1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class 200 Elegance 2.0L petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0L petrol Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

Only buy a brand new one

Faults:

Intermittent failure of electric windows, usually front.

Battery discharging after just a few days standing.

Intermittent failure of central locking RF and also sometimes infrared.

Lack of power, engine would not accelerate.

Intermittent failure of remote boot lock.

Most faults caused by rear window controllers, disconnect them and most faults completely disappear.

Bad acceleration probably caused by faulty MAF unit (Mass Air Flow Sensor).

Radio/cassette failed (stopped reading security card).

Rust appearing on wheel arches, side indicators and bottom of back doors.

General Comments:

Very comfortable to drive.

When working it's a delight, being quiet and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2009

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C230 2.3 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance108000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

Lovely car

General Comments:

This car is amazing on acceleration and handling.

I've drove many other 4 cylinder cars, but this car really moves when you push the pedal.

Unbelievable handling on high performance tires.

I have also a Camry, 1993, 4cyl, automatic.

I was wondering in how many seconds these cars can do 0-100km/h (C230 vs Camry 2.2L)?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2009

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200K 2.0 supercharged from Sweden

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 supercharged Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 525

Summary:

Very good worker for the money

Faults:

Only a fuel pump.

General Comments:

Car is great, but beware of the fuel mass sensor! It could make many strange problems that can lead you to wrong conclusions!

Choose a Classic or Elegance, not Sport or Esprit version because of ride comfort, and the tyres should be 195/65 r15, nothing beside that!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2009

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class 200 kompressor 200 kompressor from Serbia

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 200 kompressor Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

GREAT!!! I love it

Faults:

Just front balance holder. nothing else.

General Comments:

The only reason that I write this comment is that I miss this car so much. It runs like dream, it is quick, fast, reliable, stable, it has a Mercedes feel like you are driving tank that in the same time goes very fast. It has the fuel economy like no other gasoline car! Every time I felt like there is no faster car on the road! It's a high way king. My Audi 2002 a4 1.9 TDi is a real disappointment compare to c class. You should know that this series of engine is made only for Portugal, Italy and Greece market. I would get this car again a soon as a rid of Audi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2007

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Elegance 2.0 petrol from Malaysia

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 kilometres
Previous carPerodua Kancil

Summary:

Well balanced and elegant

Faults:

Some wires short circuited when the leads at the light trigger came I contact and I couldn't start the car. I had to pay about rm 25 for that.

My bumper tore out when I was hooked to the curb. Cost 2k to replace it.

Had to service it a few times, but that was alright.

Steering wheel starts to buckle when the car reaches about 100km/h and it gets worse when you hit 160.

The whole car resonates sometimes when you hit 80-90.

General Comments:

It's a solid car and it handles real well.

My model was custom made with a CLK transmission, so the pickup was just nice.

It's a blast to drive, especially on long, straight, smooth and never ending roads.

You just feel safe in one, you get the feeling of prestige and elegance when you get behind the wheel.

It takes corners real well, like a skilled tailor on cloth, makes you feel like it's a helo your piloting instead of a car.

The car is old and low tech, but that's usually what we call fool proof, less moving parts and complications, less screw ups while in use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2007

1st Jul 2009, 02:49

Go have the wheels balanced and aligned mate!

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Elegance 2.0L 4 cylinder from Fiji Islands

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 kilometres
Most recent distance41000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Excellent build quality from Mercedes

Faults:

Engine misfiring at idle; this was due to a torn gasket and clogged up manifold, which were fixed for $70.

A/c compressor was leaking; replaced for $700 as it had to be ordered from N.Z.

Indicator lights were faulty, so my mechanic replaced the fuse, $5.

I found a mechanic who was a real expert at fixing my car with reasonable price. It's been 9 months now and there are no other complaints.

General Comments:

My previous Honda was a beautiful car; very reliable, but I had to trade it because it was outdated.

My Mercedes is a 1998 model, and the previous owner never drove it much, which explains its low mileage.

My car is very comfortable with leather seats, ABS, CD, electric front seats and 8 speaker system.

The engine is smooth, with a smooth transmission, which can be selected for economy mode or power mode.

There is no rust or rattle, and the build quality is excellent.

The car can cruise around at lazy engine revs, but if you are really in a hurry, press the gas pedal to the floor and it can embarrass some of the bigger engined cars.

On the highway the engine is so smooth; the pulling power is sensational compared to my previous VTEC Accord. Once the rev goes past 4000, the Merc feels light; like riding on rails.

The fuel consumptions is pretty good with 10L/100Km in the city, and lower on the highway.

The space is quite adequate for a sedan of its class.

The turning circle of the steering is amazing, you can squeeze in tight spaces with ease.

The car may not be as technologically advanced as compared to a Lexus, but it's a Mercedes, and every time I get behind the wheel, I'm struck with awe and amazement at the build quality and engineering put into this car. When you close the door, you contemplate the century of engineering in this vehicle. They say that these cars could reach 1 million Km. These cars were engineered like no other car in the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2007

28th Jul 2007, 23:43

I totally agree that mercedes are engineered like no other car in the world although the 4 cylinder engines can sometimes feel underpowered. The 2liter motor can be very torqy at high revs, but you really need to work it. The build quality from mercedes is very high for that era, I'm not pretty sure if the latest models have the same standard of quality?

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 28 reviews