1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D 2.4L diesel from North America


A must buy for classic Mercedes lovers


Steering wheel and ignition locked up. Unless the dealer can get the ignition to turn, the ignition cylinder has to be cut out.

Driver's side window, and rear passenger window both quit at the same time.

No other major problems...

General Comments:

Slow, but a great power horse.

Ride is exceptional, even at 20 years old.

This car was built to last, economical, fun to drive, very comfortable, and surprisingly quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

31st Aug 2001, 06:54

The windows probably have a blown fuse, they are wired that way!

1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 200 D 2.0 diesel from Finland


A work-horse version of a luxury saloon


Once there was a mystical clutch malfunction, which fixed itself.

Left rear brake is stuck at the moment.

General Comments:

Very slow acceleration, top speed is fair though.

Well built overall, reliable, spacious, ride is comfortable, but the vinyl seats are uncomfortable (cold) especially in wintertime.

Easy to get parts and they are cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2001

13th Dec 2007, 18:36

My dad owned a W115 and that's when I first saw and deeply felt and knew a Mercedes-Benz. Being an Army-man, he and his Mercedes-Benz used to complement each other....strong and handsome.

I brought mine 6 months back... a 1983, W123 200D. It was the official car for the Governor and hence has just clocked 180000 Kms. The upholstery is still as good as new and so are the carpets. It really makes me feel special when I am greeted with the sweet leather smell, those admiring glances and short chases by bikers to catch a good look of my baby. I recently overheard a guy at the traffic signal pointing at my car exclaiming to his friend "look look an orignal Mercedes!!"

It runs like a dream and once in the 2nd gear, its hard to make out if it's a diesel. Vice Presidents and Asst.Vice Presidents in my office (a 50,000 employee organization), have requested to get a ride in my car and thanked me for fulfilling their dream of sitting in a Mercedes.

My dad is proud of me and so are my family members and friends. I simply love my Mercedes...I am proud of myself as well to have made such a smart choice.

1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 230E 2.3 petrol from Philippines




Rust underneath the tailight assemblies, which is normal for the W123 series.

General Comments:

This is a great car which would outrun new cars with the same engine specs. A perfect highway cruiser with excellent handling to match. Very comfortable to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2000

1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 280E 2.8 injection from Germany


One of the best cars Mercedes has ever built


All things are very well, except the headlights which are not sufficient.

General Comments:

Mercedes built this car very stable, the engine has more than enough power and the automatic changes the gears very softly. Fuel consumption is about 14 l per 100 km on average, not too much for the big engine and the weight of about 1500 kg of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2000

8th Mar 2001, 07:57

I totally agree. My 280E is fantastic, a masterpiece. Headlamps are fine here in the UK, but I think that is because we have different lighting requirements.

26th Jan 2003, 14:35

I have had my 1983 280E for three years (after dreaming of one for several more) and regard the shape as being wonderfully balanced and the drive extremely smooth. It turns eyes and I would not swap it for any other vehicle, a joy to drive, even in the traffic of Oxford. And yes, I have driven a BMW, a Daimler and a Bentley previously!