2001 Mercury Cougar V6 2.5L 6 cylinder. from North America


A stylish cat with a neutered attitude


Car began hesitating and stuttering around mid-December 2003. Repair was covered under Ford advisory notification.

In dash six-disc CD player skips during playback after awhile.

Leather began wearing prematurely.

Left front tire wheel well has tin/rattling noise. Dealer claims it is from a metallic 'boot protector'.

Service engine light came on without reason.

General Comments:

Although the cougar is discontinued, the body style remains up to date, even ahead of its time.

Instrument controls laid out well.

The 99-02 cougars are definitely TWO-passenger cars, although there are four seats total.

Acceleration is sufficient for passing, given a long stretch of road available.

Traction control well worth the extra $500 if you live in the northern part of the country.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2004

2001 Mercury Cougar c2 V6 from North America


Sharp on the outside and inside, could of spend more money in the engine and parts!


The engine light has came on and nothing is wrong with the engine.

The coolant light is on, but this is full. The car has now started to hesitate to go when driving, just received a letter in the mail from Ford stating they are recalling the fuel pumps in the 1999-2001 Mercury cougars!

General Comments:

I love my car looks its black on the out side and blue, black and silver inside! The car drives real good and picks up speed fast!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2004

13th Sep 2004, 06:20

I have a mercury cougar zn, which has almost the same control panel as the C2. The light going on even though the engine is off, would either be the check engine light or the tuner light. I think this is a good feature, the manual states that it will kick on within 4000 miles, which would signal an oil change. And the light doesn't kick off till a new oil filter is installed. This ensures that even the idiots remember to change oil, also remember to hold the select button down for 5 seconds after depressing the reset button in order to confirm you have done scheduled maintenance. This will be a valid print out for warranty and insurance purpose. -Jay.

2001 Mercury Cougar V6 from North America


Nice ride with fuel problems


Needed new alternator after only 40,000 miles.

Needed new fuel pump after 45,000 miles.

Fuel gauge does not work correctly, hence I run out of gas often, and need to tow my car.

General Comments:

I take care of this care very well, oil changes every 2,500 miles and service when needed.

When I first purchased it, everytime I accelerated it would smell like rotten eggs, that faded with time.

Now that I'm past my warranty, I'm having all sorts of problems, most especially with the fuel lin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th April, 2004

13th May 2004, 12:34

I also own a 2001 Cougar. I had my alternator go out at around 20,000 miles and now the fuel pump has been recalled. I am almost at the end of my warranty - how much is all the future problems going to cost me.

4th Oct 2004, 16:44

I've had the same problems. I'm disgusted!

The coolant light is always on and never goes off even thought it's full.

The fuel pump was recalled after about a year

It has a problem jumping into gear

My alternator went up after only 15,000k. I've needed a new battery which isn't covered under the warranty.

I can never get an appointment to get my car in to get it fixed because my dealership does horrible business.

I've had my car for 3 years and I don't drive it much, and for it be having all these problems, is just ridiculous.

I still have my warranty for 1,000 more miles and I'm just wondering how much I am going to pay when my warranty is up. I'm trying to get rid of it, but I'm losing hope. : (

25th Oct 2005, 20:13

Ford did not recall the fuel pumps at a huge expense to them due to owner error (example running tanks dry). If that were the case, every manufacturer would have to do the same. Because people who run their tanks low drive many brands of cars. I have the supposed redesigned pump setup from Ford and it has just failed too. That is my third pump in the car, and they were all installed by Ford via. warranties. I also always keep plenty of fuel in my gas tank. The pump sucks air (new design) /clogs (old design) due to improper design. Other manufacturers are able to design tanks/pump assemblies that do not have to be half full all the time. I have owned many cars both good and bad, and the cougar is the worst I have owned.

By the way I had the recalled wire fixed and torqued by Ford as soon as I received the recall. The alternator still has failed. Which would not be such a big deal given the mileage on my car at the time, but it is a huge pain to get to on this car. I have been working on cars of all kinds for myself and friends for at least 10 years. I also sold auto parts for many years as well. I have no problem working on cars. The problem with this car is once you fix a problem something else breaks.

Please do not blame the drivers for manufacturer problems.