1994 Mazda MX6 Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1994 Mazda MX6 LS 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carJeep CJ7

Summary:

Good

Faults:

EGR valve went out during a car trip. Other than that, it is fast and great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2000

1994 Mazda MX6 Manual 2.5 V6 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance123000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Monza

Summary:

Best looking coupe on the road

Faults:

Just general things like I serviced the alternator and replaced the timing belt.

General Comments:

Excellent car, people really underestimate these cars because they read fake performance fiqures in magazines. The only you do to a MX6 is Cols air intake and N filter and a good dynotune, and watch that baby pull.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2000

7th Sep 2001, 06:22

I would be interested to know what mods you carried out to the aircleaner etc. Please drop me a line.

Gordon (SA) logoland@yahoo.com.

4th Aug 2009, 00:27

I am an MX6 cowboy. I live in Benoni South Africa. I own a red 1994 MX6 with replaced j spec klze 200hp engine with performance chip, cold air K&N intake & performance branches, 50 wet shot NOS to be installed shortly, so there are many performance mods for the MX6 cars.

1994 Mazda MX6 LS 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Definitely a high performance sexy car!

Faults:

The AC had to be looked at and that's it.

General Comments:

Even though it's a '94, it looks like a new car, never looks out of date. It handles great and is a dream to drive. I love it and wish when this one finally dies that I could just buy another one!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2000

24th Jan 2003, 12:55

I want to know how much money it takes to service this car.

1st Dec 2003, 18:18

I own a Mazda MX6 94 and it has some transmission problems, can you tell me if you know of this happening in any past Mazda cars.

2nd Feb 2006, 20:06

Yes, I have a 94 mazda mx6, and it has transmission problems - especially shifting from first to second. Luckily I drove the car enough in the first thirty days (bought it used with 56000 miles in 2005) to break the already old transmission, and it was rebuilt for free under dealership warranty. But it remains exceptionally easy for gears to grind in a 1-2 shift.

8th Apr 2006, 12:44

I was wondering what the relationship is between the MX6 and the Probe?

21st May 2008, 01:36

Gears grinding in 1-2... previous comment...

I did find that when I first learned to drive this car, that some of the gears were kinda sketchy, and it seemed like sometimes when I put it into gear a little to the left, or right rather than straight in it would grind a little bit... but I have owned this car for almost 2 years now, and I find the shifting flawless... downshifting however was perfect except for 3 down to 2nd, but after changing the tranny fluid, I was able to downshift from 3rd to second at 80-85kmh perfectly... and it sounded good doing it too!

1994 Mazda MX6 Auto 2.5i V6 petrol from South Africa

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 2.5i V6 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

The cluster of switches for the electric windows failed mechanically and cost ZAR 1300, - (=USD 200,-) to replace with no guarantee! The rubber seal around the drivers window leaks. Vibrations are present despite numerous attempts at wheel balancing.

General Comments:

A great car to drive on long trips. Fuel efficiency is not great but the looks make up for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 1999

6th Sep 2001, 06:47

The MX6 in general rules! It has everything you could ever want in a car and more.

7th Sep 2001, 21:23

I'm driving a 1993 Mazda MX6 V6 Mystere, 126000 kms. I've had the car for just over a year and a half, bought the car at 107000. Up to date, this is by far one of the most enjoyable cars to drive. No major repairs done, only standard maintenance. Timing belt cost $550cnd.

1994 Mazda MX6 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

At 53,000 got left and right cv joints fixed. The car makes one big click sound when I make either a left or right. It still makes this sound even after the cv joints were fixed.

General Comments:

If you buy this car weekly gas bills aren't bad. Air runs great. Clean car - very sleek and sexy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

1994 Mazda MX6 Mystere 2.0i 16v petrol from North America

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Dashboard main PCB shorted out on bent support in dash @1,000 miles, fixed under warranty. Exhaust hole (possible due to hitting a rock) @35 months old, fixed under warranty. Battery failed after 40 months (after 3 Canadian winters). Tie-end rod loose after 65,000km, fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Performance is somewhat better than the manufacturer's 118bhp would suggest. Very comfortable for long trips, though very little room in the back. Running costs pretty low average 35mpg around town and up to 44mpg on long trips - even with 4 adults and average of 80mph. Handles like it's on rails. Always starts 1st time, even on days when it is -25C. Servicing costs pretty low, minor service is Can$39, intermediate is Can$65, semi-major is Can$110 and major around Can$200 depending on parts required. Dealer is very customer oriented. Most fun car I've ever owned. Still feels like new after almost 4 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 1997

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 32 reviews