1998 McLaren F1 V12 from North America


If you can afford one, GET ONE!


No major problems other than standard wear due to hard running.

General Comments:

I am a collector of fine autos and anyone who is a serious speed freak or big time collector of rare autos must have one. Believe me every penny spent on this baby is worth it. I own several "SUPER CARS" and no doubt there is nothing like owning a McLaren.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th October, 2001

31st Oct 2001, 02:12

There's a difference between your MAZDA RX7 and a MCLAREN F1, even if your car could beat it, which is so unlikely I can't believe I'm bothering to write this, I'd still be in an F1 and you'd still be in a Mazda...

17th Dec 2001, 02:26

The McLaren is a good car, but very expensive. You could take any Japanese super car (eg Supra, NSX, RX7, 300ZX, 3000GT, GT-R) or super sedan (Aristo, mark II Tourer V, Gloria Ultima), tune it enough to beat a Mclaren F1 not just by a whisker, but convincingly, and still have change left from $100,000. If you went really crazy (like they do in Japan) you could drop another 100g's and have a car so wild Mclarens would run in fear! Up to you which is important - status or power.

1996 McLaren F1 V12 700 bhp from UK and Ireland


Hahahahaha, good luck ever getting your hands on a second hand one!


Nothing apart from the normal wear and tear in a car.

Window cracked, 3000 pounds to repair!

The headlight somehow stopped working, 2000 pounds for a new one!

Rear panel scraped, another 7000 pounds down the drain.

General Comments:

The interior is boring as hell. Considering I am paying so much bloody money you would think that I could customize the interior. But McClaren wouldn't allow it. They practically own the car, I can't do anything to it other than drive it.

And yes the modem that contacts McClaren and tells them if the car has a problem is true.

It is the fastest car on the road. This car, is the most expensive car in the world and it acts like one too! It devours money by the truckload. In the city I have recorded fuel consumption at up to 38mpg. The prices charged for services are absolutly disgusting! I could be feeding a third world country.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2001

23rd Sep 2001, 19:04

38 mpg??? Are these miles and American gallons here? Because for the fastest supercar in the world I would have to say it probably gets just a BIT less than 38 mpg. A V12 with 620 BHP in the most expensive street-legal car in the world does not scream "fuel efficiency", nor would fuel economy be the highest priority on someone with nearly a million to drop on a car. Just my humble opinion.

1996 McLaren F1 V12 700 bhp from UK and Ireland


The best, really


No problems whatsoever, an absolute peach to drive.

General Comments:

Disgustingly awesome performance, still yet to have it flat out. Power delivery is unbelieveable. You cannot begin to fathom the sound and feeling of this car. A feat of engineering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2001

1st Jul 2001, 00:37

You lucky person, oh how I wish I had one AND your previous car was a Diablo??? OMG.

14th Oct 2001, 13:31

How much you earn a year? I'm stuck with my Supra Twin Turbo.

13th Jul 2002, 01:39

I drove a McLaren once. It was great. I pressed the pedal down and felt the g-force turn my face into mush. It was great!... and then I woke up... and hopped into my Hyundai and drove to work. C'est la vie!

31st Jan 2003, 07:41

I'd like someday get a rid on a car like that, but here in brazil, I think i'll never see a f1.

13th Feb 2003, 17:13

You are all deeply pathetic and you will die alone in a wet nappy.


29th Apr 2003, 08:44

...and out of these 100 only 72 road cars originally. So yes IT IS highly unlikely that 6 people so far (a 7th admits he isn't an owner) have been in here.