1991 Mazda MX6 Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1991 Mazda MX6 LX 2.2 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carMazda Millenia

Summary:

It is an in-expensive sports car: very comfortable, blast to drive, and handles as if on rails

Faults:

Moon roof tilt mechanism failed.

Driver's side power window motor failed.

Moon roof seal leaks under air pressure in a car wash, but does not leak in a heavy rain!

Left front CV boot cracked.

General Comments:

It is a roomy for a sports car.

It offers great fuel economy, 27 to 33 MPG.

It is comfortable on the interstate, or around town.

It is very dependable, with low cost of operation, and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2003

1991 Mazda MX6 DX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

It's simply a great car for a low price.

Faults:

So far not much at all. I have only had to replace the driver side CV Boot and the Valve Cover Gasket. The total of all my repair dose not exceed $100.00.When you consider that I only paid $1,800.00 for this car that's not bad.

General Comments:

The exterior of the car still looks great.

It starts every time with no problem at all.

Even though it's a 2.2 with a automatic transmition it will still beat any "neon street racer". Especially when I flip the power economy button to Power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2002

1991 Mazda MX6 LX 2.2 Non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired184000 miles
Most recent distance192085 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Reliable and fun!!

Faults:

Just normal maintenance- brakes, tires, etc...

General Comments:

I paid $300 for this car and it is the best investment I've ever made. It's snappy, comfortable, handles excellent and happily carries me the 850 miles that I drive it every week. The car runs excellent, despite the mileage, and I don't see any major problems with it in the future. I recommend a MX-6 to anybody looking for something fun and reliable to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2002

1991 Mazda MX6 DX 2.2 Non turbo 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Non turbo 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A good value for the money

Faults:

Most recently, the automatic transmission will not shift into any gear. The "hold" light is flashing.

General Comments:

It's been a great car, very reliable and economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th March, 2002

6th May 2002, 17:31

Owned my 1991 since new. 255,000 kms(150,000 to 160,000 miles). Uses oil to small degree. 5 speed transmission, no problems. have rain leak into the right side rear truck, believe to be running in from rear deck and down through taillight area. Problems with the power windows sticking in the down position. A quick solution is to spray a lubricant on the window at front and rear edges. This allows the window free movement up and down. I use Armoural. Overall, I have been pleased with the car and will continue to maintain it and pass it on to my kids, who want it right now.

1991 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2 turbo-Intercooled from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo-Intercooled Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

$2,000 bucks well spent for cheap performance

Faults:

Broke a half-shaft.

Hit a deer (not the cars fault)

Fan won't work on 2 and 3 and a/c only works on 1 (although it worked fine when I bought it)

Uncontrollable sputter, fixed by putting new plugs and wires in.

General Comments:

This car is fast, handles like a dream, hooks wonderfully off the line.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2002

1991 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2 turbo-intercooled from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo-intercooled Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

A great deal for $2000

Faults:

Busted a half-shaft on this one and my previous MX-6, coincidence?

Clumsy friend = cigarette burns.

General Comments:

Handling is awesome if you upgrade the tires, the stockies are worthless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

1991 Mazda MX6 LX from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carMercury Tracer

Summary:

Fast fun car which is very reliable and well worth whatever money you spend on it!

Faults:

There was a leak in the oil pan soon after I bought the car, but it was fixed under warranty, and would have been cheap to fix anyway.

Seat belts are very worn out.

Paint has chipped a little.

Radio died.

General Comments:

This is a very good car!

If I could buy any car I wanted for my next car, I would definitely buy another MX6.

It is a very quick little car and the handling is excellent as well.

Previously I owned a mercury tracer (which is the sister car to Ford's Escort) and the difference between the two was absolutely incredible.

Mine was a 5-speed manual transmission, and the transmission was always perfect.

I think that the 5-speed model has more pick up and is faster in general than the automatic, as I test drove models with both transmissions.

Gas mileage was incredible! I drive short distances, but I drive all the time, and $12 filled the tank and lasted over a week.

This car has oscillating fans, which was definitely a great feature!

My only major complaint about this car was that the radio/tape player died days after I bought the car, and the size of it is awkward, making it difficult to buy a CD player that will fit it without a kit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 24 reviews