2005 Mazda RX8 Grand Touring 1.3 Wankel from North America




Oil was milky, navigation control was finicky, and the reverse gear was difficult to engage. All these problems were fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

I bought my 2005 RX-8 for $15,000 with 26,000 miles. It uses more gas than I would like, but otherwise, it is amazing. Fun to rev the engine to its 9000 rpm redline (I swear the car likes it) and it handles like a dream. I have never had so much fun with a car, or grinned so goofily every time I drive it. The only problem is the streets around here don't give it much of a challenge. Now, the interior could have more updated electronics and a nicer grade leather seat (later models have this), and the heated seats are a little anemic. But goodness, for the price, sunroof, navigation, CD player, satellite radio, bose surround sound, 18" wheels, traction control, ABS and 4 wheels discs, high intensity discharge headlamps, tire pressure monitoring system--I think anyone would be hard pressed to find this level of equipment on any other sports car for the price. Did I mention how great it handles?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2008

2005 Mazda RX8 from North America


Top notch for the price



General Comments:

Just let the engine warm before turning off, and with 40k miles the brakes pads need replacing.

This is a great car, just has a few differences due to the rotary engine vs. your conventional engine.

Handles great and the engine gets smoother the higher the rpm, don't use synthetic.

People buy a product and have nothing to do but whine about it. Educate yourselves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2008

2005 Mazda RX8 Shinka Edition 1.3 from North America


I love this car!!!


I love 2005 Mazda RX-8 Shinka Edition. 1st new purchase right out of the glass window with only 12 miles on it.

I've had no problems with my car in 2 years.

Then the engine light came on for the first time. I immediately took it to my dealer as I always have.

I've never missed an oil change and take excellent care of my baby.

My dealer tells me I need a new engine at only 21000 miles!

I'm so disappointed. Not knowing if I should keep it or get out from under it. Will I have to replace another engine in 2 years? Will my warranty still be good?

I truly love my car! It handles like a dream and corners like nothing I've ever driven before.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2008

2005 Mazda RX8 Base Model 13B from North America


Can be a rocketship within its power band


Nothing but a tune-up recall.

General Comments:

I love my 2005 RX8! I have owned an '87 and two '88s, and can tell you from experience that the starting (generally flooding) is peculiar to the rotary. You need to have some experience with this motor, and Mazda dealers will not highlight any peculiarities that aren't positive -- so here you are!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2006

23rd Jan 2007, 20:15

No motor engineered in this day-and-age should have chronic flooding/starting/stalling problems. Especially when installed in a company's top model.

I finally gave up on my RX-8; sold it for a car with a good old V8... gets similar MPG, and better performance. Perhaps it's time for Mazda to give up on the rotary... better engine designs already exist.

26th Apr 2009, 11:01

That's a biased comment. The rotary has not been around for a century like the piston, therefore it still needs a dialing in. It is also very easy to fix the stalling problem if you know anything about the engine and how fuel system works. The new RX8's don't have the same problem, therefore the rotary is being evolved and dialed in for the consumer.

2005 Mazda RX8 GT from North America


Graceful power and stability


The 6 CD changer continues to break down due to problems reading burned CD play lists.

Everyone wants to race you.

General Comments:

This car is spectacular. The look and feel, the comfort, and most of all, the graceful power.

The D.T.S. system on this car makes this car far more solid on the road compared to a BMW M3, and any domestic I've come across. Where other cars have wiped out (and yes they have), this car takes control, and keeps you safe.

The turbo option for this car is SPECTACULAR.

Nothing I have ever driven is this graceful, and this enjoyable. When I don't want to drive a sports car, I can still comfortably drive this car. When I want to put everyone behind me, this car does it fairly well. Considering the price, you get far more than domestics.

You know why you want an RX8, it's not the fuel economy. If you want that, buy a regular car that's pretending to be a sports car. This car in particular, is attractive to look at.

See you on the road!


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2006

11th Nov 2006, 02:18

I read in one of the major car magazines that the new Corvette Z06 got 26 mpg on the highway during their test. Interesting that a sports car with significantly better performance (and a much larger engine) is more fuel efficient than the RX8.

13th Nov 2006, 06:23

Not really. Mazda rotary engines have always been notoriously poor in terms of fuel economy, so it's hardly surprising.