1995 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1995 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Elegance 200 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 200 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

Outstanding proposition for long term ownership

Faults:

Nothing really, at 110,000 miles the first major items have gone (except the usual tyres and servicing stuff), namely catalytic converter, heated rear window switch, and now some ominous white sludge in the radiator:- (

The interior is as new, there is one small spot of rust where a stone ship has corroded - everything else is A1.

General Comments:

It's a shame the new ones aren't built to the same quality. I have recently bought a new C270 CDI estate, and its not even a year old, but has been in the garage for knocking noises, vibration, and now worn suspension links.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2003

1995 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C220 2.2 liter gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Best entry-level Mercedes on the used-car market

Faults:

The timing chain tensioner allowed the chain to rattle when the engine was at idle.

The car tends to wear out tires rather quickly.

General Comments:

The interior and exterior show virtually no wear.

The car always gives excellent gas mileage.

The car has a very "tight" feel that is missing in most new cars.

The car is heavy and as a result tire wear is high and acceleration is slow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2003

1995 Mercedes-Benz C-Class from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Faults:

In November 2000 the head gasket had to be replaced.

In June 2002 the engine wire harness had to be replaced.

In June of 2002 the throttle actuator had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I have owned Mercedes since 1980 and my family since 1959.

This is the first time we have experienced problems to this degree and Mercedes Benz has just brushed us off!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2002

14th Feb 2003, 10:17

You bought this car with 60k miles. Doesn't it make you wonder why a person would get rid of their mercedes with only 60 thousand miles. My friend once told me that when you buy a used car you are buying somebody elses problems.

30th Jul 2003, 22:55

We have a 94 C280 that is in the shop, that's why I'm reading and posting this. They say the engine harness shorted out, neccessitating the replacement of the engine harness, throttle actuator, and what the service advisor called the "brain" which I assume to mean the electronic ignition control module. This plus a seized air pump is costing us over $4300 dollars. We bought it used with 38K miles on it about a year ago, now its at 54K. This is without a doubt the first and last MB I will ever own. Plus the fact that I'm still waiting for the CD-Rom to come out with the factory manual. I call every few months and they always say its not ready yet. I'm through with MB! Think twice before you buy! You may be buying a money pit!

1995 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C220 Petrol 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Safe, Reliable, Classy Family Car!

Faults:

Nothing!

I Only had to replace Tyres, Disk & Pads due to normal wear & tear.

General Comments:

I had hired a c180 for a weekend as my BMW had blown up, I was quite impressed with the car in general and you get a sense of class and its more grown up.

I then test drove the C220 and was impressed with its performance over the c180 and the fuel figures are the same.

At first the car seem rather upright and not as stable as the BMW I had, but as you drive this more and more, it becomes more and more convincing, and for the size of it it handles very well indeed. It pulls away quick and the rated book speed is not correct, certainly not what I got, 0-60 7.9 seconds, and I know she can do over 130mph, but not saying I have or have not! I say she, yes because this is the first car I have owned for 2 years and had no problems, it gets noticed which is not such a good thing, but then again, it's a Mercedes and they are good cars, everything form a clip to alternator is so much better made, that's why they last. My only gripe is the fact that Mercedes have cut corners in a few interior area's, for example the plastic door bins that contain the speakers give a good rattle, but they are going back to their good old self now so I look forward to my new E class in August. I would recommend this car as a safe, reliable family car with a lick of class, and would rather have a 4 year old Class than a new Mondeo or alike. The last other bonus I would mention is that it holds its money if you get the correct colour and spec!

Go on you know you wanna!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2002

6th Aug 2002, 12:57

I envy those of you who have a C220 and have had few if any problems. Mine is the worst car that I have ever owned. The car has approximately 150,000 km on the clock, and these are the problems that I have experienced:

- A broken lock cylinder.

- The SRS warning light sensor failed, the repair of which required removal of the front seat. It looks as though it has failed again.

- The right rear power window regulator has failed.

- The motor powering the drivers' side headrest has also failed.

- Every month, at least one of the exterior bulbs (headlight, parking, brake, or turn signal) needs replacement. (I have replaced more bulbs in this car than all the other cars I have owned combined.)

- Both O2 sensors required replacement (twice)

- A bracket for the sunroof broke. Replacing this part will require complete disassembly of the sunroof.

- The under-hood insulation seems to degrade prematurely. It was replaced, and in short order the same problem occurred.

- The hinge on the vanity mirror has broken for the second time.

- A Mercedes-Benz dealership inspected the brakes and informed me that the brakes were still in good working order. Within weeks, the brakes developed a squealing sound and were not stopping the car effectively. I took the car to an independent mechanic for inspection. The calipers had seized, destroying the pads and rotors. Replacement of virtually every brake component was required. Assuming the dealership performed a suitable inspection, it seems that the calipers simply failed.

- The a/c unit stopped working recently. This despite the fact that we prefer using the sunroof and use the a/c only infrequently. The dryer and expansion valve have just been replaced at cost of $513.96, which served only to reveal that the compressor has also failed.

- I am no longer able to use an auxiliary device in the cigarette lighter. The fuse blows as soon as I turn the device on. When I removed the top of the fuse box, the paper ‘map’ of the fuse box appears burnt as though the fuse panel has overheated. I will add that the cigarette lighter gets jammed and cannot be removed if one mistakenly presses it in.

The kindest thing I can say is that the paint and interior still look very good.

23rd Mar 2007, 20:08

To the poster who had the a/c system failure, I can tell you that one of the main reasons for the failure is the fact that you hardly use it. Air conditioning systems are one of those that require that they be used... at least twice a week in most cases to keep the system properly lubricated and the seals well oiled. Many people prefer not to use a/c because of the additional fuel consumption or the loss in power. But take it from me, the additional cost of replacing an a/c compressor is MUCH higher.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews