1991 Mazda MX6 Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1991 Mazda MX6 DX 2.2L OHC 4 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2L OHC 4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired178000 miles
Most recent distance198500 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

Absolute Bargain and Fun To Drive

Faults:

Starter replaced at 196,000.

Exhaust pipe replaced at 198,000.

General Comments:

I bought this little gem from my brother for $300. to use as a spare vehicle. I have become a very avid MX-6 fan during my brief ownership. It's a blast to drive; quick for a non-turbo. The transmission is especially good with well spaced gear ratios and butter smooth shifts. The engine has a lot of low end torque which makes constant gear-changing unnecessary. The seat fits me well and doesn't hurt my weak back. My car is the stripped down version which helps the acceleration since it's a lighter car with few options. Gas mileage is great with 34mpg on the highway. I like it so much I just found and bought another one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2006

1991 Mazda MX6 LX 2.2 Regularly Asperated from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Regularly Asperated Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance255000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Best I've ever owned

Faults:

I've had to replace one CV joint, the driver side window switch, and the radiator all once the car was above 200K!!!

General Comments:

I got this car as something cheap to get me by until I could get a newer car, but I've kept it for many miles beyond what I'd planned because it hasn't cost me anything to drive! The insurance is cheap, with the manual I'm averaging 34mpg, and it really does do 0-60 in 7.4 seconds. I have cold air intake and a cat back exhaust system that have increased the performance, but it's a quick little car. The car now has 250,000 miles on it, it's still running and driving great, and all the major parts are still original, engine, transmission, etc. If you see an MX-6 out there, PICK IT UP!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2006

6th Nov 2010, 21:21

I agree with your comment. I purchased my 1991 Mazda MX6 new, 2.2 F.I. non turbo 4 cyl. Manual transmission, and it has over 300,000 miles on it. Vehicle is still going strong. I am currently doing minor upgrades to keep the car going strong and looking good!

1991 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2L SOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2L SOHC turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Surprises many people.

Faults:

The only thing that has gone "wrong" with my MX6 so far is that the low windshield washer fluid light is stuck on.

Other than that, just a rust hole in the trunk. This could have been prevented.

General Comments:

A general comment to make about this car is "Hold on!". Once it reaches about 3000 rpm's the steering wheel wants to rip itself right out of your hands.

I am a little surprised with the gas mileage. I expected it to be a little better. But, this doesn't even come close to offsetting its positive assets.

The electronically adjustable suspension is great on "soft" for cruising or on "sport" for fast cornering. In my opinion this is second only to the turbocharged engine when it comes to options for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2004

14th Aug 2005, 18:59

My boyfriend drives a mazda Mx6 1991 and honestly I have to say now that it has reached 150,000 miles it is ready to just give up and die. along with everything breaking down and being more than expensive to fix to find parts that you really need for this car it is IMPOSSIBLE. I would really like if I can be helped in finding a tail light for the drivers side. e-mail is Breathingintune@hotmail.com.

14th Sep 2005, 21:15

I have a 91 MX6 bare bones model and it has 310,000kms on it, yes, I'm from Canada. It has always started no matter how cold it is even in -40 celsius and it's not plugged in. The only repairs that I made in the two years I've had it are basic maintenance, nothing more. She drives so smooth you'd never know the mileage or the age just from feel. I'm looking at buying another, but moving up a trim level or two.

5th Dec 2006, 18:16

I have a Maxda GT that I have owned since new. Has 246,00 miles and goes like a rocket still. Interestingly, my low washer light also came on and will not go away. It is fun to drive, just averaged 29 MPG from Miami to Atlanta doing 75 to 80 the whole way. I can't bear to get rid of it. Replacing the adjustable struts, by the way, is a $1200 shock.

12th Apr 2009, 09:26

Years later, and I'll add to it. I just picked up an MX-6, not sure if it's LX or DX (how can you tell?), but the windshield washer fluid light is stuck on in it too. Must be some issue they have.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 24 reviews