1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews - Page 5 of 10

1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 300TDT 3.0 turbo diesel from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired197000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carChrysler Grand Caravan

Summary:

Mercedes engineering at its best

Faults:

Needed upper control arm bushings

Sunroof drains clogged

Cracked vaccum lines.

General Comments:

Hands down the best car I have ever owned. I picked up this car from a dealer that got it cheap at auction because it was sideswiped. After the body was repaired and painted It looks and runs like new. I have always wanted a MB since I was a kid, and now I have one. The car rides incredibly smooth and turns a lot of heads even for a station wagon. It's a definite keeper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2005

20th Jul 2007, 15:00

I own a 1981 MB 300 TDT. I would not sell, trade or give up this automobile for any other MB station wagon (or any other station wagon, SUV or cross-over vehicle). It has 225,000 miles on the odometer and it has never been garaged. It has been driven in the Carolinas and in Florida. Yes, it requires maintenance (what car does not?). Yes, critical parts wear out and need replacement from time to time. But reliable? This car is the definition of reliable. Hauling? No other passenger car I know of whatever the make, model, or year equal it.

I concur with the first commentator as to clogged drains and cracking vacuum lines; but, this car is twenty-seven years old and has been kept out-of-doors in Florida!

1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 230E 2.3 Litre petrol from Oman

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres

Summary:

Sleek and silent car

Faults:

The radiator hose cracked after about 6 months. Got it replaced cheap from a duplicate spares shop.

Overheating was a serious problem with the car.

Head lights, odometer and other electrics went off all too often.

The car consumed a lot of petrol. I wouldn't recommend going around town in this car.

General Comments:

At 17 years old, the car always gave a smooth ride.

The car always started with just one twist of the key.

Nice and quiet car for the family if you are looking for a long drive around the country.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2005

1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 240 d 2.4 diesel from Belgium

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired252000 kilometres
Most recent distance258000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

Built to last

Faults:

So far, I've only had the Mercedes for about 4 months, nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

It's a true tank to drive; reliable, slow, heavy, noisy,... but I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2005

29th Aug 2006, 13:28

I have owned my benz for the last 2 years. When I bought it, it had 220K miles on it. It now has 287,000 and the engine still runs like new. Change oil every three thousand miles. Make sure the oil is multi grade and for diesel engine. On the highway, make sure you do not over rub the engine. Drive it between 60 and 75 miles per hour. Over 80, will over rub your engine. Most of the wear on engine (80%) comes from the first and 2nd gear. In the morning, make sure the engine worms a little bit before you take off.. Great German engineering and diesel engine will keep you going with the proper maintenance. Take care of it.

29th Aug 2007, 02:03

I bought my 240D in 2006. Beside oil and filters, nothing has been replaced. The best AU$2000.00 I ever spent!!

1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D 3.0 diesel from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Comfortable, svelte, athletic and extremely economical, the Mercedes Benz 300d is an excellent car

Faults:

The ball joints and tires had to be replaced at 130 thousand miles. Additionally, a full alignment was called for.

The brake pads needed to be replaced at 132 thousand miles.

The alternator needed to be replaced at approximately 140 thousand miles.

An exhaust component, between the manifold and catalytic converter, had to be replaced at 151 thousand miles.

The two fuel filters needed to be replaced at 152 thousand miles.

The original Webasto sunroof had failed before my ownership.

General Comments:

512 miles on one tank of diesel fuel.

Slow yet steady, it has yet to fail me.

The wide, comfortable cabin is supported by excellent materials.

The dashboard is very ergonomically correct, yet the radio is placed rather low.

The wide diameter, thick, steering wheel is a refreshing departure for a car.

The antiquated seat architecture (springs and horsehair) has caused the passenger's to cave in. The remaining four positions are remarkably comfortable.

The excellent chassis is let down by the less than robust engine. This car handles well, and is very steady on the interstate.

Cruising at eighty miles per hour is possible, yet somewhat taxing on the car, after hours of use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2005

26th Jul 2010, 01:32

Electrical problem - dash board lights and meter gadgets are not working properly.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 38 reviews