrible, really flat and no shine. This may be from the previous owner not taking care of it. The car runs great and is very reliable to start even in below freezing temperatures.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2005

1989 Mazda MX6 LX 2.2L 4 cylinder SOHC from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 cylinder SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles

Summary:

Love

Faults:

My head gasket had to be replaced at 112,000 miles.

The four-speed automatic transmission had to be replaced after 7 years.

Entire exhaust system had to be replaced after 11 years.

Radiator had to be replaced after 11 years.

Heater-Core hose had to be replaced after 15 years.

Oil pump had to be replaced after 16 years.

Oil screen had to be removed and cleaned after 16 years.

Oil Pan gasket had to be replaced after 16 years.

Passenger seat belt clip latch had to be replaced after 11 years.

Starter had to be replaced after 16 years.

General Comments:

This care handles curves better than any vehicle I have ever driven.

The acceleration, while not awe-inspiring, is adequate.

However, the top end speed of this car is absolutely phenomenal and would give any performance car a run for it's money.

Despite any mechanical problem, this car has always been road-worthy, and will be drivable no matter what is wrong with it.

The weight distribution, torque, and ground clearance will allow this car to go places no other passenger car, or even light trucks, will go.

The fuel economy is average, nothing to save a penny, or waste one in the gas tank.

The interior is very spacious and caters to the very tall, with head and leg room to spare.

The seats along with the spacious interior make this car comfortable no matter where one sits within it.

The trunk space is incredible and can hold almost anything one could buy in a retail store.

The view of the road is great, with very minimal blind spots.

The steering wheel is large and easy to grip.

The grip of the steering wheel makes it very easy to control this car.

While the stock paint is fading, there is no rust anywhere on this vehicle.

The interior cloth is still in showroom condition after 16 years of being rough with it.

Upgrading the sound system in this car is a must.

Upgrading the sound system in this car is very easy to do in comparison to other vehicles.

Customizing this vehicle with new paint, body accessories, ground effects, or after market modifications under the hood is very easy to do.

The timing belt on this car is still the original.

The timing on the car is very sensitive, and if it is off even slightly it becomes very noticeable.

The longevity of this vehicle has convinced me it is impossible to kill it, no matter how rough you drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

10th Dec 2005, 16:13

I'm living in the Netherlands and I have also a MX-9 imported from America and it is perfect, looks and drives like a new car.

Greets Jan.

23rd Dec 2005, 03:22

It would be more helpful to know how many miles were on the car than to know the number of years before something broke. A car sitting around most of the time would last a lot longer than a car driven five hundred miles a day.

20th May 2007, 23:58

Most comfortable to drive car I've ever had. And I've driven luxury and sports cars. Feels great. Kicks butt. Say no more...

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 32 reviews