1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C 180 Classic 1.8 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

The C180 is comfortable, but badly underpowered

Faults:

The air mas flow sensor was faulty. This was noticed during the first inspection by Cargo East, but not replaced.

During the second service (in Germany) the agent noticed the fault and replaced the sensor unit under warranty, even though this car had been bough in South Africa.

Otherwise, no problems.

General Comments:

The C180 is very underpowered and therefore not what one expects from a Mercedes.

On the reef the low engine power and torque results in poor gear changes, but at sea level this is not such a big problem.

The C180 is a good car for an older, retired person who wants a comfortable car that will give many years of service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2003

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C230 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

An affordable luxury car

Faults:

I am still having problems with the LED display partially showing the temperature settings. If I tap the display it shows the full letters.

The fuel gauge seems to be sticking at the 1/4 tank mark. It will drastically drop and the yellow warning light comes on with approximately 1 gallon of fuel left.

I had to replace the steering shock absorber. The cost was $75.

I replaced the front rotors and brake pads. The cost was $325.

No other things have gone wrong.

General Comments:

This is a nice Mercedes-Benz. It has the 4 cylinder engine, which is a nice fuel saver. However, due to this engine, it lacks acceleration performance. Granted, I wouldn't ever trade back for my previous car. Fast or not, it's still a Mercedes-Benz.

Interior room is plentiful for the front passengers. The rear seat is just large enough for two average-sized adults. The pull-down center console on the rear seat makes a great place to hold refreshments.

The automatic climate control is the best amenity! I keep the control set at 70 degrees all year long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2003

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class 180 Sport 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

A good looking, well made car

Faults:

The gearbox and clutch were replaced at 127,000 miles, although at £960 incl. VAT this wasn't as bad as I first thought it would be.

At 106,000 miles the ABS sensor in the rear differential had to be drilled out and replaced, as it had become 'welded' in.

The ABS sensor on the front right hand wheel has also just given up, but this is a very simple and cheap repair.

It goes through numerous rear left brake light bulbs and generally is a bit quirky with the electrics, e.g. the sunroof switch sometimes doesn't work correctly, the lights behind the right heater position select dial only come on when the dial is turned.

General Comments:

For the amount of use this car has had I am very impressed with it, all the above points are not really grumbles, more like running costs.

I also have a garage local to me in South-London that is an independent Mercedes specialist. It is run by ex-Mercedes mechanics and uses only genuine Mercedes parts, but charges only a third of the normal labor charge. This as you can imagine, means that you get quality servicing and repairs at knock down prices. They also stamp your book with "Keys, Mercedes Specialist"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Sport 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Great value family car!

Faults:

Front bumper had to be re-sprayed due to stone chips.

General Comments:

Car came with a very good standard of equipment as standard, unlike Mercedes of old.

Nothing broke, nothing fell off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Classic 2.2 CDI from Belgium

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 CDI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 115.000km.

No other problems. It was a perfect car, just once it let me down in 12 years!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2001

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C180 Esprit 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.8
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10

Faults:

Drivers side electric mirror went at 20,000 miles.

Boot lid refused to closed at 20,000.

Offside rear passenger door kick plate fell off.

General Comments:

The car is very underpowered and auto box does not help.

Drivers seat is very uncomfortable with little room between the steering wheel and your knees. It would help if the steering wheel was adjustable.

Rear passenger space very tight for three and leg room is poor.

Glove box is a joke.

Windscreen washer tends to freeze over very easily and takes an age to thaw out.

I think this is very poor value for money and would not buy one again.

Car cost £24,000 with Sunroof and Autobox as extras which is a lot of money for not a lot of car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th January, 2000

8th Jan 2005, 03:30

Did you not see the car before you bought it? Did you not drive the car before you bought it? Parts do not 'FALL OFF' without some outside influence! And where did the mirror 'go' by the way?

28th Apr 2005, 15:20

I think you have confused a Mercedes for your local built Jaguar.

24th May 2005, 06:59

I have owned 3 Mercedes Benz cars. The first one was a 190E Manual - it drove brilliantly & gave me no problems at all. The second one was a C180 Esprit 1800 Manual, which also drove brilliantly & the only reason I sold it was to buy a newer one. My current car is a 1999 C180 Esprit 1800 Auto. Although I do miss using the gears, the auto is brilliant for driving though traffic, especially if you have a jippy left foot like me!

I would highly recommend them to anyone.

5th Jun 2009, 17:41

I have owned a Silver C180 manual for a year (since June 2008) and it has been completely reliable in that time, despite having done 135,000 miles and having had numerous owners before me.

I bought the car as a stop gap, but have decided to keep it for as long as it goes. I have only had to replace the windscreen washer nozzle in the bonnet, which had worn with age, and buy two new wheel trims to smarten it up.

It is not fast away from the lights, but cruises comfortably at speed and returns mid 30 mpg.

It has some rust, which I am considering getting sorted as I intend to keep the car. The build quality is excellent and the car feels very solid and safe to drive. I will buy another Mercedes when the time comes.

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C180 Elegance 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.8
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Comfortable, except not much room in the back if you are a tall driver.

A little sluggish, but cruises well.

Good safety features and some nice clever touches.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 1999

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C180 Classic 1.8 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.8
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Rattle in front left door.

Air sensor fault.

Both repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

Very underpowered when loaded and AC is in use. Poor gearchange. Good lights & wipers. Noisey AC and heater fan. Good comfort but handling is a bit vague in fast corners. A well built car that should give years of service but more suited to an elderly driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 1999

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 28 reviews