1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 240D diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired131000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

One of the best purchase I have ever made

Faults:

The vacuum door lock does not work properly. However, I can go along with this.

The temperature gauge prabably shows the wrong reading. The mechanic asked to replace that.

Driver's seat is a bit worn.

General Comments:

Though it accelerates slow, this heavy machine makes me feel like I am inside a TANK. The feeling of safety is unparalleled and the driving experience I never enjoyed before. And surely the pleasure of roaming in MB.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2002

1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D 2.4 Normally Aspirated diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Normally Aspirated diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired256000 miles
Most recent distance258000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

The 240D and 300D are excellent automobiles

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong with the Benz. I have only had to repair/replace little things, such as the power antenna and passenger's side heating/air conditioning vent. The cruise control does not work, but I have heard that many Mercedes Benzes of this era have their cruise control go out. The vacuum locks tend not to work after three cycles, and do not hold charge overnight.

General Comments:

I love the 240D. It is equipped with the 4-speed manual transmission. This car is one of the best engineered automobiles I have ever driven. The car is simple in many aspects... but not too simple. It has all of the luxury car comforts, such as: dual-zone climate control, leather seats, power sunroof and power locks. My car does not have power windows, which is how I wanted it. The fuel mileage is great, between 23-25 miles per gallon in town. The car gets rave reviews from everyone who rides in it and I love driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2002

22nd Feb 2003, 18:08

I couldn't agree more! I have the exact car and the same comments!

7th Aug 2004, 18:28

L have the same car and I love it, he already did safe my life once in an accident and it brove to me that it has an excelent stability.

4th Oct 2004, 18:30

This car meets the three s's - slow, safe and sure. A great car.

24th Jan 2006, 12:49

Hey.

I understand that with only 67 hp these things are slow, but hows the torque? I have an 83 240d power plant and transmission that I'm considering putting into an old jeep for an off-road buildup.

9th Jul 2013, 19:47

You are a smart person, nothing is better off road than torque. Horsepower is overrated!

I have a 1984 MB (W123) 300CD, and I plan to put its engine in a boat when the car is no longer viable.

No, I do not live in Africa, I live in Connecticut, USA.

1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D 2.4 Liter diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired317000 miles
Most recent distance320000 miles

Summary:

Commuters dream

Faults:

Engine mounts replaced immediately to stop the noise in the cabin. It worked.

Header pipe replaced.

Idler arm bushing replaced, this replacement helped to make the steering much tighter.

Some rust repair.

General Comments:

I bought this car from a friend for 100 dollars, and therefore I wasn't expecting much. She barely maintained it, and had a new engine dropped in at 300,000 miles. She bought a brand new S Class, and gave this car to me. A bit noisy (diesel) but extremely reliable. I want to keep this car until I die. I would recommend this car to a person who wants an extremely reliable commuting car. It is economical, getting 38 miles per gallon. This is much better than compact Japanese cars, and it is sometimes triple their weight!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

6th Oct 2004, 16:33

38 mpg is unheard of in the 240D. Unless all driving is downhill with a tailwind. 28 more likely.

But that is a quibble; it is an excellent car.

1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 230CE Coupe 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired151000 miles
Most recent distance152300 miles
Previous carTriumph 1500 FWD

Summary:

A low budget executive coupe

Faults:

When I have done a short journey from cold, I try to start it again and it doesn't want to. It does eventually start, I suppose you could call it a characteristic.

You cannot take it through a regular car wash. Due to the way the windows part in the middle, some water leaked in and left a watermark on the seats. I learnt from that and only hand wash now.

On the driver's seat the cloth has become a little worn on the lower edge of the back rest. I expect this is down to the car being 18 years old, and used regularly.

General Comments:

I have only had this car for a short time now and it is definitely the car for me.

It is the most comfortable ride I have had for a long time. The seats are more cushy than the ones in my lounge.

It accelerates very quickly for a heavy car and is quite good around corners, it does wallow a little but I don't mind. If I wanted good handling I would have bought a Mini.

I didn't really know much about this type of car before I owned one. It's the small things which make you realise you are driving a Mercedes, like the driver and passenger sun visors which both contain light-up Vanity Mirrors. The First Aid kit on the rear parcel shelf has never been used. The carpets are of a fine quality that even after 18 years still feel like new.

There is only one thing I'm not sure about with this car - the size of the steering wheel. It makes you think you might be driving a bus.

Something I have to mention about the car are the looks it gets. Never before had Mercedes, Audi, Jaguar and Land Rover drivers glanced at me in my old Triumph 1500, let alone let me pull out in front of them at a junction.

This car makes you feel special.

When you mess about with the windows - which puts on a good show - making the front an back slide together so smoothly looks really nice, You do hear the odd "oh look at that" which makes me even more smug!

I love this car and have only had good comments from others too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2001

23rd Sep 2001, 13:16

That starting problem you've got -- I take it your car may have a K-Jetronic injection. I had a similar problem with my '85 Audi and the car electrician found it was a hairline crack on a solder on the fuel pump relay.Comes with age. Give that a try.

13th Nov 2002, 12:06

I will recommend you to replace the stuff in the first aid kit if it never have been replaced... In 1994 I had to use the kit from a 1985 W123, and it was practically worthless... The first aid kit gets old with time... And it is pretty good to have a working first aid sometimes!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 38 reviews