1994 Mazda MX6 Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1994 Mazda MX6 LS 2.5 KL from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 KL Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

Great car as long as you are fairly mechanically inclined!

Faults:

New timing belt $750.

2 New CV joints and new half-shaft.

New starter.

New alternator.

A/C condenser.

New Engine at 135,000 miles (2 weeks after timing belt change) --ba.

Leather interior shot--replaced interior.

Windshield cracked.

Rear brake calipers froze--new rotors, calipers, and pads.

General Comments:

We bought this car on E-bay for only $700 for a 16 year old. It had been sitting for months unused.

We did all the work ourselves (after timing belt), parts can be tough to find, but for the most part assembly is fairly easy.

It's a lot of car for a 16 year old. I'd love to trade him for it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2006

1994 Mazda MX6 RS 2.0 liter from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

I think that the MX-6 is a car worth looking around for, too bad they were discontinued

Faults:

-Brakes had to be done, new rotors and pads in the front, and new rotors calipers and pads in the back... the back calipers had ceased...180,000km.

-EGR valve was starting to act up... not a big deal though at the time

General Comments:

This car was great... for the time I had it... it got crushed in a rock slide... long story...but when I had this car it was great in the snow, I drove up to a ski hill everyday with it, mind you I put good snow tires on it... the ABS worked well, and the car was so sleek and looked newer than a 94...and the 4 cylinder engine was good on gas and was still very peppy.

- The stock sound system for 94 was also pretty impressive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2006

1994 Mazda MX6 LS V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles

Summary:

I loved this car

Faults:

Muffler @ 40,000 miles.

Water pump @ 49,000 miles.

Battery @ 50,000.

Locks @ 79,000 miles, key broke off in driver's side door, other locks froze.

Struts @ 82,000 miles.

Exhaust and Resonator @ 100,000 miles.

Distributor cap and rotor @ 105,000 miles.

Tie Rod Ends @ 110,000 miles.

Power antenna was also replaced.

Spark plug wires on this vehicle had to be replaced relatively often.

General Comments:

I got this vehicle in 1999 when it had 25,000 miles on it. I drove it until February 2005 when it reached 117,000 miles. I'd still be driving it now if it wasn't totaled in an accident.

I'd like to find another MX-6 to replace it. I loved this car. I tried to keep it well-maintained inside and out and wanted to get to at least 150,000 miles.

Parts were expensive and there were small things that needed replaced, but it drove like a dream... even with over 100,000 miles.

The body design seemed well ahead of it's time. Trying to find a different model in the same price range (from 1994-1997) that looks as good as the MX-6 is impossible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

1994 Mazda MX6 LS. 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

This car is a tuner's dream

Faults:

My previous Mx6 needed a new thermostat at 140,000 miles.

Due to poor up keep I blew the head gasket as well, due to overheating which was caused by the faulty thermostat.

This car, as well as every other MX6 I've seen is missing the 2nd cup holder which should be found in the center storage area.

General Comments:

The problems found on my old car were due to driver's error. They were not caused by the manufacturer.

I sold the old 4 cylinder model for parts and bought another 1994 MX6 V6 equipped with a 5 speed transmission which has nearly half the miles on it.

In general, this is a superb car and is quick, comfortable, and experiences very little body roll due to a great suspension.

The aftermarket exhaust sounds nice and deep, not like the noise that exits a civic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2004

1994 Mazda MX6 LX 2.5L V^ from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L V^ Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired145 kilometres
Most recent distance150 kilometres

Summary:

Amazing look and ride, but too expensive parts and gas guzzler (v6)

Faults:

Well, I love the way this car looks. BUT reality is I BOUGHT A LEMON. Its auto. AND THE TRANSMISSION IS GONE! It will cost me $1000 to put a new one with no guarantee it will run for another 10,000km. I am disappointed, but only paid $5700 so not too depressed. I am going to look for another one, but possibly in standard! I'm so sad to see her go! Oh, and the power windows switch went, the driver door lock is crap. V6 ENGINE, 160 hp stock, but A GAS GUZZLER! (stupid automatic)

General Comments:

LOVE THE LOOK! Come on, it looks like a 2000 model. The body is so slick. The quality of the ride is amazing, so smooth... except that stupid jerking transmission I have!!! The car is a dream. I want to buy another. Just not a lemon this time. If you want to share your opinions with me, email me maria3893@sympatico.ca.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2003

31st Aug 2003, 10:14

The automatic transmissions are prone to go out in all 93-97 MX6/626/Probes. Have an aftermarket transmission cooler installed after your transmission is repaired or replaced, and keep on top of the maintenance of the transmission (filter and fluid changes) and it should last you a long time. Come check out www.mx6.com sometime.

Jason - North Carolina.

18th Jul 2008, 06:37

Sadly, the auto transmission was a Ford experiment in which the unit was constructed entirely of pressed cardboard. The Mazda forums are rife with horror stories...

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 32 reviews