2001 Mercury Cougar c2 V6 from North America


Fun car to drive and looks good too


It needed a new alignment right after I bought it and the intermittent wipers didn't work when I bought it.

General Comments:

I LOVE this car. the only bad thing is that it's not great on gas. I get about 17 MPG, where I was getting about 26 on my old car. it handles great and the acceleration is great too. the coolant light came on once, even though it was full, as others have commented on. overall, it's fun to drive and has lots of great features. very sporty and overall a great car in my opinion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2004

2001 Mercury Cougar Zn 2.5L V6 from North America


Sporty sexy ride with class


The bulb fell out of dome lamp, twice while driving on bumpy roads.

The passenger seat tilt-release lever has broken twice.

Moon roof came of track at 18,000 miles.

Fuel Pump is going at 45,000. The Engine hesitates on heavy acceleration. It is a recall item, so I will not have to pay for it;^)

General Comments:

The Interior and instrumentation is very sharp.

I really like the bright yellow on black with the rear spoiler. The fake hood scoop is a bit lame.

The car has the 17" tires and handles extremely well, much better then the base cougar. It is not too harsh like many of the other low priced Performance cars out there.

A good description is Firm, smooth and responsive.

It could use more Power, its not a speed demon. I would say that this the one laking point in Performance.

The car handles high speeds extremely well, My wife was driving it on the express way and was accidentally going just over 100MPH without really noticing the speed.

The Audio system in it Rocks!

I have the 5-speed Manual and the gas mileage and shifting is pretty good. The clutch is smooth and predictable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2004

14th Oct 2004, 11:33

Hello my name is jason my cougar hesitates under heavy acceleration too. I can get the fuel pump replace for free right? If it was a recall item right?

2001 Mercury Cougar V6 Duratec 2.5L V6 from North America


I quick car, that has great looks at a unbeatable price


Emissions sensor replaced at 15,000 miles under warranty.

Fuel pump replaced under the recent recall for the faulty fuel pumps.

General Comments:

So far this vehicle has been very good to me. I haven't had little to no problems with the car. Gets decent gas mileage and has a very comfortable ride. Cruises on the highway wonderfully. It is also a joy to drive on curvy roads when you can push the limit a little. Very nice interior in terms of ergonomics and quality of materials.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2004

2001 Mercury Cougar C2 2.5 V6 from North America


A beautiful car that must be pampered


The fuel pump has gone out twice, first at 30,000 miles and now, only 4500 miles later.

The coolant light comes and goes, but it is full.

The Cougar emblem on the steering wheel is sun warped.

General Comments:

The 2001 Cougar in which I am giving the review, belongs to my wife. However we Purchased a 2002 for myself, before we started having the fuel problems.

I do love these cars, and I am always getting complements on both of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd May, 2004

6th Nov 2004, 09:45

I have a 1997 Cougar XR7 Prairie Tan 30th Anniversary Edition. Last year my manifold was replaced. It is on recall. I just turned over to 39,100 miles. My father had the car first and only drove to go shopping locally. My window on the passenger side vibrates, due to visitors slamming the door too hard. Drives me crazy. Also the drivers' side lumbar will get worn by sliding in and out of the car. Do not use air freshners that clip on the vents. If you pull too hard, it will break the horizontal part of the vent. Lessons learned.

2001 Mercury Cougar V6 from North America


Cute car


The trunk release never quiet releases.

Alternator when out going 80mph down the highway.

Has a lot of blind spots for me (I am a 5'5" female)

General Comments:

It is a really cute looking car.

Decent gas mileage.

I have been reading this web-site about other Cougars and I am getting worried.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2004

24th Jan 2005, 08:11

I own a 2001 C2 and love every inch of it. Other than the Fuel pump recall, I have experienced no mechanical problems in the 59,000 miles I have put on it. I have been so impressed with my cat that I am passing it down to my teenage daughter as her first car. Her friends are all jealous. I am meticulous about oil changes and scheduled maintenance as I am a certified auto mechanic, and a female. I get stares whenever I am out on the road, and have had numerous compliments on her looks. The difference between the standard V6 and the C2 sport package make all the difference. Thanks to Mercury and their counterparts for producing a car that is reasonably priced, looks fantastic and even has Consumer Reports offering better than average ratings.

1st Feb 2005, 10:19

I have a 90 cougar ls and the passenger door auto lock is not working. I try to fix it, but I have not gotten that far in my auto skills yet. I would like to put a 302 in my car think it is worth it?

1st Feb 2005, 12:32

Re the above comment, about the only things in common between a '90 Cougar and a 2001 is the name and 4 wheels.

And you don't even know how to repair a power door lock, but you are talking about putting in a 302 engine?

Ru serious?

16th Mar 2005, 19:22

Never fear!!! I have a 1999 cat and yes I have had a few problems, but over all the car is awesome! It has 84,000 miles and still out racing civics, eclipse's, and even a 300z and just think it's all stock! My problems were: shocks, alignment (due to a friend running into a curb), and an alternator ($400.00). I have had a little lag at high rpm, but my baby is still quick!