2005 Mazda RX8 Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2005 Mazda RX8 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Previous carNissan Altima

General Comments:

I am looking to buy a 2005 6 speed RX8. Found one for a real good price, but some of these reports make me wonder if this car is reliable or not. I test drove it today and fell in love with the car. I am commissioning in the Air Force soon and cannot afford to have an unreliable car. Is this a smart buy? Or should I just buy the RSX Type S that I originally wanted?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2006

22nd Mar 2006, 11:09

I've owned 3 Acuras, and the ownership experience has been great. My RX8, however, has been very frustrating – poorly engineered, and bad factory support. I would not recommend the RX8.

26th Sep 2007, 12:09

My advice: know the previous owner; how they broke in the car and followed general guidelines for the rotary engine. It's not brain surgery, just different. This is a fabulous automobile.

2005 Mazda RX8 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired87 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Aurora

Summary:

Mazda says Zoom Zoom, I say Doom Doom!

Faults:

At just under 600 miles, the car wouldn't start. It was diagnosed with a defective starter and a malfunctioning crank sensor.

General Comments:

A beautiful car that won't start is like a good employee that doesn't show up for work... absolutely worthless.

There's no excuse for a brand new car developing these defects at 600 miles.

Mazda needs to take another look at their parts supplier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2005

5th Nov 2005, 09:12

Maybe you just got a dodgy one.

19th Nov 2005, 13:31

The RX8 is very high on a bunch of complaint lists... I own a new 6 that's giving me problems so I've seen all the Mazda data. Mazda had to buy back a bunch of 8's.

24th Nov 2005, 19:52

In reference to RX8 not starting, my 2004 decided to go dormant this evening, I just drove it this morning, Thanksgiving Day. Tonight it won't start, all battery operated components work. Time will tell as to what is wrong. Only has 19,000miles.

2005 Mazda RX8 Shinka from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45 kilometres
Most recent distance4800 kilometres
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

I love the car, but reliability issues may force me to give it up for adoption

Faults:

-catalytic converter replaced at 400 km.

-coolant leak between rotors required replacement of entire engine- current

- rattling rear windscreen required removal and tightening of loose bolts.

General Comments:

-terrific looks, handling and comfort.

- gas mileage better than my V8 Explorer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2005

1st Oct 2005, 17:54

I agree I had my engine replaced at 15700 kms. from neil in winnipeg Canada.

27th Dec 2005, 21:17

After putting 32k +/- miles on my 2004 6 speed I've made these observations:

- 4 recalls in less than 2 years?! For cars designed in the 70's this may have been commonplace, but in '05 this is unacceptable.

- Gas mileage is shameful. A Corvette gets better highway mileage despite having more than 4 times the displacement of the Renesis engine.

- Materials are sub-par. Seats have worn prematurely, plastic interior panels scuff easily, weather seals are disintegrating.

- It can be entertaining if driven hard. But during my everyday commute it's as bland as an econo-box (except, of course, for the poor mileage).

- In tight quarters it's difficult to maneuver around the 'suicide' doors.

Overall, I'm sad to say that this is one of the least satisfying cars that I've owned.

15th May 2006, 19:36

My 2004 Mazda RX8, with 50,000 miles on it, has been back to the dealership four times in the last six months. At first, it would get hot and require 10-15 minutes of cooling time in order to re-start. Yesterday, it would not start at all. When they get it running again, I'm trading it in. Fun car, looks great, but I can't deal with the lack of reliability.

20th Aug 2006, 20:44

I had to have the RX-8 as soon as I saw it in the summer of 2003! I bought one of the the very first vehicles off the production line. It is a gorgeous car, but the reliability has been disappointing. It has been in the shop at least a dozen times and has had a variety of problems. I am extremely sad about having to trade it in soon, but I need a vehicle that can get me back and forth to work!

24th Aug 2006, 11:52

Just to let you know Mazda is right now recalling all the RX8's, and when you go to the dealership, they will check the compression, and if it doesn't pass, they will replace the whole engine. Read it at www.cars.com. You might have to look down a little with the news...

2005 Mazda RX8 GT Renesis from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Renesis Manual
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance1700 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Great buy for someone looking for a sports car

Faults:

Check engine light went on after 150 miles. A software upgrade on the computer was needed for this known issue.

General Comments:

I love this car. I have driven it 1600 miles now in a little over a month. The cornering in this car is like nothing I have driven before. The steering is very tight and precise. A 90 degree turn at 45 MPH is barely noticeable. Acceleration is good, but it's not as fast as some other cars in the category. The value for the money is great. You get a serious car for the money. Oh yeah, if you buy one, be prepared for head turns and people gaping. It is a very sharp car and everyone wants to talk to you about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2005

8th May 2006, 07:57

I purchased my RX8 6 speed in August of 2004. I use it as my daily driver. It has weathered two winters in Cleveland, Ohio needing nothing more than a change to snow tires. I have had zero problems with the car. Based on the other posts in this train, perhaps the build quality is erratic, but my personal experience has been outstanding.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 20 reviews