2005 Mazda RX8 Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2005 Mazda RX8 rotary 1.3L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission rotary 1.3L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Coupe

Summary:

An excellent ride, well worth the money

Faults:

I have not had a problem with this car since I bought it.

General Comments:

This car is a joy to drive, reasonable performance and ride - the rails handling make it so.

There is a reason many people wait 1 or 2 model years to buy a new model, so that the manufacturers can work out the glitches, and they always have so many suckers to experiment on. Few have been the new models to come out without glitches in the past 15 years. However I will not be keeping this car forever, because it is a very snug fit for me with the sunroof, yet I will regret the day I have to give it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2006

2005 Mazda RX8 RX-8 1.3 rotary from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 rotary Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired130 miles
Most recent distance130 miles

Summary:

Awsome...!!

Faults:

N/a.

General Comments:

Very crisp throttle response, only exceeded by the RX-8's nimble agility in the handling department.

I own (2) collector cars in the 0-60 mph 4.0 second range with handling capabilities second to none... this car is well worth serious consideration.

Cockpit comfort and detail is very impressive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2006

10th May 2006, 11:58

Very crisp throttle response??? the car had no low end. I mean you give it gas and you sit waiting for the car to move.

19th May 2006, 01:44

Definitely a gutless car. On paper the RX8 is quick, but on the day-to-day grind, this car is not very enjoyable. Also: poor reliability, cheap interior materials, and developing rattles at less than 40k miles.

2005 Mazda RX8 1.3L dual rotary from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3L dual rotary Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired4 miles

Summary:

Great oil burning car

Faults:

My oil is burning really fast. Have taken it to the dealership multiple times, they are now telling me that these cars burn a quart of oil every 600 miles. Anyone else having that problem. I take it to them to change the oil, within 600-1000 miles oil light comes on.

General Comments:

Love the car great ride except the oil burning or whatever it's doing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th March, 2006

24th Mar 2006, 14:27

It's in the nature of rotary engines to burn oil. Something to do with the seals. When I read a long term test in Car and Driver they said that eventually it stopped consuming so much oil. That's why I'm apprehensive about the RX-8. It's a great car, I'm just not sure about the motor.

2005 Mazda RX8 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

There have been absolutely no problems with this car.

General Comments:

After reading several reviews, it appears that most negative comments are for RX8's with an automatic in a cold climate. I believe anyone purchasing a sports car with an auto tranmission is buying merely for looks or convenience and NOT performance. I bought mine for crisp handling, acceleration and the option of holding four occupants. It has been flawless in every aspect. Move to Florida, buy the manual and enjoy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2006

23rd Feb 2006, 21:02

Trans Am?

Enjoy your pasta, Tony. RX8 vs. that piece of Italian pie is no contest.

27th Feb 2006, 01:05

Trans-Ams out handle and out brake an rx-8??? You're dreaming. 22mpg if you're driving nicely.

21st Mar 2006, 01:23

Unfortunately, warm climates and manual transmissions don't solve RX-8 reliability issues. My 6 speed is located in sunny California, and less than a month after its 30k mile service, my RX-8 is sitting in my garage unable to start.

At minimum, a well maintained, 2 year old sports car (or any car, for that matter) should reliably start when called upon. (Can't win any races if it's stuck in your parking spot.)

Mazda should be ashamed of it's collective self if this is the best that they can do.

5th May 2006, 06:15

You are funny. I used to have a firebird formula and yes it will outrun the rx8 in a dead sprint, but as for handling and braking you are very mistaken. I would put money on my RX against your trans am in a road race any day.

10th May 2010, 06:14

Coming from South Africa... the land of the living... the RX8 is a perfect pie. I own a black one and it's awesome.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 20 reviews