1989 Mazda MX6 Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1989 Mazda MX6 2.2 liter 4 cylinder 12 valve from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter 4 cylinder 12 valve Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance117800 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

It's been a great car and I've gotten my money's worth

Faults:

I have replaced the timing belt, the alternator, replaced the transmission fluid and filter, new brakes all around, and a section of the exhaust pipe.

Recently gave it a complete tune-up. It still had the original distributor rotor... no thanks to Precision Tune.

General Comments:

This car has been THE BEST CAR I have ever had. Only once has it not started for me... last summer when we had a heat wave - 105 - and the 8 year old Sears Die-Hard battery died-hard.

I drove to Florida and back home to Oregon, and the car was awesome. And that was at 90,000 miles! I do wish it had a little more power but I guess that keeps me out of trouble.

Current problem is the hydraulic lifters... one or two in particular. I now use 20-50 Valvoline but still get the obnoxious ticking sound... sometimes especially loud at the drive up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2001

9th Feb 2005, 04:20

A Full 250,000 miles completed in my 1989 MX6 here in Kuwait before I parted with it last week. The BEST & MOST RELIABLE I have ever had.

Purchased it from the Sales Manager of the Mazda Dealer at 8,000 miles and have never had any major problem.

Only major work done was having the motor rebuilt at 75,000 miles.

Road Holding: Fantastic, even at 120 mph

No Overheating: Ambient temp in Kuwait is >120 F

Electrics/Components: Never Failed (incl. lamps that were Factory installed)

Wait for the day that other manufacturers could come out Quality equal or better than this.

1989 Mazda MX6 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired225000 miles
Most recent distance291000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

Great bargain as a used car

Faults:

Original clutch replaced at 215,000.

Original water pump replaced at 280,000.

Original alternator replaced at 270,000.

HLA's replaced at 270,000.

General Comments:

Very reliable. Constantly replacing parts store CV joints and alternators. Buy Genuine Mazda parts if you can afford them. Creeping up on 300,000 and still getting 30 MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th May, 2001

7th Jul 2001, 22:11

How do you find the power, acceleration and reliability after switching to a MX6 from a Park Avenue? I can relate to your situation and your comments could help in choosing a new-used vehicle.

27th Sep 2001, 21:20

A GT would have no problem keeping up with a Park Avenue, so don't worry.

29th Oct 2001, 09:37

Did you do something to the car? Because I've got one and sure don't get 30 mpg. Although it runs great.

Also my digital dash does not work, does anyone else have this problem? Suggestions?

1989 Mazda MX6 DX from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

The best car I ever owned

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I was hesitant to buy this car because it was between this one and a Prelude. I chose this one because it was cheaper. It was the best decision I have ever made. This car has never given me a problem.

Also, even with 151,000 miles on it, I managed to crank it up to 130 miles per hour, and it purred like a kitten. I have only replaced the alternator on it when it reached 130,000 miles, and I needed to replace the muffler. I have yet to replace the timing belt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2001

16th Jul 2001, 17:31

Replace the timing belt before its to late!!!

1989 Mazda MX6 LX from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

An 89 MX6 with a manual transmission is a wonderful used car choice

Faults:

Turn signal relay.

Radio liquid crystal.

General Comments:

Simply the best car I've ever owned... still drives like a champ and rides well with the new struts.. the engine and transmission have another 100,000 in them... I can feel it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2000

1989 Mazda MX6 DX 2.2 L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

This car is the best car I have ever owned

Faults:

Nothing major, just normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

This car is wonderful. Styling might not be the best, but the reliability is outstanding. I plan to keep this car until the wheels fall off it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2000

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 32 reviews