1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Sport 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Great value family car!


Front bumper had to be re-sprayed due to stone chips.

General Comments:

Car came with a very good standard of equipment as standard, unlike Mercedes of old.

Nothing broke, nothing fell off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Classic 2.2 CDI from Belgium


My head gasket blew at 115.000km.

No other problems. It was a perfect car, just once it let me down in 12 years!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2001

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C180 Esprit 1.8 from UK and Ireland


Drivers side electric mirror went at 20,000 miles.

Boot lid refused to closed at 20,000.

Offside rear passenger door kick plate fell off.

General Comments:

The car is very underpowered and auto box does not help.

Drivers seat is very uncomfortable with little room between the steering wheel and your knees. It would help if the steering wheel was adjustable.

Rear passenger space very tight for three and leg room is poor.

Glove box is a joke.

Windscreen washer tends to freeze over very easily and takes an age to thaw out.

I think this is very poor value for money and would not buy one again.

Car cost £24,000 with Sunroof and Autobox as extras which is a lot of money for not a lot of car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th January, 2000

8th Jan 2005, 03:30

Did you not see the car before you bought it? Did you not drive the car before you bought it? Parts do not 'FALL OFF' without some outside influence! And where did the mirror 'go' by the way?

28th Apr 2005, 15:20

I think you have confused a Mercedes for your local built Jaguar.

24th May 2005, 06:59

I have owned 3 Mercedes Benz cars. The first one was a 190E Manual - it drove brilliantly & gave me no problems at all. The second one was a C180 Esprit 1800 Manual, which also drove brilliantly & the only reason I sold it was to buy a newer one. My current car is a 1999 C180 Esprit 1800 Auto. Although I do miss using the gears, the auto is brilliant for driving though traffic, especially if you have a jippy left foot like me!

I would highly recommend them to anyone.

5th Jun 2009, 17:41

I have owned a Silver C180 manual for a year (since June 2008) and it has been completely reliable in that time, despite having done 135,000 miles and having had numerous owners before me.

I bought the car as a stop gap, but have decided to keep it for as long as it goes. I have only had to replace the windscreen washer nozzle in the bonnet, which had worn with age, and buy two new wheel trims to smarten it up.

It is not fast away from the lights, but cruises comfortably at speed and returns mid 30 mpg.

It has some rust, which I am considering getting sorted as I intend to keep the car. The build quality is excellent and the car feels very solid and safe to drive. I will buy another Mercedes when the time comes.

10th Jul 2015, 14:23

A year and it has given not trouble! Buy a Toyota and get YEARS of motoring without any trouble. They are also faster and do more miles to the gallon.

10th Jul 2015, 14:27

I don't think he has confused a Mercedes for your locally built Jaguar. A Jag doesn't have timing chain troubles, like Mercs do.

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C180 Elegance 1.8 from UK and Ireland


Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Comfortable, except not much room in the back if you are a tall driver.

A little sluggish, but cruises well.

Good safety features and some nice clever touches.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 1999

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C180 Classic 1.8 from South Africa


Rattle in front left door.

Air sensor fault.

Both repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

Very underpowered when loaded and AC is in use. Poor gearchange. Good lights & wipers. Noisey AC and heater fan. Good comfort but handling is a bit vague in fast corners. A well built car that should give years of service but more suited to an elderly driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 1999