2001 Mercury Cougar C2 2.5L V6 from North America


A blast to own!


Absolutely nothing. EXTREMELY reliable.

General Comments:

GREAT car. I highly recommend it. I love every minute behind the wheel.

Sporty and fun to drive.

Extremely comfortable. I've taken it on several 1200 mile road-trips and felt fine after each trip.

Everyone always comments on how they love the way it looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

26th Apr 2006, 21:51

Agree 100%.

I followed the same pattern as this reviewer, moved up from Beretta to Cougar, :)

2001 Mercury Cougar V6 2.5 liter V6 from North America


The worst experience you could have in your life!


Everything went wrong with this car. To start off, it would shut off while driving on the express way at speeds of about 70 miles per hour. When this would happen the steering wheel would lock and the brakes had no power. The vehicle was in the shop for over 4 months in total. They had to replace the fuel pump, the computer, the starter motor, the driver's window motor, the transmission (twice). They also had to replace a cylinder because it kept backfiring.

General Comments:

Overall, this vehicle was the worst experience I've ever had. I have almost seen myself killed more than once in this vehicle. I do have to state that the dealers were extremely nice and always gave me a Lincoln Town car as a loaner. They also backed their warranty 150%.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2003

7th May 2004, 13:43

We must have different cars! I have had my 2001 Cougar V6 for almost 2 years and overall I am very pleased with the car. Other than some minor problems like my fuel gage and rear window defroster I have had no problems. I have pushed the car to 190 kph and it has not cut out at that speed. I really don't have the guts to push it any further.

Overall I really like my Cougar and am very pleased. Great looks, lots of power and it rides very nice. My only real complaint is that it is not a Mustang!

2001 Mercury Cougar V6 from North America


Very sporty look with not so sporty interior


My backseat came off the latch making it more raised than the other back seat. For a V6 engine, it really didn't have the get-up-and-go that I thought it would have. My service light stayed on since after a few days after I purchased the vehicle. I went back to the dealer and they told me they couldn't find the problem.

I ran over something small in the road and the bump made about 5 inches of my front grille pop off. Went back to the dealer and she stated that it wasn't in my warranty. She pointed out scratches on my car around where the front grille popped out and I reminded her that I had bought it used. She replies with "oh" and tells me to call my insurance company. The warranty book clearly stated that "bumper-to-bumper" warranty covered this. She tried to tell me I had gotten into an accident and acted very unprofessional as if I was lying.

After 30,000 miles, I had to replace 2 tires from deflation. Went to purchase my new tires only to find out they were off the market. Wonder why.

Nothing personal with the car, but my dealer totally decieved me about my price and my monthly term. Ended up financing $24,000 for a 26,000 mile car.

The leather interior was like sitting on a 1970 vinyl seat.

General Comments:

Overall, the car was very sporty. Loved the look of the new Cougars, but can understand why it is only $15,000 brand new. Mercury should go all sport or all luxury with their Cougars because when you try and put the two together, something is going to go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2003

2nd Dec 2003, 19:20

I agree with you about the performance of the V6 engine. They're slow especially with the auto transmission. I was planning to buy a Cougar or a civic ex I test drove the cougar then the civic and found out that the cougar isn't much faster than the civic. Then I found out that the cougar were giving people a bunch of problems so I bought the civic. It's a great car.

3rd Mar 2004, 15:21

I drive a 2002 cougar and I LOVE it! I bought it brand new and broke her in hard, I have great acceleration and have all the service done when due (oil changes etc.) I have had no problems at all. Yes the back seat is not for a family pleasure ride, but it's a sports car. I test her ability all the time in the mountains and snow she hasn't let me down. I still have the factory tires and feel when I put different ones on she'll be even better. I can't wait til the new model come out!! Cougar fan forever.

26th Jul 2004, 21:38

I own a 2001 cougar and it is an amazing car. The drive is smooth and steady giving a good trip wherever I go. I love the interior its very comfortable and gives the car the look it needs. The exterior has changed in a big way from the 1997 model and it is the best look yet. Its sound system is great, I can't wait to get a newer better one.

17th Jul 2009, 15:00

You must have horrible credit. These cars brand new were $22,600 maxed out.