2001 Mercury Cougar V6 from North America


Puzzled in massachusetts


When I first turn the wheel (drive or reverse) after starting the car it makes a grinding sound. Everything is normal after that, but every single time I start it up and make that first turn - the same annoying sound. What could it be??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2007

22nd Feb 2007, 22:27

Cv joint or something drivetrain/suspension related in the front.

8th Apr 2007, 00:22

Ya, It's probably the CV joint or Boot. My car has just recently begun to do the same thing, and after I just fixed one problem with the fuel delivery! These cars seem to break everytime you fix something.

17th Jul 2010, 02:26

It could just be your power steering fluid. Just top it up and that sound will go away.

2001 Mercury Cougar C2 2.5 dohc V6 from North America


Great car, been very reliable


Replaced brake rotors at 74,000 miles.

Replaced all 4 struts at 160,00 miles.

Replaced plugs twice.. 80,000 miles and 160,000 miles.

I have had a few emissions issues, but easy to fix, most of it dried out vacum concerns.

Replaced ignition wires at 160,000 miles.

General Comments:

Other than adding a few after-market items like stereo and window tint, this car is still capable of the 150 mph the speedometer goes to.

I found that vacuum issues were common after the first few years, but easy fixes.

The mileage is high for the year as I travel all over the USA with this car.

Don't try to nap in the C2... the seats were not made for it.

I have to admit I am a "stickler" for regular maintenance.. ie: oil, trans, and coolant changes. Thinking it will soon need 02 sensors.

Praying that cad converters never needs replacement as it's a really silly exhaust system. ($$$$$)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st February, 2007

2001 Mercury Cougar C2 2.5L 16v DOHC from North America


Solid, sporty car, looks and handles great, lots of fun to drive!


Check engine light on, had to replace computer. Check engine light has come again briefly since then and gone off on its own.

General Comments:

Very quick, fun to drive, sticks to the road! Handles great. Comfortable and sporty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th July, 2006

2001 Mercury Cougar 2.5L from North America


Very Happy to own one


Windshield washer reservoir leaks when the pump turns on, Left as is.

Car drifts slowly to the left (may be alignment)

Check engine (SES) light comes on every 3 months, due to misfires. I simply clear the code without any ill effect.

General Comments:

Very sleek car, causes much envy!

Wonderful handling, corners on rails.

2.5L Engine is not as powerful as I would like, my old 3.1L Beretta seemed faster.

Hatchback door can hit tall passengers on the head.

Loads of room in the back with the rear seats folded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2006

2001 Mercury Cougar 2.5L V6 from North America


Sporty, good looking, and functional car for a reasonable cost



- Oil sender went bad and started leaking oil twice. Once within the first 1,000 miles of owning the car, and again at about 30,000 miles. Both times it was replaced under warranty. I'm now at 57,000 miles and still working okay (knock on wood).

- "Check Engine" light came on at 35,000 miles. Took it into dealership and had to have the DPFE sensor replaced. I was still under warranty so this was covered. Apparently this is a common problem with 99-02 Cougars -- not sure if I would've gotten it replaced for free if out of warranty, though.

- Fuel pump went bad at about 38,000 miles, causing strong stuttering and hesitation when trying to accelerate when gas tank was under 1/4 full. Fortunately Ford issued a recall a few months earlier so I was able to get it replaced (with a new, modified design) at the dealership for no charge.

- Throttle body tends to stick every 6-8 months due to residue build up (this causes the accelerator pedal to stick when first pressing down). I fix it by cleaning it out with some carb cleaner and it only takes about 30 minutes, but it is messy and I'm not sure why it happens --- never had this problem with any other car.

- Coolant warning light is overly sensitive. If I park on an incline (i.e. uphill, even slightly), it will come on even though coolant level is at the max. I just ignore it, and once I park on a level surface it will turn off.

General Comments:

- So far all the problems I've had with the car have been covered under warranty or recall, and nothing major has gone wrong (no breakdowns on the road), so overall I have been pleased with the reliability of the car.

- If you are familiar with this type of car, nothing about it is particularly surprising.

-- Pros: Crisp handling, reasonable power (though it's not a fast car by today's 200+hp standards), good storage space in back due to hatchback design, front bucket seats are comfortable and supportive.

-- Cons: Rear seats are small and claustraphobic. Coupe design is very closed in and somewhat cramped. Steering is a bit too artificially heavy for my taste. V6 could use more power, especially when paired with the automatic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2006