1991 Mazda MX6 Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1991 Mazda MX6 GT Turbo 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired230220 kilometres
Most recent distance230266 kilometres
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

A killer bargain for the 500$ I payed for it

Faults:

When I bought the car, the transmission was gone in it. The E-Brake was disconnected and rear rotors and all brake pads were worn down to nothing.

General Comments:

The car hadn't been running in over 4 months, but yet started like it just rolled off the assembly line. Now that is reliability. And it handles like a dream and runs smoother than than most new cars I have drove.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2004

15th May 2004, 11:33

HI I love my MX6 GT TURBO can I get some help to get more zoom zoom out of it. Please.jloewensteinjr@yahoo.com

5th Nov 2004, 23:28

I have one too and it's very fast. It's a turbo.

1991 Mazda MX6 LX 2.2 I4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 I4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles

Summary:

A sporty car with attractive looks and outstanding reliability

Faults:

CV joints went out at 150,000 miles.

A/C needed recharge after 175,000 miles.

Clutch was replaced at 150,000 miles.

The motor has burned a small amount of oil since day 1.

The timing belt has been replaced twice, each time at 100,000 mile intervals.

Both power window regulators and switches were replaced at 200,000 miles.

General Comments:

My MX6 has shown outstanding reliability over the course of 13 years with little else than routine maintenance.

It is a quick, nimble little car when mated with the 5 speed manual transmission, and is fun to drive.

It makes for a fun daily driver or weekend car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2004

1991 Mazda MX6 DX 2.2L, non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L, non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired202000 miles
Most recent distance248561 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Great daily driver or first sports car

Faults:

I have had to replace the rotor button 2 or 3 times. I've replaced the drive side cv-axle (passenger side of car), the front brake pads and rotors, and the starter.

The paint was already faded when I purchased the car. Other than that, it has ran fine and had exceeded my expectations.

General Comments:

Lots of bottom-end power.

Great fun in the snow (pulling e-brake and sliding around corners).

Handles good at high speeds (100+)

Fogs up easily.

Raced and beaten many Honda's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2003

1991 Mazda MX6 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance296000 kilometres

Summary:

Timeless sports coupe

Faults:

The car burned a little bit of oil since the day I bought it. It got worse over time and I wasn't happy with it. So I rebuilt the entire engine, new clutch, new rings, head job etc and that took care of that.

Had to replace the rotors once, they just wore out over time.

The paint is starting to fade a lot, but I park it outside and it's exposed to all sorts of weather.

General Comments:

This car has been so reliable! (knock on wood) It's got great performance, good gas mileage, very low maintenance, and a very sporty look to it.

I've put tons of money into it over the years, but it's all been to improve the overall look/performance of it IE 16 inch mags, cat back exhaust system, rebuilt engine, high performance clutch, new suspension, 1000 watt stereo etc.

For a car that's 12 years old, it can still turn heads and keep up with the best of them.

All I can say is if you take care of the car (regular oil changes etc), it'll run for years!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2003

1991 Mazda MX6 LX 2.2 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Dependable, but not boring

Faults:

Exhaust cracked shortly after purchasing car, was an easy fix costing me only $40 for the part I installed myself in less than an hour.

Had some kind of fuzz in the distributer when I purchased it, making it act like it was skipping at times, not sure what caused it, this problem was a leftover from the previous owner.

Transmission shifted rough from second to third (automatic transmission). Never located the problem. This problem never resulted in any kind of trouble, it was just an annoyance.

General Comments:

Car was very reliable, got good mileage (around 30 mpg). Never had any serious problems. Operated well even after 150,000 miles.

Body held up well even during harsh NY winters. Interior was also well built and showed little wear.

Car was not overly fast, but rather brisk, and handled above average.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2003

25th Dec 2004, 20:39

I totally agree with how you said that " the Car was not overly fast, but rather brisk, and handled above average." I like the way you said that and I agree. I don't feel invincible when I am in it, but if I get in a Jam I know I will be o.k. Very well said.

-Jordyn.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 24 reviews