2004 Mazda RX8 Reviews - Page 6 of 14

2004 Mazda RX8 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Don't Buy It!

Faults:

They put a new engine in the car after the first year that I had it. Now the engine has died, and they told me it needs another new engine. Mazda said at first that they'd pay for the engine, but that I would have to pay labor costs totalling $2,000. So, in the meantime, I have a rental car mounting the costs.

General Comments:

This was my dream car. It has everything I want--roomy inside and in the trunk. The radio, CD player, climate control knobs all in a comfortable range. And the service departments in both places that I would go to were the best--great people. But I no longer have any faith in Mazda or their reputation. There is only one phone number to contact them with, and I was denied talking to their representatives. So, evidently, they want you to buy their expensive cars and then wash their hands of you. To me a company is only as good as their product--and they evidently have a faulty product. I regret the day I bought the car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2007

26th Sep 2007, 03:06

You should have sent a letter to MNAO aka. mazda headquarters. Remember redlining an automatic transmission takes miles and years off your shelf life. Your torque converter will go, transmission fluid will turn black, and what not.

2004 Mazda RX8 rotary from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission rotary Don't Know
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles

Summary:

A piece of junk

Faults:

Rock pierced air condietioner, clutch, bearings, navigation system, flooding over and over.

General Comments:

Piece of crap, always in the shop. Dealer says he has not had problems with any other Mazda Rx8's. Beautiful to look at, a dream to drive, a monster to keep out of the shop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2007

2004 Mazda RX8 touring rotary from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission rotary Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carChevrolet blazer

Summary:

Unreliable and company does not stand behind product

Faults:

Clutch assembly came apart at 21,000 miles.

General Comments:

Clutch assembly disintegrated at 21,000 miles. The repair bill was $1500 which Mazda will not cover under warranty. Said it was normal wear and tear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2006

29th Dec 2006, 22:21

Can you please tell about the real aspects of this car, as I am looking into buying one second hand.

30th Dec 2006, 11:47

The #1 thing with these cars to be aware of is their abyssmal gas mileage. Even though it is a small car and has a relatively small engine, you will be getting V8 mileage.

23rd Jan 2007, 20:18

Handling and braking are great. Gas consumption is bad. Reliability and quality is sub-par.

20th Apr 2007, 02:02

True, a 1.6 liter Civic can't match the RX-8's performance. But a 3.5 liter G35, 2.7 liter Boxster, 4.6 liter Mustang, 6.0 liter Vette, 2.0 liter Sky Redline, 2.5 liter WRX STI, or 2.0 liter S2000 probably can... and get better mileage, too!

26th Sep 2007, 03:12

Moving from a blazer to a sports car is normal to be a little brutal to the clutch. Are you sure you don't have a non commital clutch foot? I have a tendency to let it rev to 4,000 before letting it engage.

2004 Mazda RX8 rotary from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission rotary Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

Beautiful car, but a lemon

Faults:

Not one of the four recalls was done to this car.

The transmission was replaced just 4 weeks after I bought the car. The car was missing a lot of parts that should have been there like the engine cover and driver side inner fender. All this I discovered after I bought the car. I went back to the dealer to try to get the items, he said that's what happens when you buy a used car. This used car was $25,000, total after taxes $36,000. I do agree it's my fault for placing trust in the salesmen and the dealer. I love the look and drive of the Mazda RX8 but yesterday the same transmission noise came back that I heard before the transmission when out, so tomorrow it's going back to the dealership.

Also when I had them check the stereo they damaged the dash. If it wasn't for me looking at the damaged dash I would have never been told.

General Comments:

I love the car, women love the car. It's the first car that has gotten me girls and I have driven great cars: 65 mustang, toyota supra. But none like this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd December, 2006

6th Dec 2006, 12:29

It cost $25000, and $36000 after taxes?! You sure you got your math right? Where in North America do you have taxes of 44%?!?!?

12th Dec 2006, 16:20

I wish to god I had leased my car, it would have been returned to the dealership in a New York minute - the very day the lease would have been over. I bought PAID IN FULL a 2004 automatic RX8 in July 2004. The engine light has come on numerous times and I take it in and they shut it off - only to have it come back on again a few weeks later. This week the power steering quit working when driving down the road. After shutting off the car the power steering worked on the next restart, whew! They have done the recall (replaced the catalyctic converter and spark plugs).

1st Apr 2007, 09:07

I absolutely love the handling and look of the car, but I was extremely dissatisfied with my purchase of the Rx8. Transmission noises, terrible gas mileage, and constant service. I was told by the dealership to use synthetic oil, after talking to various rx7 and rx8 enthusiasts I found out that the dealership had absolutely no idea what they were talking about and that I should be using regular oil. I had the car for a hair pulling five months before I traded it in. The new car is a Honda S2000 and I have never been happier. Sorry Mazda, but I will never, ever, ever, ever, own another one of your cars.

8th Aug 2010, 03:18

How much will it cost for the tax if I paid $10,000 for the car? I'm curious to know, because I'm kind of on a budget, and wanna know if it'll cost more than 1000 for tax to put it on the road?

9th Aug 2010, 20:14

Only you can answer that question. What is your state's sales tax? Here in Massachusetts it's 6.25%. If I bought a car for $10,000, the sales tax would be an additional $625. Your tax may be lower or higher, depending on your state's sales tax.

9th Aug 2010, 23:08

This will depend on the tax rate in the state you live in. In some states it could be lower than $1000, and in many (such as Virginia) it could be much more due to outrageous registration fees.

Also, if I were paying $10,000 for a sporty car, I'd go with a used Mustang. My past experience with Mazda has been very bad. My current Mustang has been flawless.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 38 reviews