1994 Mazda MX6 Reviews - Page 4 of 8

1994 Mazda MX6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Faults:

Hi, I just bought an MX-6 Mazda 4 cylinder engine, with just over 100K miles.

The paint sucks, but I'm gonna paint it.

I had the transmission oil filter changed because the transmission light kept turning on. It's stopped, but now there are problems with the transmission. Once I get it over 90mph, the speedometer goes to 0mph, and the infamous HOLD button on the display blinks. It also neutralizes when going up a hill or a gentle rise on the road. I quickly shift into neutral and then back to Drive and it grabs gears,... Any help pps?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th September, 2007

13th Oct 2007, 18:10

I am going through the same thing, but I do the speed limit and it still happens. I am scared that if I speed and it kicks itself into 3rd gear -like it does when the Hold Light comes on - the transmission will fall out on the road. Really, what is it's problem?

1994 Mazda MX6 2.5 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

A love/hate relationship, mostly hate

Faults:

The car is dead sexy to look at, and it draws comments everywhere it goes. That is, when it goes! Entry and egress are a bit difficult, but not too imposing, and once inside the leather seats are supportive and comfortable.

Those are the good points. The bad points are many!

The leather seats wore out fairly early. The leather door insert was soon to follow. The brakes squeal constantly, sometimes louder than other times. For a sporty car it takes a long time to stop. The trans is nothing, but a quagmire; it requires way too much maintenance and rebuilding at an early age. The shifter is a hunk of crap and will get caught between gears. It eats batteries. The paint's clearcoat flakes off all over, requiring annual repaints. And worst of all, the thirsty V6 barfs out gaskets at the drop of a hat! It is expensive getting them replaced all the time.

So why did I keep this car so long? I've got so much time and money in it that I have to keep it in order to recoup my investment. I wish I had never seen this car!

General Comments:

Good to look at, but I wish I'd never seen this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2006

8th Aug 2007, 21:13

How can you say running costs is 1? You are saying its one of the most expensive cars to run... in the world?

27th Feb 2008, 11:19

Should've got a manual insteal of your slushbox auto.

1994 Mazda MX6 LS 2.5L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Good, maybe 5 speed would be better

Faults:

Well car was excellent except it really leaked a lot of oil. then again it might be from user abuse. Tranny went @ exactly 160000.

General Comments:

I loved this car it was very comftorable and ran really well. I wrecked it twice, so it really was durable. Traction in the snow wasn't the best, but very good in rain. If tranyn didn't go I would still have it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2006

1994 Mazda MX6 LS 2.5 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired144000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles

Summary:

You'll fall in love with this car

Faults:

Rear brakes have locked up.

General Comments:

This car is amazing with curves.

It looks very modern even though it's 12 years old. It's so much fun to drive and you look cool doing it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2006

1994 Mazda MX6 LS 2.5 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 kilometres
Most recent distance164000 kilometres

Summary:

One word that sums this car up is "unique"

Faults:

Alternator replaced at 162000km.

Clutch flex hose replaced at 163000km.

Infinitesimal leak in the oil pan gasket (can replace yourself)

Ticking noise in the engine (due to slippage between the exhaust-camshaft driven gear and friction gear), but not a major concern.

Vibration due to low idle speed (can be adjusted)

Right front tie rod will be replaced this summer.

General Comments:

This car is a great performance car, especially if it's your first.

Gas mileage is fairly good (approximately 28mpg in the city and 34mpg on the highway).

The LS model provides leather bucket seats, which are very comfortable and hold you well on turns.

Acceleration is brilliant (I've smoked many preludes and newer sporty cars)

There are a few maintenance costs in the long run, but they are all minor and affordable.

In addition, you can fix many things yourself, it's only when you get engine problems that you take it in because it is really tightly packed and hard to work on. However, many sports cars have that inconvenience and should be accepted.

Overall, this car is the cream of the crop. This is my first car and I'm in love with it as it satisfies my need for speed any day, looks great (gold color), and is really comfortable inside. Despite the lack of room in the rear, this car still has more rear room that a lot of cars I looked at before buying it (for example Dodge Stealth). The LS model offers great leather interior and an awesome stereo system that comes with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2006

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 32 reviews