1998 McLaren F1 from North America - Comments

12th Jan 2002, 19:34

If you want to look at it in a dollar per horsepower perspective, McLaren and Japanese car owners are at an extreme loss. I have a 2000 SS Camaro that Purchased used for $19,500. I promptly added a set of 3.73:1 gears, ($500), a used Vortech 14 PSI Supercharger ($2000), an upgraded clutch ($350), and a set of E/T street slicks. My car runs consistent 11.10 in the 1/4 mile and I have only 22,350 invested. But it still isn't an F1...Go Figure.

22nd Jan 2002, 16:07

Owning a McLaren isn't just about what the car can do, it's all about the exclusivity. The McLaren is the ultimate status symbol to show your wealth, no more no less.

Anyway the car was really designed for GT racing anyway, the road car was just a by-product, and in my opinion is still the ultimate supercar no argument!

5th Feb 2002, 23:16

To beat a Mclaren F1 convincingly, is an impossibility. A Mclaren does 0-62 mp/h or 0-100km/h in 3.2 seconds, your Japanese marvel would have to do it in under 3 seconds, impossible! A quarter mile in under 11.1 seconds would mean the car would be boosted out of its mind and would its engine would have a lifespan similar to that of a house fly.

None of these Japanese cars or American heaps would come anywhere near the Mclaren in terms of balance, handling etc. To say a 1000bhp Supra is more than a match for a Mclaren is total crap, aftermarket Japanese or American manufactures are no match for the engineers at Mclaren who design and construct F1 racing cars and have honed that car to perfection, it's a ridiculous comparison and utter crap.

16th May 2002, 13:39

Why Bother spending $1,000,000 on a car that can do 0-60 in 3.2 seconds, when you can by a westfield with two Honda race bike engines in it and do 0-60 in 3 seconds flat all for the price of £50,000! £50,000 will probably pay for a service on a Mclaren F1!

9th Jul 2002, 07:37

The Mclaren F1 was never meant to be a true GT champion. Gordon Murray is quoted that the F1 was only intended for road use. The move to modify it for racing was made purely because of pressure from existing owners who are pretty handy behind the wheel. So it is pure coincidence that it is fantastic on the track.

26th Jul 2002, 04:35

I notice people saying that the F1 was designed purely for the GT Race Series. The GT Race Series did not exist when the McLaren was being designed, developed, produced or even sold. The GT Race series in which the McLaren became really successful was only devised AFTER the car was sold as a road going vehicle. The fact of the matter is that road going car just happened to be excellent on the race track too, beating purpose built cars in the process. As for the comments on the Japanese Modified cars versus the McLaren. Have you ever driven both and compared them? The McLaren is civilised, some people even say that it's somewhat muted or numbed for the performance that it gives!! Drive the F1 and then one of the Jap Mods and then tell me which one you'd like to drive across Europe in.

1st Aug 2002, 23:28

There is no way that any car to this day can compare to the Mclaren, there are modified cars out there that that may beat it to 100 but that defeats the purpose this baby is has achieved. All imports need to be enhanced to even get close, put them on the track and the Mclaren will leave them all for dead. What import day in and out can perform at it's level on the track. You can't even compare the design and components right down to the bolts from any other car. The price signifies that there is no car in the world that can be classed as better in any respect. Maybe you all should download the Mclaren verses Supra twin turbo video over a km, and then decide what excellence is all about... maybe that's why in it's first year of Lemans it killed everything.

10th Aug 2002, 16:20

Its extremely doubtful that all the reviews on the McLaren here are written by actual owners. These cars are so exclusive and people who own these cars do NOT bother putting a review on the Internet cos a review for a McLaren F1 is completely unnecessary. BTW, only around a 100 peeps own this car on a population of 6 billion, you really think 7 of them actually spend their time on a car survey site...

14th Aug 2002, 03:14

I have a comment to make about the superiority of the Mclaren F1. It is inferior to the TVR Tuscan Speed 12. Nuff said. In no way do I disagree with the author of this review that owning a Mclaren F1 is a display of status. In fact congratulations on a very super buy, I wish I owned one.

18th Aug 2002, 06:55

You guys do realize that the F1 was designed to go around corners not just to get over a 1/4 mile as quickly as possible. The F1 is an feat of engineering not the most souped up engine bolted to the lightest body. I don't consider the car to be a badge of wealth (although only the very wealthy own them) but a brilliant piece of machinery.

24th Aug 2002, 01:16

The Mclaren is a very expensive car, but as it is the fastest road car in the world, you would expect it to be the most expensive. I believe the Mclaren is going to be a valuable appreciating asset in years to come, as only a few were made. Those who compare lesser cars, equal to the Mclarens performance have no idea what a Mclaren really is, and those that have to worry about running costs should never own one.

6th Sep 2002, 23:40

It is SAD that every person here is "In quest for speed and power", they seek what will be beaten in the next maybe 10 years or less... I do not care how fast a McLaren can go 0-60 or topspeed, it is a matter of time that will have all of you change your minds about the McLaren. A faster production car comes out and you don't remember McLaren, I am sure you will forget this car. Fit a TVR Speed12 800+ bph engine, be it heavier, it'll go just as fast 0-60 but will maybe achieve higher top speed. Why should I care about what's inside it... I LOVE McLaren for it's EXOTICA looks, it's SUPERB design. Especially the 1998 GT LongTail version. The power tells me nothing, never will.. if you're a speed freak better, then, buy a Formula 1 car or something that beats everything on its way. If you do not appreciate the design and sleekness of the McLaren you might as well forget about it's existence now. It's really USELESS talking about the power. It will be beaten by "I don't really care what". Speed will be always the main goal forever. the future will set newer and newer records without ever ending. Appreciate the physical appearance. The McLaren F1 GT LongTail is really the most appealing car by it's Extreme beauty, period.

16th Sep 2002, 03:21

That's your opinion son. I prefer the Ferrari F-50 myself. As for the Speed 12 comment it was meant to say that in a race it would beat the Mclaren, a good and close race but I see the speed 12 winning. 800bhp by the way is it's detuned version:)