2001 Mercedes-Benz S-Class S-430 4.3L V8 from North America


This is an excellent vehicle


The central computer failed. Warranty.

The telephone failed. Warranty.

The key has failed three times resulting in lockout. Still doesn't work.

General Comments:

This is a wonderful automobile to drive over long distances. I recently drove it over 7,000 miles and in one day, over 1,000 miles.

It is a delight in all handling situations with brakes you can believe in.

It is huge, but other than city parking, this hasn't been a bother. The parking assist radar works as advertised.

The car has no residual value at the end of the three year lease. Depreciation is just amazing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2003

2001 Mercedes-Benz S-Class S320 petrol from UK and Ireland


Small problems otherwise a very enjoyable ride


I dislike the cheap plastic that can be found in the car. The cup holders and the small pen holder (which is too small) is made from the same plastic you find in your kids toy cars.

The glove box needs some work, after a while it doesn't close properly, so it appears buckled.

The Parking Sensors switches off by itself from time to time, and doesn't come back on when you really need it. In other words it doesn't operate full time.

The ride itself isn't that comfortable, you can still feel most of the road, although its more comfortable that most cars its still doesn't feel as though its worth the price of £45,000.

The climate control is pretty poor, the fan doesn't blow hard enough when you need it to, for example; it's a really hot day in London, and you car feels like it's an oven. You switch on the a/c it blows as if the temperature outside is mild!!. My E-Class has better a/c and heating than the S-Class. The radio, without the command system, is pretty poor, my shogun gets better reception than the S-Class.

About a year after purchasing the car the on-board computer failed, and so did the wireless key entry. So what does this mean?

Well it means you can't get into the car as the key's battery doesn't work. Also the entire dashboard goes completely black, none of the indicators work, even if you manage to get the car started.

General Comments:

In general the car isn't bad, I guess I noticed most of the problem because I spend so much time in the car. I would recommend buy a Mercedes Benz as the customer care is very good, at least in London. Even though their prices are over the top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2003

29th May 2005, 04:44

I own s320 Mercedes-benz 2001 with 41500 kilometers only. it died on me while I m on the hi way. my speed was 120 nd I was using the cruise control. it continued turning off every time I start and. it took me one and half an hour to get back home. the dealer engineer told me there is recall on these vehicles, but he did not go into details. i m selling this car as soon as I receive it back from the dealer workshop.

2001 Mercedes-Benz S-Class S320 L 3.2 from United Arab Emirates


Worth every penny


For such an excellent car, I have had problems with the wiper blades. They streaked the windshield from early on. By the way, I live in an area where there is very little rain and no snow. It costs a fortune to replace the blades. US$163 for just the rubber blades. My cousin had similar problems on his S Class.

My A/C did not work, but was fixed under the warranty.

My engine had rough idling, it was the air intake sensor. Replaced under warranty.

Otherwise, the car has performed marvellously.

General Comments:

A true status symbol. People start treating you seriously once they see the car.

Very roomy and luxurious. I have standard seats and wish I had bought the seats with the air blowing through. That should be a worthwhile investment.

Am not complaining about the performance, but I think the S500 would have added more oomph.

Do go in for the L version. It adds about 4 inches to back seat leg room. I have small kids and these 4 inches make a big difference.

I had mine ordered from the factory, so was able to choose the options I wanted and of course there are a few I missed on. The one I most miss is the automatic trunk closing. Wish my dealer had told me that this was available. Only found out after the car was delivered.

The best of all. I turn off the Skid Control (ASR) and put the vehicle to spin. Even with the ASR off, it takes some effort to get the wheels to slide. What a car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2002

28th May 2002, 22:25

Glad you're enjoying this wonderful car. The only comment I would add is that the 320 is very notably underpowered when compared to the 500 or 600. The 600, while very nice indeed, is over-kill unless you really want a 'sleeper'. The 500, in my humble opinion, offers the best balance between performance and running costs.

Try the 320 and if you are truly happy with performance then by all means buy it and save yourself some money. However, if you have any doubts at all, drive the 320 and the 500 back-to-back. I'd be very surprised if anyone compares the two in this way and then chooses the 320. Next to the 500 it has to work too hard to move this huge and heavy automobile. It will get the job done, but has to work so hard that it lacks not only pace, but also refinement. Who spends S Class money and expects to hear the engine struggle ? The 500 moves the car with authority, giving it a surprisingly agile feel. Still not the road rocket that the 600 is - but then most buyers would look elsewhere for an outright performance car anyway.

3rd Oct 2002, 17:54

I, just purchased a 2000 S500 with 10,000 miles. What a great carit is. Do I need to buy the extended warranty and any sugestions as to which one.

1st Mar 2003, 21:46

Extended warranties are (unless your covering Huge mileage) a waste of money, weigh up the cost in relation to likley faults and I suspect you will realize the standard one is more than long enough.

1st Apr 2003, 10:01

The 320 is underpowered in the hilly areas of US northeast, particularly in the S class and not the E. Mine is very durable, but even the small 8 is much better on the hills. Had a 560 SEL before and believe it was built better and had tremendous power, sorry I sold it. BBR.

18th May 2003, 08:20

I bought the S320L from Abu Dhabi UAE thinking it is a great car as told by some friends,2 years down the road the car is a piece of luxury, but lately some defects are showing up. i hope the company will attend to it. Some problems are almost all electronics controls malfunction during summer & high humidity, the cares are corroding very badly from bottom, the side fenders & other rubber items seems to release a raisin spoiling the look of the car. The local agency must inform users to get these defects rectified. When I tried to exchange Car the company is asking for a very fat extra charge for 320L replacement with S350 by amortizing the existing car by 50% in 2 years.

9th Oct 2008, 17:38

Wiper blade-you could change only a rubber by yourself and it ain`t cost a thing. After all reviews I don know what to do. Buy a s class or not..