1999 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1999 Mercedes-Benz A-Class A190 Elegance 1.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1200 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz A140 Elegance

Summary:

A good car for 10,000ukp, a bad car for 20,000ukp

Faults:

Rusty wheel nuts.

Leaking door seals.

ECU fault.

Driver's window failed.

Vibration at most speeds.

Rattles on the dashboard.

New tyres at 10k.

General Comments:

Cost 20465 in January. Offered 12500 in September.

Poor dealer service.

Loads of space for a small car, very safe, very hard ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th December, 2000

17th May 2001, 17:08

What do you expect paying 14,000 for a merc, you should have bought a vw group car or saved up a bit for a 30k merc.

6th Jun 2001, 12:18

I did not pay £14000 for this car, it cost me £20500 and I sold it after one year for £12000. My other car is a £33000 SLK and it will be my last Mercedes.

10th Aug 2001, 11:12

I bought a brand new A140 Avantgarde last September 2000. I sold it in December with only 1400 miles on the clock. After various visits to the dealer to cure a multitude of rattles I could stand it no more. It is the poorest built and hardest riding car I have ever owned. It is a wonderful looking car, but that is all. I have now bought a Seat Leon which cost over £4000 less and is built to the same high standards as an Audi.

24th Jan 2002, 13:25

Bought it three years ago, worst built car ever.

Bought for £16,000, worth 6000 now and the dashboard rattles when going round corners.

Poor acceleration, no leg room in the rear, go for A Honda HRV instead of this piece of scrap metal.

1999 Mercedes-Benz A-Class A140 Classic 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

An expensive, time consuming, stressfull hobby!

Faults:

Constant clicking noise on the clutch pedal.

Knocking noise in the steering column when you shake the steering wheel and as you are parking/turning the car.

These parts have been looked at and replaced more than twice by the garage.

General Comments:

The attitude of the garage was oblique. The problems which I have experenced have now become 'normal characteristics' of the car - after 8 time consuming months of replacing parts and heartache.

Both the garage and Mercedes have lost a potentially loyal customer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th July, 2000

30th Mar 2005, 13:11

Can anyone tell me what the squeaking noise is in my A140 Mercedes when I turn the steering column?

9th Jun 2005, 08:25

Don't tell me they have not fixed this problem yet...!

4th Aug 2011, 19:30

Steering squeaking noise is probably the plastics rubbing or the universal joint needing some grease.

Clunking noise is usually the spline shaft in need of some grease too.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 26 reviews